The smudge of colours

Gianna Virginia Prein on Mystery Magnet by Miet Warlop
 
Miet Warlop, Mystery Magnet © José Caldeira
Gianna Virginia Prein on Mystery Magnet by Miet Warlop

The machinery is the human fantasy and the aesthetic dimension is the very blood of causality.” T. Morton, Realist Magic: Objects, Ontology, Causality

[1] A pounding of the heart.
The sound system emits a dull, throbbing rhythm on entering Hall G even before the minimalist stage is seen – a classic black dance floor in front of a white mobile wall. On it, with outstretched limbs, lies “Fake Fatty” [2][3]: a dancer with wild hair, a blue shirt, suit trousers and a fat-suit costume.

[2] Quoting Miet Warlop in an artist talk with Christopher Wurmdobler.

[3] “Fake Fatty” is what Miet Warlop affectionately calls her protagonist, who repeatedly takes on the role of spectator during the performance.[4] As an animated character he remains a two-dimensional caricature that eventually decides to stop participating properly. Instead, he sits down on a much too small stool, watching the figures slaughter each other. The slapstick of the colourful but faceless pom-pom performers[5] demonstrates absolute despotism. Their exaggerated destructive rage, which doesn’t lack a certain comic element, is almost anarchistic.[6]

[4] Watching the watching creates an alienating distance. A relief, at best. Laughter is said to provide a release, and the audience is happy to use it in that way.[7]

[5] For the oversized, colourful pom-poms made of long woollen threads, that turn into wig heads, into brushes of a car wash, into dripping intestines or wool stuffing, Warlop doesn’t provide nicknames like “Fake Fatty”, but she specifies her marked fondness for ambiguities that take one out of one’s comfort zone, are menacing, even: “I like these things, these misundersta-, things that you start to believe in your life and then you’re so disappointed that your teddy bear is actually the one who killed you. But why did you ever think that this was a total 100% sweet thing?”[2]

[6] Anarchistic staging – a contradiction in terms?
[6] Anarchistic: oscillates between menace and auspiciousness.
[6] Anarchistic: is often used in an inflationary and far too inaccurate way.
[6] Anarchistic: e.g. to describe a surrealistic practice that radically rejects bourgeois conceptions and uses drug-induced experiences and dreams as sources of inspiration. Where causalities are eliminated, objects become actors and bodies become props[8]. Or simply mysterious. And this is true regardless of the artistic context in which Mystery Magnet has been shown and watched since 2012 (including Berlin Art Week, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Theater Festival Basel, Théâtre National de Bordeaux, Festival Internacional de Marionetas do Porto, soon Biennale di Venezia). Contexts that keep referring meaningfully to the other space as well when describing the piece. But: what is actually there, behind the wall?[9]

[7] The idiom “peeing one’s pants laughing” is illustrated in line with the concept of relief: three performers in an oversized trouser costume bully “Fake Fatty”, excitedly spraying jets of yellow colour all over the place. This vandalistic action marks the white wall for the first time in the piece. And so the mystery morphs from one audience laugh to the next, while it becomes more and more colourful in a metaphorical sense as well. In the process, the audience’s imagination helps shape the literalness of the scene in its volatility. “Then you keep on questioning and try to see what something is and could become, maybe.”[2]

[8] Props accumulate and pile up – a colourful battlefield.[10] Aesthetised smashing, cute violence, a seemingly harmless hand tacker or electric saw appearing here and there, and then liquid splashes by the gallon, flowing across the stage space until the smudge of colours covers it almost completely. The extensive mutilations and disembowelments are reminiscent of the splatter and gore film aesthetics of trashy B-movies, which also display features of[6].[11]

[9] The wall…
…swallows!
…traps!
…is being broken through!
…bleeds!
…is a protagonist!
…opens like a curtain, “and then: we [the performers] just sit there”[2], almost bored, among the effect machinery.

[10] At some point, a shark balloon floats through one of the holes in the wall, gently flapping its motor-powered tail fin, and glides above the audience. A moderate attack on ready-to-be-entertained audience members, maybe.
The depicted situations constantly shift and overlap, only “Fake Fatty” remains stuck in the wall for a while, plugging a leaking hole, until he disappears completely. Just before the ending, a torso choir sings of the apocalypse[12] in a rain of wool and an ash storm.

[11] …or are a pop interpretation of Deleuze’s “bwo”, the “body without organs”, which is opposed to the organism. And are thus also[6].

[12] Post-apocalypse is when the stage is tidied up. The tidying up takes about an hour after the end of the performance. Brooms and wet vacuum cleaners move the layers of paint that mix with each other – in my case, triggering an auditory induced head orgasm. And[1]

 

Gianna Virginia Prein is an artist and author. She combines writing and language with sculpture and installation in her work. Degree in Scenography at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna in 2016, Language Arts and TransArts at the University of Applied Arts Vienna and Print & Time-Based Media at the University of the Arts London in 2018. Publications e.g. in Spike Art Quarterly, in the Tanzplattform 2018 catalogue, for Viereinhalbsätze, in Jenny; contributions for various artists’ books.

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

Give feedback to magazin@tqw.at

 

 
Loading

Der Schmutz der Farben

Gianna Virginia Prein über Mystery Magnet von Miet Warlop
 
Miet Warlop, Mystery Magnet © José Caldeira
Gianna Virginia Prein über Mystery Magnet von Miet Warlop

 

The machinery is the human fantasy and the aesthetic dimension is the very blood of causality.“ T. Morton, Realist Magic: Objects, Ontology, Causality

 

[1] Herzklopfen.
Ein dumpf pochender Rhythmus begleitet das Eintreten in die Halle G durch die Soundanlage, noch bevor die minimalistische Bühne gesehen wird – ein klassisch schwarzer Tanzboden vor einer weißen Aufstellwand. Darauf liegt, mit ausgestreckten Gliedern, „Fake Fatty“[2][3]: ein Tänzer mit wildem Haar, blauem Hemd, Anzugshose und Fatsuit-Kostüm.

[2] Zitat Miet Warlop im Artist-Talk mit Christopher Wurmdobler.

[3] „Fake Fatty“ nennt Miet Warlop liebevoll ihren Protagonisten, der immer wieder zum Zuschauer innerhalb des Stücks wird.[4] Als animierter Charakter bleibt er eine zwei-dimensionale Karikatur, die irgendwann beschließt, nicht mehr so richtig mitzumachen. Er setzt sich stattdessen auf einen viel zu kleinen Hocker und sieht dabei zu, wie die Figuren sich gegenseitig abmetzeln. Der Slapstick der farbenfrohen, aber gesichtslosen Pom-Pom-Performer*innen[5] demonstriert alleinige Gewaltherrschaft. Ihre pointierte Zerstörungswut, die einer gewissen Komik nicht entbehrt, ist fast schon anarchistisch.[6]

[4] Dem Zusehen zuzusehen erzeugt eine entfremdende Distanz. Bestenfalls Entlastung. Lachen soll bekanntlich erleichtern, und das Publikum macht davon gerne Gebrauch.[7]

[5] Für die überdimensionalen bunten Pom-Poms aus langen Wollfäden, die zu Perückenköpfen werden, zu Bürsten einer Autowaschstraße, zu tropfenden Gedärmen oder zu Stopfwolle, hat Warlop zwar keine vergleichbaren Kosenamen wie „Fake Fatty“, dafür beschreibt sie aber ihre große Vorliebe für Uneindeutigkeiten, die aus der Komfortzone holen, ja bedrohen: „I like these things, these misundersta-, things that you start to believe in in your life and then you’re so disappointed that your teddy bear is actually the one who killed you. But why did you ever think that this was a total 100% sweet thing?“[2]

[6] Anarchistisch inszeniert – ein Widerspruch in sich?
[6] Anarchistisch: schillert zwischen Bedrohlichkeit und Glücksverheißung.
[6] Anarchistisch: wird oft inflationär und viel zu ungenau gebraucht.
[6] Anarchistisch: z. B. zur Beschreibung einer surrealistischen Praxis, die bürgerliche Auffassungen radikal ablehnt und Rausch- und Traumerlebnisse als Inspirationsquellen nutzt. Wo Kausalitäten ausgehebelt werden, Objekte zu Akteur*innen und Körper zu Requisiten[8]. Oder einfach mysteriös. Und das egal in welchem künstlerischen Kontext Mystery Magnet seit 2012 gezeigt und rezipiert wurde (u. a. Berlin Art Week, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Theaterfestival Basel, Théâtre National de Bordeaux, Festival Internacional de Marionetas do Porto, bald Biennale Di Venezia). Kontexte, die zur Beschreibung des Stücks auch immer wieder bedeutungsvoll auf das andere Feld verweisen. Aber: Was ist denn nun eigentlich hinter der Wand?[9]

[7] Im Sinne der Erleichterung wird das Sprichwort „sich vor Lachen in die Hose machen“ verbildlicht: Drei Performer*innen im überdimensionalen Hosenkostüm mobben „Fake Fatty“ und spritzen dabei aufgeregt gelbe Farbstrahlen um sich. Dieses vandalistische Moment markiert zum ersten Mal im Stück die weiße Wand. Und so morpht das Mysteriöse von einem Publikumslacher zum nächsten, während es auch sinnbildlich immer bunter wird. Die Imagination der Zuschauer*innen gestaltet dabei  die Buchstäblichkeit der Szene in ihrer Flüchtigkeit mit. „Then you keep on questioning and try to see what something is and could become, maybe.“[2]

[8] Requisiten akkumulieren und stauen sich – ein farbenfrohes Schlachtfeld.[10] Ästhetisierte Zerschlagung, niedliche Gewalt, hier und da taucht ein scheinbar harmloser Handtacker oder eine Elektrosäge auf, bis es literweise spritzt und durch den Raum fließt, bis der Schmutz der Farben die Bühne beinahe ganz bedeckt. Die ausgedehnten Verstümmelungen und Ausweidungen erinnern dabei an die Splatter- und Gorefilmästhetik trashiger B-Movies, die ebenfalls Züge von[6] aufweisen.[11]

[9] Die Wand …
…verschluckt!
…klemmt ein!
…wird durchbrochen!
…blutet!
…ist Protagonistin!
…öffnet sich wie ein Vorhang, „and then: we [the performers] just sit there“[2] fast gelangweilt inmitten der Effektmaschinerie.

[10] Mit sanftem motorgetriebenem Flossenschlag schwebt ein Haiballon irgendwann durch eine der aufgebrochenen Wandstellen über das Publikum hinweg. Eine zarte Attacke auf den*die entertainmentwillige*n Zuschauer*in, maybe.
Die dargestellten Situationen überlappen und verschieben sich konstant, nur „Fake Fatty“ bleibt beim Stopfen eines leckenden Lochs eine Weile in der Wand stecken, bis er ganz verschwindet. Kurz vor dem Ende besingt ein Torsochor die Apokalypse[12] im Wollregen bzw. Aschesturm.

[11] … oder eine poppige Auslegung des Deleuze‘schen „oK“, des „organlosen Körpers“, darstellen, der sich dem Organismus widersetzt. Also auch[6].

[12] Postapokalypse ist dann, wenn aufgeräumt wird. Aufgeräumt wird nach Schluss ca. eine Stunde lang. Besen und Nasssauger verschieben die Farbschichten, die sich ineinander vermischen – bei mir ASMR-Kopforgasmus auslösen. Und wieder[1]

 

Gianna Virginia Prein arbeitet als Künstlerin und Autorin. In ihrer Praxis verschränkt sie Schrift und Sprache mit Skulptur und Installation. 2016 Diplom in Szenografie an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien, 2018 Sprachkunst und TransArts an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien und Print & Time Based Media an der University of the Arts London. Veröffentlichungen u. a. in Spike Art Quarterly, im Katalog zu Tanzplattform 2018, auf Viereinhalbsätze, in Jenny; Beiträge in diversen Künstler*innenbüchern.

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

Feedback unter magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading