ENDOVILLE A report in the manner of Agent Dale B. Cooper[1]

Jack Hauser on ENDO by David Wampach
 
© Martin Colombet
Jack Hauser on ENDO by David Wampach

18 January 2019, 10:46

Diane, I have just received a confidential message via electronic mail:

Dear Jack,

I hope you are well.

As you know, David Wampach will be coming to Tanzquartier next week, and a free ticket has been left at the box office for you for the Thursday.
Would you like an accompanying ticket for 10 euros?
I have enclosed some information and links, especially on “endoticism”, which Wampach refers to …

All the best!

Library & TQW Magazin
Christina Gillinger

18 January 2019, 23:43

One of the two links takes me to the website of TIER, the acronym for The Institute for Endotic Research. According to the website, the institute is dedicated to research about forms of generation and presentation of subject matter related to the endotic – an antonym for exotic. French writer George Perec used it as a conceptual tool to approach everyday life in his own immediate surroundings. He thus proposed to preserve the fascination of exploring while at the same time avoiding the concept of the other. Names are tokens that drop into the slot of life. They are assignments.

ENDO by David Wampach is going to be my next assignment, so which name am I going to use for it? Dale B. Cooper? My own? Or what?

Diane, as Groucho Marx said: “Harpo, you talk too much.”

Good night, Diane.

19 January 2019, 10:28

Diane, I’m on my way to Horn. My father is ill. I will get back to you as soon as I know more about his condition.

20 January 2019, 02:01

Phrases from César Aira’s essay “Cecil Taylor” provide me with four hours of rest overnight in Horn: “Eyes closing once and for all, always and everywhere. Peace. And yet there is an uncontrolled movement that is more clearly discernible than we could have hoped for, and that causes fear in others and is the model of our own impossible fear. It’s what’s called art.”

I have nothing to add, Diane.

20 January 2019, 08:11

Diane, I am sending you this message even though I’m still in the dark concerning my father.

In a newspaper clipping from 2014 about an exhibition of Gutai, the Japanese post-war group of artists, in the Guggenheim Museum, the journalist demands: Art history? Please rewrite!

Enclosed please find more information about the group of artists, Diane.

In 1954, Jirō Yoshihara was involved in founding this society for concrete art. With “gutai” (which has been translated as “embodiment”, or “concrete”) as their motto, a total of 59 artists experimented with new forms of art to break the boundaries between art and life, from the earliest festival-like exhibitions until 1972. The body was essential, but the body had no priority over the materials. Instead, it was considered a collaborator of the material.

Diane, in Vienna’s independent dance and performance scene during the 1990s, I came into contact with similar ideas, which is why I’m looking for a dietheater programme announcing the Lux Flux performance INFRAMINCE for “imagetanz 99 – Grotesque, Irony and Body Joke”. But I can’t find it in any of the drawers in the office. A yellow sheet of paper with the following note is the only clue I have:

According to Marcel Duchamp, inframince (prominently placed in the US American “View” magazine in 1945) is when the tobacco smoke also smells of the mouth which exhales it. Then the two odours are married by inframince. “The sound produced by corduroy trousers when the two legs rub together while walking; the act of painting on glass, seen from the unpainted side; the sensation of skin softening while dancing cheek to cheek; the idea that emerges when the interplay of the senses crosses the mind; the warmth of a (recently vacated) seat” – all that is inframince.

21 January 2019, 19:07

Diane, even as far back as in my note from 10 January 1977 I remarked that I always address the voice recordings to you, even when it’s obvious that I’m talking to myself. It’s reassuring to have someone with as keen a mind as yours behind me.

22 January 2019, 13:39

Christina has just sent me another link. It takes me to David Wampach’s artist video on tqw’s website. I’m very pleased to be able to work on this, Diane.

David Wampach choreographed ENDO together with Tamar Shelef for Montpellier Danse. It’s yet another portrayal of a moment in history, this time from the point of view of Japanese avant-garde poet and filmmaker Shūji Terayama, attempting “to examine that which truly comes from within and which we have overlooked until now, […] to investigate that which no longer seems to surprise us, […] no longer exotic, but endotic”, as writer Georges Perec once put it.

22 January 2019, 17:03

Diane! And erotic. In 1981, Shūji Terayama directed the Franco-Japanese film “The Fruits of Passion” featuring Isabelle Illiers and Klaus Kinski, based on Dominique Aury’s novel “The Story of O”.

23 January 2019, 14:11

Concerned about my approach regarding tomorrow’s assignment in Hall G at MuseumsQuartier Wien. Again, César Aira’s essay helps me stay on track: “Who would boast of knowing what’s rubbish and being able to tell it apart from its opposite? Nobody who writes, at any rate.” Right, Diane?

24 January 2019, 10:40

Diane, the artist Jonas Mekas, whose filming style was diary-like and yet timeless, died yesterday in New York City, aged 96. I recall his intimate coolness, such as in a statement of his from the 1980s: “The spirit of the experimental film continues to live on as long as there’s still someone roaming the streets of the Lower East Side with a Super 8 camera.” Also thinking of dancer Daniel Lepkoff and photos of his mother Rebecca from the 1940s and 1950s in what was then a poverty-stricken immigrant neighbourhood in Manhattan.

24 January 2019, 15:27

I will try to touch on tonight’s events in the context of ENDO through writing.

24 January 2019, 23:24

Way off the mark with my inquiries up to this point! I should have looked into circus arts, variety entertainment and nightclubs in films of the 1960s and 1970s. In other words, into the timeless pleasures of an urban community.

Here’s what I can report to you, Diane. Just before the beginning of the performance, I heard a dialogue behind me in the audience: “The diaphragm presses against your heart, and you’re dead.” “Yes. There are so many terrible ways to die.” After that, things went on in the same ironic manner onstage as well. Tamar Shelef, like a female bird-dancer with a black, ankle-length cooking apron dangling in front of her naked body, alone. Entering David Wampach, the male protagonist, alone. A cloaked boxer wrapped in an overlarge bath towel, he hops about for a couple of rounds in the minimalistic stage set. I cannot call Beckett’s television play to mind. Others do. What else can I say? The stage set is a white angle of walls with a connecting area of white floor. Yes, now I remember, Diane, the black glove was terribly funny, intentionally swaying between the boxer’s legs, almost like an udder. And in the twilight world that followed I wondered if Adam and Eve enjoyed themselves as much in preparing for the expulsion from Paradise. The artist couple leaving prints of their body shapes covered in colour against the two walls of the angle also brings back memories. In 2002, in his Fabbrica Rosa, Harald Szeemann showed the Italian exploitation film “Mondo Cane” (1962), containing footage of Yves Klein’s well-known “ANT 82” performance. Harald said that Yves wasn’t happy at all about being mistakenly introduced as a Czechoslovakian artist and that his performance was embedded in a pseudo-documentation about the world of bizarre human actions. I consider this to be an important question. Who does one perform for? People and things perform for people. It would be more pataphysical if colours were to perform for colours and fragrances. In the case of ENDO, I thought for a moment that we, the audience, were co-performing, sitting in the stands. I could go on writing like that for a long time, bringing the female figure’s ingenious hazmat suit into play. And the male figure’s masterly bound angle pose into the red puddle of paint spread on the floor. And the transformation of the two into superheroes by way of action painting. And the depletion of a dance music. And the shameless physical exhaustion. Perfect! It was “a grand funferall”, as Irish writer James Joyce put it in his novel “Finnegans Wake”.

Good night, Diane.

 

JACK HAUSER Born in Horn in 1958, studied electroacoustic music in Vienna from 1983 to 1986 after working as a chemist. “Erzklapperatist & Ex.Filmemacher” with a Super 8 film collection (“Banditengesänge”, 1986–2009). Jack Hauser has co-written experimental adventure novels in the form of romance novels for all and none with David Ender since 1989. He co-founded the performance band Lux Flux with Inge Kaindlstorfer and David Ender in 1994. Collaboration with Milli Bitterli from 2003. He co-developed the performance series The Call of Things with Lisa Hinterreithner in 2014/15. Various works co-created with Sabina Holzer since 2005 (www.cattravelsnotalone.at). He has designed and continues to work on the fantastic vehicle “Apartment Miryam van Doren” since 1999.

 

[1] Agent Dale B. Cooper is the protagonist of David Lynch’s television series Twin Peaks (1990-1991; 2017).

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

Feedback unter magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading

ENDOVILLE Ein Bericht in Manier des Agenten Dale B. Cooper[1]

Jack Hauser über ENDO von David Wampach
 
© Martin Colombet
Jack Hauser über ENDO von David Wampach

18. Jänner 2019, 10:46

Diane, soeben bekomme ich mit der elektronischen Post eine vertrauliche Nachricht:

Lieber Jack,

ich hoffe, es geht dir gut!!!

Nächste Woche ist ja nun David Wampach bei uns, und für dich ist ein kostenloses Ticket für den Donnerstag hinterlegt. Möchtest du auch eine Begleitkarte um 10 Euro haben?
Anbei und hier unter den Links habe ich noch Infos v. a. zum „Endoticism“, auf den sich Wampach bezieht …

Alles Liebe!

Bibliothek & TQW Magazin
Christina Gillinger

18. Jänner 2019, 23:43

Unter einem der beiden Links finde ich die Website von TIER, das Akronym für The Institute for Endotic Research. Laut Eigendarstellung widmet sich das Institut der Erforschung von Erzeugungs- und Darstellungsformen der Endotik – ein Antonym zu Exotik. Der französische Schriftsteller Georges Perec nutzte es als konzeptionelles Werkzeug, um sich dem Alltag in seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung zu nähern. Mit dieser Idee schlug er vor, die Faszination des Erforschens zu bewahren und gleichzeitig die Figur des Anderen zu vermeiden. Namen sind Spielmarken, die in den Schlitz des Lebens fallen. Sie sind Einsätze.

ENDO von David Wampach wird nun mein nächster Einsatz werden, und welchen Namen werde ich dafür verwenden? Dale B. Cooper? Meinen eigenen? Oder?

Diane, wie Groucho Marx gesagt hat: „Harpo, du redest zu viel.“

Gute Nacht, Diane.

19. Jänner 2019, 10:28

Diane, ich bin unterwegs nach Horn. Mein Vater ist krank. Ich melde mich bei Ihnen, sobald ich seinen Zustand besser einschätzen kann.

20. Jänner 2019, 02:01

Sätze aus César Airas Essay „Cecil Taylor“ geben mir für vier Stunden Nachtruhe in Horn: „Augen, die ein für alle Mal schließen, immer und überall. Frieden. Trotzdem gibt es eine unkontrollierte Bewegung, die wahrnehmbarer ist, als wir uns erhofft haben könnten, und die bei anderen Angst auslöst und das Modell unserer eigenen unmöglichen Angst darstellt. Das nennt man auch Kunst.“

Dem füge ich nichts hinzu, Diane.

20. Jänner 2019, 08:11

Diane, melde mich trotz Ungewissheit meinen Vater betreffend bei Ihnen.

In einem Zeitungsausschnitt aus dem Jahr 2014 verlangt der Journalist anlässlich einer Ausstellung der japanischen Nachkriegskünstlergruppe Gutai im Guggenheim Museum: Kunstgeschichte? Bitte umschreiben!

Näheres zur Künstler*innengruppe lege ich Ihnen bei, Diane.

1954 war Jirō Yoshihara an der Gründung dieser Gesellschaft für konkrete Kunst beteiligt. Bis 1972 erprobten insgesamt 59 Künstler*innen unter dem Schlagwort Gutai von den ersten festivalartigen Ausstellungen an, wie man mit neuen Formen der Kunst die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Leben aufbrechen könnte. Der Körper war wesentlich, aber der Körper hatte keine Priorität gegenüber den Materialien. Er wurde eher als Mitarbeiter des Materials gesehen.

Diane, ich hatte in den 1990er-Jahren in der Wiener freien Tanz- und Performanceszene Berührung mit ähnlichen Ideen und suche diesbezüglich das dietheater-Programm mit der Ankündigung der Lux Flux-Performance INFRAMINCE für imagetanz 99 – Groteske, Ironie und Körperwitz. Kann es aber in den Schubladen des Büros nicht finden. Ein gelber Zettel mit folgender Notiz wird meine einzige Spur:

Inframince (prominent gesetzt 1945 im amerikanischen Magazin „View“) ist für Marcel Duchamp, wenn der Tabakrauch auch nach dem Mund riecht, der ihn ausbläst. Dann vermählen sich die zwei Gerüche durch Inframince. „Das Geräusch, das eine Samthose beim Gehen macht, wenn ihre beiden Beine aneinander reiben; das Geschehen des Malens auf Glas, gesehen von der unbemalten Seite; das Gefühl der Haut in der Sanftung beim Tanzen Schläfe an Schläfe; der Gedanke, der entsteht, wenn das Zusammenspiel der Sinne in den Sinn kommt; die Wärme eines Sitzes (den man gerade verlassen hat)“, ist Inframince.

21. Jänner 2019, 19:07

Diane, bereits in meiner Notiz am 10. Jänner 1977 bemerkte ich Ihnen gegenüber, dass ich die Sprachaufzeichnungen immer an Sie richte, sogar wenn klar ist, dass ich mit mir selbst rede. Das Wissen, dass jemand mit Ihrem Scharfsinn hinter mir steht, ist beruhigend.

22. Jänner 2019, 13:39

Christina schickt mir erneut einen Link. Er leitet mich zum TQW-Artist-Video von David Wampach. Ich bin überaus glücklich, mich damit beschäftigen zu dürfen, Diane.

David Wampach choreografierte ENDO gemeinsam mit Tamar Shelef für Montpellier Danse als eine weitere Momentaufnahme der Geschichte, diesmal aus der Sicht des japanischen Avantgardepoeten und Filmemachers Shūji Terayama, um mit den Worten des Schriftstellers Georges Perec zu forschen: „Untersuchen Sie, was wirklich von innen kommt und was wir bisher übersehen haben […] zu untersuchen, was uns nicht mehr zu überraschen scheint […] nicht mehr exotisch, sondern endotisch.“

22. Jänner 2019, 17:03

Diane! Und erotisch. Shūji Terayama drehte 1981 mit Isabelle Illiers und Klaus Kinski den französisch-japanischen Spielfilm „Die Früchte der Leidenschaft“ nach Dominique Aurys Roman „Die Geschichte der O“.

23. Jänner 2019, 14:11

Habe Bedenken wegen meiner Herangehensweise bezüglich meines morgigen Einsatzes in der Halle G im Wiener Museumsquartier. Und wieder hilft mir César Airas Essay, in der Spur zu bleiben: „Wer würde sich rühmen, zu wissen, was ein Schrott ist, und ihn vom Gegenteil unterscheiden zu können? Zumindest niemand, der schreibt.“ Oder, Diane?

24. Jänner 2019, 10:40

Diane, der tagebuchartig filmende und doch zeitlose Künstler Jonas Mekas ist gestern 96-jährig in New York City gestorben. Ich erinnere mich an seine intime Coolness, wie in seiner Aussage aus den 1980er-Jahren: Solange noch jemand in der Lower East Side mit einer Super-8-Kamera durch die Straßen streift, lebt der Geist des Experimentalfilms. Denke auch an den Tänzer Daniel Lepkoff und die Fotos seiner Mutter Rebecca aus den 1940er-/1950er-Jahren in dieser damals armen Einwanderergegend von Manhattan.

24. Jänner 2019, 15:27

Ich will versuchen, die Ereignisse des heutigen Abends mit ENDO durch Schreiben zu berühren.

24. Jänner 2019, 23:24

So in die Irre geführt durch meine bisherigen Erkundungen! Ich hätte mich mit den Zirkuskünsten, dem Varieté und den Nachtklubs in Filmen der 1960er-/1970er-Jahre beschäftigen müssen. Also mit den eigentlich zeitlosen Vergnügungen einer städtischen Gemeinschaft.

Das kann ich Ihnen berichten, Diane. Knapp vor Beginn ein Dialog hinter mir im Publikum: „Das Zwerchfell drückt gegen dein Herz, und du bist tot.“ „Ja. Es gibt so viele schreckliche Arten zu sterben.“ Danach ging es in dieser ironischen Art auch auf der Bühne weiter. Tamar Shelef, wie ein weiblicher Vogeltanzmensch mit schwarzer knöchellanger Kochschürze vorm nackten Körper, allein. Dann erscheint David Wampach, der männliche Protagonist, allein. Er hüpft als vermummter Boxer im roten übergroßen Badetuch ein paar Runden im minimalistischen Bühnenbild. Becketts Theaterarbeit fällt mir nicht ein. Anderen schon. Was kann ich noch dazu sagen? Das Bühnenbild ist ein weißes Eck mit weißer verbindender Grundfläche. Ja, nun fällt es mir ein, Diane, furchtbar komisch war der schwarze Handschuh, der beabsichtigt – als Euter beinahe – zwischen den Beinen des Boxers schaukelte. Und im folgenden Zwischenreich fragte ich mich, ob Adam und Eva ebensolches Vergnügen bei der Vorbereitung der Vertreibung aus dem Paradies hatten. Erinnerungen werden auch wach, als das Künstler*innenpaar seine mit Farbe markierten Körperformen gegen die beiden Wände der Ecke abdrückt. 2002 zeigte mir Harald Szeemann in seiner Fabbrica Rosa den italienischen Exploitation-Film „Mondo Cane“ (1962), der auch eine filmische Dokumentation der bekannten Yves-Klein-Performance „ANT 82“ enthält. Harald erzählte, dass Yves ganz und gar nicht glücklich darüber war, dass er fälschlich als tschechoslowakischer Künstler vorgestellt wurde und seine Performance in eine Pseudodokumentation über die Welt der bizarren menschlichen Taten eingebettet war. Das ist eine wichtige Frage für mich. Für wen performen? Menschen und Dinge performen für Menschen. Pataphysischer wäre es, würden Farben für Farben und Düfte performen. Im Falle von ENDO dachte ich mir für einen Moment, dass wir – das Publikum – auf der Tribüne sitzend mitperformen. Ich könnte noch lange so weiterschreiben und den genialen Giftgasschutzanzug der weiblichen Figur ins Spiel bringen. Und den gekonnten Schustersitz der männlichen Figur in die aufgelegte rote Farbpfütze. Und die Verwandlung der beiden in Superheroes durch Actionpainting. Und die Erschöpfung einer Tanzmusik. Und die schamlose körperliche Verausgabung. Tadellos! Das war „a grand funferall“, wie der irische Schriftsteller James Joyce in seinem Roman „Finnegans Wake“ formulierte.

Gute Nacht, Diane.

 

JACK HAUSER 1958 in Horn geboren, studierte nach seiner Arbeit als Chemiker von 1983 bis 1986 elektroakustische Musik in Wien. Erzklapperatist & Ex.Filmemacher mit Super-8-Film-Sammlung Banditengesänge (1986 – 2009). Seit 1989 schreibt Jack Hauser gemeinsam mit David Ender experimentelle Abenteuerromane als Liebesromane für alle und keinen. 1994 Gründung der Performancebande Lux Flux mit Inge Kaindlstorfer & David Ender. 2003 beginnt die Zusammenarbeit mit Milli Bitterli. 2014 / 15 entwickelt er gemeinsam mit Lisa Hinterreithner die Performancereihe The Call of Things. Seit 2005 zahlreiche gemeinsame Werke mit Sabina Holzer (www.cattravelsnotalone.at). Seit 1999 gestaltet er das fantômastische Vehikel „Wohnung Miryam van Doren“.

 

[1] Agent Dale B. Cooper ist eine Figur aus David Lynchs TV-Serie Twin Peaks (1990/91; 2017).

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

Feedback unter magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading