A Divine Comedy

Florentina Holzinger
Dance & Performance
Florentina
Holzinger

studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. After many well-received cooperations with Vincent Riebeek (Kein Applaus für Scheiße and Schönheitsabend, among others) and several solo projects, she worked on a trilogy about body discipline, with which she is still on tour: Recovery, Apollon and, most recently, TANZ.

Dangerous stunts, spectacular circus acts, splatter scenes or extreme martial arts – Florentina Holzinger’s work can be situated at the intersection of high culture and so-called entertainment culture, while it can also be read as a continuous feminist manifesto. TANZ, which premiered at TQW in 2019, was the only Austrian production to be invited to Berliner Theatertreffen in 2020 and was also awarded the Nestroy for best director. Holzinger’s Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car was shown at Münchner Kammerspiele in 2020. As of 2021/22, Florentina Holzinger will be part of René Pollesch’s artistic team at Volksbühne Berlin.

Florentina Holzinger
Fri22./
Sat23. 
Oct
19.30 /
TQW Halle E
 
     
  • Fri 22. Oct
  • Sat 23. Oct
Tickets from € 10 to € 45

Duration: 2 hours, no intermission

In English

Notes: We recommend a minimum age of 18 to attend the performance. There is nudity and sexual acts in the play. We also note that stroboscopic effects are used in this performance.

“Death is not the worst thing that can happen to women.” Loosely based on Plato

Conventionally, Dante’s Divine Comedy is divided into three sections: Hell, Purgatory and Paradise. What heaven is for one might be hell for another – this divine comedy places heaven and hell all at once in the present moment, erasing the differentiation that we can find is so deeply rooted in our life and culture. For this show, Florentina Holzinger has brought together an all-female cast of performers of all ages and different physical, musical and athletic talents to bundle forces in an exploration of the human negotiation of life and death. Starting point is an 80-year-old dancer’s reflection on her life and century-spanning career and the planning and rehearsing of her funeral within this divine comedy. Assisted by two dance teachers, she sends the performers cascading through casting, dance class and training settings, exploring the sujet of the medieval ‘Dance of Death/Totentanz’, which was revived by German expressionist dancers in the 1920s. Inspired by this visual art and dance motive, the performers go on a journey to mirror and explore tensions within their own reality in relationship to gender, aging, sexuality and death. A possible spirituality of the 21st century: In an operatic celebration of life and death, music and dance join forces as art practices that aim to transcend.

This Divine Comedy digests humanity’s struggle with its short lifespan, the dualistic relationship of Thanatos and Eros and an (inefficient) inter-generational transfer of knowledge and wisdom. The life of a dancer as a journey of self-discovery and preparation for one’s own finitude: training, self-optimization, endeavours of beautification and health improvement – in competition and cooperation – aim to inspire the best in humanity despite its shortcomings. Death becomes her!

 

Credits

Concept, direction
Florentina Holzinger
Performance, choreography
Foxxy Angel, Amanda Bailey, Linda Blomqvist, Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Paige A. Flash, Alba Gentili-Tedeschi, Noam Gorbat, Ria Higler, Florentina Holzinger, Susanne Jablonski, Steffi Laier, Annina Machaz, Courtney May Robertson, Audrey Merilus, Xana Novais, Maja Osojnik, Bärbel Schwarz, Miranda van Kuilenburg, Anna Tierney, Linnéa Tullius, Isabelle Volckaert
Composition, sound design
Maja Osojnik & Stefan Schneider
Scenography
Nikola Knežević
Dramaturgy
Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Dramaturgy Ruhrtriennale
Sara Abbasi
Real choreography
Ty Boomershine
Light design
Anne Meeussen, Max Kraußmüller
Video design
Noam Gorbat
Technical direction
Anne Meeussen, Stephan Werner
Stage technician, hoists operator
Dörte Wilfroth
Stage assistance
Camilla Smolders, Nicole Marianna Wytyczak
Music coach
Almut Lustig
Stunt coordination
Stunt-Factory, Leo Plank (Haeger Stunt & Wireworks)
Hurdle trainers
Valerie Kleiser, Ulrike Kleinschmidt
Taxidermy coach
Lydia Mäder
Wood sports coach
Josef Laier
Outside eye
Fernando Belfiore
Production intern Kassel
Lisa Birkenbach
Management, international distribution
Something Great, Berlin
Production management
Ricardo Frayha
A commission by Ruhrtriennale. Produced by Something Great, Spirit, Ruhrtriennale and Staatstheater Kassel. In co-production with Tanzquartier Wien, Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg -Platz, Berlin, deSingel, Antwerp, Theater Freiburg and Julidans. Funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes and the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna. With the friendly support of Rudolf Augstein Stiftung, Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport, documenta Halle (Kassel), Montévidéo (Marseille). Thanks to Uwe Leifheit, ImPulsTanz Vienna.
Florentina
Holzinger

studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. After many well-received cooperations with Vincent Riebeek (Kein Applaus für Scheiße and Schönheitsabend, among others) and several solo projects, she worked on a trilogy about body discipline, with which she is still on tour: Recovery, Apollon and, most recently, TANZ.

Dangerous stunts, spectacular circus acts, splatter scenes or extreme martial arts – Florentina Holzinger’s work can be situated at the intersection of high culture and so-called entertainment culture, while it can also be read as a continuous feminist manifesto. TANZ, which premiered at TQW in 2019, was the only Austrian production to be invited to Berliner Theatertreffen in 2020 and was also awarded the Nestroy for best director. Holzinger’s Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car was shown at Münchner Kammerspiele in 2020. As of 2021/22, Florentina Holzinger will be part of René Pollesch’s artistic team at Volksbühne Berlin.

 
Loading

A Divine Comedy

Florentina Holzinger
Tanz & Performance
Florentina
Holzinger

hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Nach viel beachteten Kooperationen mit Vincent Riebeek (u. a. Kein Applaus für Scheiße, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) und einigen Solostücken erarbeitete sie eine bis heute tourende Stücktrilogie über Körperdisziplinierung: Recovery, Apollon und zuletzt TANZ.

Ob gefährliche Stunts, spektakuläre Zirkusnummern, blutige Splatter-Szenen oder harter Kampfsport – Florentina Holzingers Arbeiten spielen bewusst mit den sich verschiebenden Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und sogenannter Unterhaltungskultur und sind dabei immer auch feministisches Manifest. TANZ, 2019 im TQW uraufgeführt, wurde als einzige österreichische Position zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2020 eingeladen und erhielt den Nestroy-Preis für die beste Regie. 2020 war Holzingers Arbeit Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car in den Münchner Kammerspielen zu sehen. Aktuell arbeitet Florentina Holzinger an der von René Pollesch geleiteten Volksbühne in Berlin.

Florentina Holzinger
Fr22./
Sa23. 
Okt
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle E
 
     
  • Fr 22. Okt
  • Sa 23. Okt
€ 10 bis € 45

Dauer: 2 Stunden, keine Pause

In englischer Sprache

Hinweise: Wir empfehlen für den Besuch der Vorstellung ein Mindestalter von 18 Jahren. Im Stück sind Nacktheit und sexuelle Handlungen zu sehen. Wir weisen außerdem darauf hin, dass in dieser Vorstellung Stroboskopeffekte genutzt werden.

„Death is not the worst thing that can happen to women.“ – Frei nach Platon

Dantes „Göttliche Komödie“ besteht aus drei Teilen: Hölle, Fegefeuer und Paradies. Was für die einen der Himmel ist, kann für die anderen die Hölle sein: In dieser Divine Comedy befinden sich Himmel und Hölle in ein und derselben Dimension – die tief in unserer Kultur verwurzelte Dichotomie von Leben und Tod wird ausgelöscht. Florentina Holzinger hat für diese Show ein Ensemble aus Frauen jeden Alters und unterschiedlicher körperlicher, musikalischer und sportlicher Disziplinen zusammengebracht, um Kräfte zu bündeln und die menschliche Sichtweise auf Leben und Tod zu erforschen. Ausgangspunkt ist die Reflexion einer achtzigjährigen Tänzerin über ihr Leben und ihre Karriere im 20. Jahrhundert, während sie ihre Beerdigung plant und probt. Gemeinsam mit zwei Tanzlehrerinnen schickt sie die Darstellerinnen durch einen Casting- und Trainingsparcours zwischen Stunts, Motocross und Hypnose, um das Sujet des mittelalterlichen Totentanzes zu erkunden, der einst schon von den Künstler*innen des deutschen Expressionismus in den 1920er-Jahren wiederbelebt wurde. Inspiriert von diesem Motiv begeben sich die Performerinnen auf eine Reise, um Spannungen in ihrer eigenen Existenz in Bezug auf Geschlecht, Alter, Sexualität und Tod zu erkunden. In einer opernhaften Feier von Leben und Tod vereinen sich Musik und Tanz als transzendierende Kunstpraktiken und finden eine mögliche Form von Spiritualität im 21. Jahrhundert.

Diese „Göttliche Komödie“ seziert den Kampf des Menschen mit seiner kurzen Lebensdauer, die dualistische Beziehung von Thanatos und Eros und die (ineffiziente) Weitergabe von Wissen und Weisheit von Generation zu Generation. Das Leben einer Tänzerin als Reise der Selbstfindung und der Vorbereitung auf die eigene Endlichkeit: Training, Selbstoptimierung, das Streben nach Schönheit und Gesundheit mit dem Ziel, das Beste zu erreichen, was die Menschheit trotz ihrer Mängel sein könnte. Der Tod steht ihr gut!

Credits

Konzept, Regie
Florentina Holzinger
Performance, Choreografie
Foxxy Angel, Amanda Bailey, Linda Blomqvist, Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Paige A. Flash, Alba Gentili-Tedeschi, Noam Gorbat, Ria Higler, Florentina Holzinger, Susanne Jablonski, Steffi Laier, Annina Machaz, Courtney May Robertson, Audrey Merilus, Xana Novais, Maja Osojnik, Bärbel Schwarz, Miranda van Kuilenburg, Anna Tierney, Linnéa Tullius, Isabelle Volckaert
Komposition, Sounddesign
Maja Osojnik & Stefan Schneider
Bühne
Nikola Knežević
Dramaturgie
Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Dramaturgie Ruhrtriennale
Sara Abbasi
Real Choreography
Ty Boomershine
Lichtdesign
Anne Meeussen, Max Kraußmüller
Videodesign
Noam Gorbat
Technische Leitung
Anne Meeussen, Stephan Werner
Bühnentechnik, Zugmaschinen-Operator
Dörte Wilfroth
Bühnenassistenz
Camilla Smolders, Nicole Marianna Wytyczak
Musik-Coach
Almut Lustig
Stuntkoordination
Stunt-Factory, Leo Plank (Haeger Stunt & Wireworks)
Hürdentraining
Valerie Kleiser, Ulrike Kleinschmidt
Tierpräparation-Coach
Lydia Mäder
Holzsport-Coach
Josef Laier
Outside Eye
Fernando Belfiore
Hospitanz Produktion Kassel
Lisa Birkenbach
Management, internationale Distribution
Something Great, Berlin
Produktionsleitung
Ricardo Frayha
Eine Auftragsarbeit der Ruhrtriennale. Produziert von Something Great, Berlin, Spirit, Ruhrtriennale und Staatstheater Kassel. In Koproduktion mit Tanzquartier Wien, Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, Berlin, deSingel, Antwerpen, Theater Freiburg und Julidans. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes und die Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung, des Bundesministeriums für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport, Sektion IV – Kunst und Kultur, von documenta Halle (Kassel) und Montévidéo (Marseille). Besonderer Dank an Uwe Leifheit und ImPulsTanz Wien.
Florentina
Holzinger

hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Nach viel beachteten Kooperationen mit Vincent Riebeek (u. a. Kein Applaus für Scheiße, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) und einigen Solostücken erarbeitete sie eine bis heute tourende Stücktrilogie über Körperdisziplinierung: Recovery, Apollon und zuletzt TANZ.

Ob gefährliche Stunts, spektakuläre Zirkusnummern, blutige Splatter-Szenen oder harter Kampfsport – Florentina Holzingers Arbeiten spielen bewusst mit den sich verschiebenden Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und sogenannter Unterhaltungskultur und sind dabei immer auch feministisches Manifest. TANZ, 2019 im TQW uraufgeführt, wurde als einzige österreichische Position zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2020 eingeladen und erhielt den Nestroy-Preis für die beste Regie. 2020 war Holzingers Arbeit Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car in den Münchner Kammerspielen zu sehen. Aktuell arbeitet Florentina Holzinger an der von René Pollesch geleiteten Volksbühne in Berlin.

 
Loading