Affair

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Performance
Christine Gaigg: Reenactment von Anita Steckel, Giant Woman (Subway), 1973, © eSeL  
Christine
Gaigg

studied philosophy in Vienna and choreography at SNDO in Amsterdam. After many years of collaborating with composers of new music (e.g. with Bernhard Lang to explore a loop grammar, Maschinenhalle#1, opening of steirischer herbst 2010) she has focused on the “stage essay” in recent years. She uses the genre to present sociopolitical issues in various formats in ways that allow a tension between physical-emotional and reflective-analytical moments to emerge.

Besides Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer?(2014) these include DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaclav Nijinsky (2013), untitled (look, look, come closer) (2015) about viral images of war, and CLASH (2016) about homophobia as a displacement of self-loathing.

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Thu07.
Sat09. 
Nov
19.30 /
TQW Halle G

Duration: 75 minutes,
no intermission

No admission under 16 years

Our “post-erotic” times have seen the acceptance of sexual practices that had previously been deemed unseemly, they have enabled us to enjoy and explore sexuality freely, they have presented us with different relationship constellations and they have changed our interactions through digital and virtual means. However, there remains to be one phenomenon societal discourses have not addressed yet: the fascination for the affair. Regardless of gender or sexual orientation, an affair still encompasses all that is exciting and dangerous, secretive, vivacious and nonconformist, anomalous, thrilling and dark, impulsive, complicated and risky – in short: the untamed essence of the erotic. And yet, the phenomenon of the affair affects everyone.

Affair will thus try to fathom the various aspects of the affair, it will question the reasons for its allure and it will be dedicated to this “otherness of sexuality”, this special and profound nature.

Credits

Text, choreography
Christine Gaigg
Choreography, performance
Christine Gaigg, Robert Steijn, Juliane Werner, Frank Willens
Dramaturgical collaboration
Wolfgang Reiter
Stage, Lighting design
Philipp Harnoncourt
Costumes
Dorothea Nicolai
Composition, Sound design
Peter Plessas
English translation
David Tushingham
Production management
Kira Koplin / Groundworkers
Assistance
Christina Regorosa
A coproduction by 2nd nature and Tanzquartier Wien. 2nd nature is supported by the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna.
Christine
Gaigg

studied philosophy in Vienna and choreography at SNDO in Amsterdam. After many years of collaborating with composers of new music (e.g. with Bernhard Lang to explore a loop grammar, Maschinenhalle#1, opening of steirischer herbst 2010) she has focused on the “stage essay” in recent years. She uses the genre to present sociopolitical issues in various formats in ways that allow a tension between physical-emotional and reflective-analytical moments to emerge.

Besides Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer?(2014) these include DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaclav Nijinsky (2013), untitled (look, look, come closer) (2015) about viral images of war, and CLASH (2016) about homophobia as a displacement of self-loathing.

 
Loading

Affair

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Performance
Christine Gaigg: Reenactment von Anita Steckel, Giant Woman (Subway), 1973, © eSeL  
Christine
Gaigg

studierte Philosophie in Wien und Choreografie an der SNDO Amsterdam. Nach ihrer langjährigen Kollaboration mit Komponisten Neuer Musik (u. a. mit Bernhard Lang Maschinenhalle#1, Eröffnung steirischer herbst 2010) beschäftigt sie sich nun vorwiegend mit dem Genre „Performanceessay“, in dem sie in unterschiedlichen Formaten gesellschaftspolitische Themen so umsetzt, dass eine Spannung zwischen emotionalen und analytischen Momenten entsteht.

Dazu zählen neben Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer? (2014 und 2018) und dem intimen Begegnungsformat Meet (2018) noch DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaclav Nijinsky (2013), untitled (look, look, come closer) (2015) über virale Kriegsbilder und CLASH (2016) über Homophobie als Auslagerung von Selbsthass.

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Do07.
Sa09. 
Nov
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

Dauer: 75 Minuten,
keine Pause

Ab 16 Jahren

Sosehr auch in unseren „posterotischen“ Zeiten die Anbahnung und Ausübung von Sexualität geregelt ist und auch einstmals geschmähte sexuelle Praktiken mittlerweile akzeptiert sind, vielfältige Beziehungsmodelle erprobt werden und virtuelle Plattformen die Prozedere verändert haben, ein gewisses Phänomen bleibt von den gesellschaftlichen Diskursen nahezu unberührt: die Faszination, die von der Affäre ausgeht. Die Affäre ist seit jeher bestimmt vom Aufregenden und Gefährlichen, vom Geheimnis, vom Lebendigen und Unangepassten, vom Übertreten des Normativen, vom Spannungsgeladenen und Dunklen, vom Impulsiven, vom Komplizierten und vom Risiko – kurz: vom nicht zügelbaren Erotischen –, und das alles ungeachtet der sexuellen Identität und Orientierung. Das Phänomen der Affäre betrifft jede*n.

Affair will die verschiedenen Aspekte der Affäre ausloten, ihren Reiz ergründen und sich jenem „Anderen der Sexualität“ widmen, dem Besonderen und Tiefgründigen, das allein die Affäre bieten kann.

Credits

Text, Choreografie
Christine Gaigg
Choreografie, Performance
Christine Gaigg, Robert Steijn, Juliane Werner, Frank Willens
Dramaturgische Begleitung
Wolfgang Reiter
Raum, Lichtdesign
Philipp Harnoncourt
Kostüme
Dorothea Nicolai
Komposition, Sounddesign
Peter Plessas
Englische Übersetzung
David Tushingham
Produktionsleitung
Kira Koplin / Groundworkers
Assistenz
Christina Regorosa
Eine Koproduktion von 2nd nature und Tanzquartier Wien. 2nd nature wird von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien gefördert.
Christine
Gaigg

studierte Philosophie in Wien und Choreografie an der SNDO Amsterdam. Nach ihrer langjährigen Kollaboration mit Komponisten Neuer Musik (u. a. mit Bernhard Lang Maschinenhalle#1, Eröffnung steirischer herbst 2010) beschäftigt sie sich nun vorwiegend mit dem Genre „Performanceessay“, in dem sie in unterschiedlichen Formaten gesellschaftspolitische Themen so umsetzt, dass eine Spannung zwischen emotionalen und analytischen Momenten entsteht.

Dazu zählen neben Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer? (2014 und 2018) und dem intimen Begegnungsformat Meet (2018) noch DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaclav Nijinsky (2013), untitled (look, look, come closer) (2015) über virale Kriegsbilder und CLASH (2016) über Homophobie als Auslagerung von Selbsthass.

 
Loading