A Quiet Kind of Noise

Ligia Lewis
Labs/Theory
Ligia Lewis
Ligia
Lewis

creates affective choreographies while interrogating the metaphors and social inscriptions of the body. Lewis’s work continues to provoke the nuances of embodiment. Her work has been shown at various venues and festivals, such as Abrons Arts Center / American Realness (New York), Flax / Fahrenheit (Los Angeles), Tate Modern (London), Palais de Tokyo (Paris) and Tanz im August (Berlin).

Lewis was awarded the Prix Jardin d’Europe for her work Sorrow Swag at ImPulsTanz 2015. As a dancer, Lewis has performed with and alongside with Eszter Salamon, Mette Ingvartsen, Ariel Efraim Ashbel, Jeremy Wade, Wu Tsang, and Les Ballets C de la B.

ligialewis.com

Sat01.
Tue04. 
May
Closed event/
TQW Studios

+++ Postponed +++

For this choreographic lab, Ligia Lewis will create a space to negotiate the expressive potential of flatness and psychic stasis. Building divergent physical narratives through the lens of dark comedy, this workshop will exercise / exorcise a playful deadness through deadpan performativity and within a landscape composed of sound and image. Her workshop will include sharing excerpts from films and texts as well as engaging in writing to enrich the creative process.

Lewis’s works, often marked by expressions of physical duress, seek to animate subjects through physical forms of expression that disrupt normative conceptions of the body while negotiating the ghostly traces of history, memory, and the unknown.

The lab is part of TQW’s ongoing research series Imaging otherwise – Invention of the present.

Ligia
Lewis

creates affective choreographies while interrogating the metaphors and social inscriptions of the body. Lewis’s work continues to provoke the nuances of embodiment. Her work has been shown at various venues and festivals, such as Abrons Arts Center / American Realness (New York), Flax / Fahrenheit (Los Angeles), Tate Modern (London), Palais de Tokyo (Paris) and Tanz im August (Berlin).

Lewis was awarded the Prix Jardin d’Europe for her work Sorrow Swag at ImPulsTanz 2015. As a dancer, Lewis has performed with and alongside with Eszter Salamon, Mette Ingvartsen, Ariel Efraim Ashbel, Jeremy Wade, Wu Tsang, and Les Ballets C de la B.

ligialewis.com

 
Loading

A Quiet Kind of Noise

Ligia Lewis
Labore/Theorie
Ligia Lewis
Ligia
Lewis

entwirft gefühlsgeladene Choreografien, in denen sie die Metaphern und gesellschaftlichen Einschreibungen des Körpers thematisiert. Ihre Performances wurden unter anderem in der Fahrenheit / Flax Foundation (Los Angeles), in der Tate Modern (London) und im Palais de Tokyo (Paris) gezeigt und zu Festivals wie American Realness / Abrons Art Center (New York), Tanz im August (Berlin) und dem donaufestival in Krems eingeladen.

Für ihre Choreografie Sorrow Swag erhielt Lewis 2015 bei ImPulsTanz den Prix Jardin d’Europe. Als Tänzerin stand sie u. a. für Eszter Salamon, Mette Ingvartsen, Ariel Efraim Ashbel und Les Ballets C de la B auf der Bühne.

ligialewis.com

Sa01.
Di04. 
Mai
Geschlossene Veranstaltung/
TQW Studios

+++ Veranstaltung verschoben +++

In diesem choreografischen Labor setzt sich Ligia Lewis in einem selbstkreierten Raum mit dem expressiven Potenzial von Flachheit und psychischem Stillstand auseinander.

In Ligia Lewis’ Labor geht es um divergierende körperliche Erzählungen der Dark Comedy in einer Landschaft, komponiert aus Sound und Bildern. Die spielerische Leblosigkeit durch die Performativität von „deadpan“ – trockener Humor, der mit emotionaler Neutralität agiert – wird exerziert/exorziert. Das Labor beinhaltet das Vorführen bzw. Teilen von Filmausschnitten und Texten sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit der Tätigkeit des Schreibens, um kreative Prozesse zu bereichern.

Lewis’ Arbeiten, oft von Ausformungen körperlicher Zwänge gekennzeichnet, versuchen, Subjekte durch physische Ausdrucksformen zu animieren, die normative Vorstellungen vom Körper stören, während sie die geisterhaften Spuren von Geschichte, Erinnerung und dem Unbekannten verhandeln.

Das Labor ist Teil der TQW Research-Reihe magining otherwise – Erfindung der Gegenwart.

Ligia
Lewis

entwirft gefühlsgeladene Choreografien, in denen sie die Metaphern und gesellschaftlichen Einschreibungen des Körpers thematisiert. Ihre Performances wurden unter anderem in der Fahrenheit / Flax Foundation (Los Angeles), in der Tate Modern (London) und im Palais de Tokyo (Paris) gezeigt und zu Festivals wie American Realness / Abrons Art Center (New York), Tanz im August (Berlin) und dem donaufestival in Krems eingeladen.

Für ihre Choreografie Sorrow Swag erhielt Lewis 2015 bei ImPulsTanz den Prix Jardin d’Europe. Als Tänzerin stand sie u. a. für Eszter Salamon, Mette Ingvartsen, Ariel Efraim Ashbel und Les Ballets C de la B auf der Bühne.

ligialewis.com

 
Loading