ONLINE MEDIATHEK

After five years of digitalisation and cataloguing of all the recordings at the Tanzquartier Wien since it was founded – supported by students of theatre, film and media studies (University of Vienna) and the Institute for Creative Media Technologies at St Pölten Technical College – the Tanzquartier Wien is making a unique 14-year cultural heritage accessible to the public: the ONLINE MEDIA LIBRARY.

With the ONLINE MEDIA LIBRARY the house would like to offer an interested (specialist) audience a unique opportunity to follow the development of contemporary dance and performance as it has been shaped by the artists and theoreticians represented at the TQW since 2001 and possibly also to carry out scientific work on it.

The ONLINE MEDIA LIBRARY is understood as a living site that is intended to facilitate and promote the informative and creative discussion among artists and theoreticians. Above and beyond this one of our main concerns is to promote the diversity, high quality and topicality of Austrian dance and performance work in international communication.

 

The ONLINE MEDIA LIBRARY is divided into two areas:

 

TANZQUARTIER WIEN ONLINE ARCHIVE

The Online Archive currently holds 300 recordings of performances, lectures, lecture-performances, artists’ discussions and research formats that have taken place at the Tanzquartier Wien in the last 14 years. This online stock is constantly being extended, while the video archive can still be viewed at the TQW Theory and Media Centre.

 

OPEN SPACE AUSTRIA is an area of the Online Media Library that is defined by Austrian dance and performance artists themselves uploading recordings of their own artistic work. With this platform we would like to enable international artists working in Austria to reach a broader (specialist) audience as well as to facilitate the targeted promotion of their works through wider international visibility and openness for expert analysis. In addition, OPEN SPACE AUSTRIA is intended to promote the exchange between the locally producing scene and international institutions and events organisers through its targeted utilisation as a tool in the context of the TQW’s international activities such as the European Dancehouse Network (EDN), the guest-performance support project INTPA or in events such as FEEDBACK, but can also serve others as a media platform for choreographic practice in Austria.

All videos in both areas will be available as streams – and WITHOUT A DOWNLOAD option. In OPEN SPACE AUSTRIA as well as in the Tanzquartier Wien Online Archive the artists can thus decide for themselves whether videos of their work are published in freely accessible or password-protected format. All freely accessible images of TQW recordings are only put online with the declaration of consent of the artists.

 

With the kind support of Wien Kultur.

ONLINE MEDIATHEK

Nach fünfjähriger Digitalisierung und Katalogisierung sämtlicher Aufzeichnungen am Tanzquartier Wien seit seiner Gründung – unterstützt von Studenten der Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft (Universität Wien) und dem Institut für Creative Media Technologies der Fachhochschule St. Pölten – macht das Tanzquartier Wien ein 14-jähriges singuläres kulturelles Erbe der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich: die ONLINE-MEDIATHEK.

 

Mit der ONLINE-MEDIATHEK möchte das Haus dem interessierten (Fach-) Publikum eine einzigartige Möglichkeit bieten, die Entwicklung des zeitgenössischen Tanzes und der Performance, wie sie durch die am TQW vertretenen Künstler_innen und Theoretiker_innen seit 2001 mitgeprägt wurde, nachzuvollziehen und gegebenenfalls auch darüber wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten.

Die ONLINE-MEDIATHEK wird dabei als ein lebendiger Ort begriffen, der den informativen und kreativen Austausch unter den Künstler_innen und Theoretiker_innen selbst ermöglichen und fördern soll. Darüber hinaus ist uns ein großes Anliegen, die Vielfalt, die hohe Qualität und die Aktualität des österreichischen Tanz- und Performanceschaffens in der internationalen Kommunikation voranzubringen.

 

Die ONLINE-MEDIATHEK teilt sich in zwei Bereiche:

 

TANZQUARTIER WIEN ONLINE-ARCHIV

Das ONLINE-ARCHIV beinhaltet derzeit ca. 300 Mitschnitte von Performances, Vorträgen, Lecture-Performances, Künstler_Innengesprächen sowie Research-Formaten, die in den letzten 14 Jahren am Tanzquartier Wien stattfanden. Dieser Online-Bestand wird laufend erweitert, wobei das vollständige Videoarchiv nach wie vor im Theorie- und Medienzentrum des TQW eingesehen werden kann.

 

OPEN SPACE AUSTRIA ist ein durch die österreichischen Tanz- und Performancekünstler_innen selbst definierter Bereich der Online-Mediathek, in dem diese ihre eigenen Mitschnitte von ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten hochladen können. Mit dieser Plattform möchten wir den internationalen in Österreich arbeitenden Künstler_Innen das Erreichen eines breiteren (Fach-)Publikums sowie das gezielte Fördern ihrer Arbeiten durch weitere internationale Sichtbarkeit und Offenheit für fachliche Analysen ermöglichen. Weiters soll OPEN SPACE AUSTRIA den Austausch zwischen der hier produzierenden Szene und internationalen Institutionen und Veranstaltern vorantreiben, indem er als ein Tool im Kontext von internationalen Aktivitäten des TQW wie dem European Dancehouse Network (EDN), dem Gastspielförderprojekt INTPA oder bei Veranstaltungen wie z.B. FEEDBACK gezielt eingesetzt wird, aber auch anderen als mediale Plattform über die Choreografische Praxis in Österreich dienen kann

In beiden Bereichen werden sämtliche Videos als Streaming verfügbar sein – und zwar OHNE DOWNLOAD-Option. Die Künstler_Innen können dabei sowohl im OPEN SPACE AUSTRIA wie auch im Tanzquartier Wien Online-Archiv selbst darüber entscheiden, ob die Videos ihrer Arbeiten frei zugänglich sind oder passwortgeschützt veröffentlicht werden. Sämtliche frei zugängliche Aufnahmen der TQW-Mitschnitte werden dabei nur mit einer Einverständniserklärung der Künstler_Innen online gestellt.

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Wien Kultur.