The squaring of three

Bettina Hagen on Rule of Three by Jan Martens
 
Jan Martens, Rule of Three © Joeri Thiry
Bettina Hagen on Rule of Three by Jan Martens

Two clothed men and a naked woman are depicted sitting on the forest floor in the foreground of “The Luncheon on the Grass” by Édouard Manet, which caused a scandal in Paris for precisely that reason in 1863. I am also reminded of Kazimir Malevich and Suprematism, the black square and the preference of the painting avant-garde at the beginning of the previous century for the primary colours red, blue and yellow. How does one relate to the other and to the piece Rule of Three by Jan Martens?

With the exception of musician NAH’s equipment at the back left, the stage is empty. The projection of a handwritten note with headings or titles is emblazoned prominantly on the back wall of the otherwise black stage. Initial expectations are fuelled: are we to expect a piece of music or dance to go with each title? And does this mean that the first track is called “Suddenly Afraid”? When Belgian artist Jan Martens says of himself that he is a late bloomer as a choreographer and that he spent many years of his life sitting in the auditorium himself, does that mean that he knows how to play with the audience’s expectations in an age of sensory overload and task-switching? In his latest piece, comprising the elements of music, body, dance, text, costume and light, new combinations, new stimuli keep emerging that trigger associative patterns in the audience. The surprise spectrum is large, while the colour spectrum is small. The primary colours red, blue and yellow govern everything: from the costumes and the lighting concept through to the water bottles onstage.

A central element of the show is music producer NAH from Philadelphia, who plays the drums live. Atmospheric lighting and light accents draw the spectators’ eyes, the varying soundscape takes them along into the danced scenes that are mostly performed in a highly energetic manner. The impression is one of successive intros. A dancer in blue sports clothes begins to dance a solo, his movements are angular with an emphasis on the arms, a second dancer in red shapes the next moment, a kind of lyrical counterpart. Once the dancer in yellow has been introduced, one of the main rhythmic images emerges: always keeping a certain distance and following a pattern, the three of them start jumping about like crazy in the light field of an acute triangle. The mood in this trio is good. With three dancers, it’s not surprising to see many trios, but there are duos in various constellations as well, which set wheels of the mind in motion. The same rules as on the Net apply: a click, a tap – a short amount of attention is half the victory. But choreographer Jan Martens doesn’t make things quite so easy either for himself or for us. Exhausted, the musician exits after the last drum solo.

And while the spectators may remain in their seats and, for the moment, in the dark, they do draw the attention of the dancers – Steven Michel, Dan Musset and Courtney May Robertson – in the end. On account of her height, her powerful petiteness, the latter has a great impact on the aesthetic expressiveness of the subsequent close three-way constellations. After a longish blackout, the performers are now naked and take a close look at their audience. Courtney May Robertson has painted her lips a beautiful red. They form body landscapes with relaxed precision, one of the first images is reminiscent of the aforementioned scandalous painting by Manet, except that, in the performance world of the year 2018, all performers are naked, men as well as women. Impressionism, too, is only a click away from post-modernism, demystification included. But writing as escapism is not the solution either, as the text projected at the end suggests to me; music, dance and pausing to reflect, on the other hand, possibly is.

 

Bettina Hagen lives and works in Vienna. Degree in art history. Initially curator at the Picture Gallery of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, then freelance journalist (including for Falter and Der Standard) and curator in the fields of theatre, dance and performance.

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

 
Loading

Die Quadratur des Dreiers

Bettina Hagen über Rule of Three von Jan Martens
 
Jan Martens, Rule of Three © Joeri Thiry
Bettina Hagen über Rule of Three von Jan Martens

„Das Frühstück im Grünen“ von Édouard Manet zeigt im Vordergrund zwei bekleidete Männer und eine nackte Frau am Waldboden sitzend und war genau deshalb im Paris des Jahres 1863 ein Skandal. Ich muss auch an Kasimir Malewitsch und den Suprematismus denken, das schwarze Quadrat und die Vorliebe der malenden Avantgarde zu Beginn des letzten Jahrhunderts für die Grundfarben Rot, Blau und Gelb. Wie hängt das eine mit dem anderen und mit dem Stück Rule of Three von Jan Martens zusammen?

Die Bühne ist bis auf die Gerätschaften des Musikers NAH links hinten leer, prominent prangt die Projektion eines handgeschriebenen Zettels mit Überschriften oder Titeln an der Rückwand der sehr schwarz gehaltenen Bühne. Eine erste Erwartungshaltung wird geschürt: Haben wir jetzt zu jedem Titel eine Musik- oder Tanznummer zu erwarten? Und bedeutet das, dass die erste Nummer „Suddenly Afraid“ heißt? Wenn der Belgier Jan Martens sagt, dass er als Choreograf ein Spätzünder ist und viele Jahre seines Lebens damit verbracht hat, selbst auf den Zuschauer*innenplätzen zu sitzen, weiß er nun, wie er mit den Erwartungen des Publikums in einem Zeitalter der Reizüberflutung und des Aufmerksamkeits-Hopping spielen kann? In seinem aktuellen Stück, das aus den Elementen Musik, Körper, Tanz, Text, Kostüm und Licht aufgebaut ist, ergeben sich immer wieder neue Kombinationen, neue Anregungen, die in den Betrachter*innen Assoziationsketten auslösen. Das Überraschungsspektrum ist groß, während das Farbspektrum klein ist, die Grundfarben Rot, Blau und Gelb regieren alles: von den Kostümen über das Lichtkonzept bis hin zu den Trinkflaschen auf der Bühne.

Ein zentraler Baustein der Show ist der aus Philadelphia stammende Musikproduzent NAH, der live Schlagzeug spielt. Lichtstimmungen und -akzente leiten die Blicke, die wechselnde Soundkulisse führt in die getanzten, zumeist sehr energiegeladen vorgebrachten Szenen. Der Eindruck einer Aneinanderreihung von Intros entsteht. Ein Tänzer in blauem Sportgewand beginnt ein Solo, seine Bewegungen sind eckig mit Betonung auf den Armen, ein zweiter Tänzer in Rot formt den nächsten Augenblick, eine Art lyrisches Pendant. Nachdem auch die Tänzerin in Gelb eingeführt ist, kommt es zu einem der rhythmischen Hauptbilder: Im Lichtfeld eines spitzen Dreiecks und immer einen gewissen Abstand wahrend und einem Muster folgend wird nun gehüpft, was das Zeug hält. Die Stimmung bei diesem Trio ist gut. Bei drei Tänzer*innen wundern viele Trios nicht, aber auch die Duos in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen setzen Gedankenspiralen in Gang. Es gilt dieselbe Devise wie im Netz, ein Klick, ein Fingertipp, die kurze Aufmerksamkeit ist schon der halbe Sieg. Aber natürlich macht es Choreograf Jan Martens sich und uns nicht so einfach. Nach dem letzten Schlagzeugsolo geht sein Musiker erschöpft ab.

Und während die Zuschauer_innen zwar auf ihren Plätzen und zunächst auch im Dunkel bleiben dürfen, geraten sie am Ende doch in den Blick der Tänzer Steven Michel, Dan Musset und der Tänzerin Courtney May Robertson. Letztere hat durch ihre Statur, ihre kraftvolle petiteness, großen Einfluss auf den ästhetischen Ausdruck auch der folgenden engen Dreierkonstellationen. Denn nach einem längeren Blackout sind die Performer nun nackt, sehen sich ihr Publikum aber genau an. Courtney May Robertson hat auch ihre Lippen schön rot. Mit entspannter Zielgenauigkeit bilden sie Körperlandschaften, eines der ersten Bilder erinnert an das eingangs erwähnte Skandalbild von Manet, nur sind in der Performancewelt des Jahres 2018 alle nackt, Männer und Frauen, vom Impressionismus zur Postmoderne ist es auch nur ein Klick, Entzauberung inklusive. Aber Schreiben als Realitätsflucht ist auch keine Lösung, wird mir in dem am Ende projizierten Text nahegelegt; Musik, Tanz und Innehalten vielleicht schon.

 

Bettina Hagen lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Studium der Kunstgeschichte, zunächst als Kuratorin in der Gemäldegalerie der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien tätig, dann als freie Journalistin (u. a. für Falter und Standard) und Kuratorin in den Bereichen Theater, Tanz und Performance.

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

 
Loading