Dance 
Radouan Mriziga

Akal

(The Earth)
Radouan Mriziga,

born in 1985, is a choreographer from Marrakech based in Brussels. Fairly quickly, he began to focus on his work as a maker, creating his first solo 55 (2014), followed by 3600 (2016), 7 (2017) and 0 (2019), performances in which he addressed dance through the prism of architecture and that have been touring across the world. Since 2019, Mriziga is developing a new trilogy of works inspired by the culture and history of the Amazigh, the original inhabitants of North Africa. From 2017 until 2021, he is an artist-in-residence at the Kaaitheater in Brussels, and from 2021 until 2025 at deSingel in Antwerp.

Credits

Concept, choreography Radouan Mriziga By and with Dorothée Munyaneza Movement transmission Maïté Minh Tâm Jeannolin, Sondos Belhassen Research support Esther Severi, Hajar Ibnouthen Scenographic concept Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa, Radouan Mriziga Visual artist Tewa Barnosa Light design Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa Technical director Estelle Gautier Costumes Lila John Production A7LA5 In collaboration with Something Great Coproduction deSingel, Antwerp, Kaaitheater, Brussels, Tanzquartier Wien, Vienna, PACT Zollverein, Essen, Festival de Marseille, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, Wexner Center for the Arts, Columbus, Contemporary Arts Center Cincinnati and C-Mine, Genk Distribution, tour management Something Great Funded by De Vlaamse Overheid

With kind support from 

Akal

(The Earth)
Rituals, traditional dances, architecture, storytelling, song, poetry, rap: in Akal, everything comes together in an intimate choreographic space in which a fresh look at a suppressed past makes us dream of a more inclusive future.

Can choreography close the gaps in our historical memory? Akal (Tamazight for Earth) is the third piece of a trilogy by Radouan Mriziga, in which he draws inspiration from the epistemologies of the Imazighen, the indigenous people of North Africa. Their oral culture was ignored for centuries, but for Mriziga it contains the seed of a new future. Each piece of the trilogy is focused on mythological female figures who embody and protect the Amazigh culture. In Akal the muse is the ancient Egyptian goddess Neith, associated with birth and death, who guides the souls of the dead to the underworld.

In this solo, Mriziga celebrates Neith’s strength in collaboration with the Rwandan choreographer, dancer and singer Dorothée Munyaneza. Rituals, traditional dances, architecture, storytelling, song, poetry, rap: in Akal, everything comes together in an intimate choreographic space in which a fresh look at a suppressed past makes us dream of a more inclusive future.

Radouan Mriziga,

born in 1985, is a choreographer from Marrakech based in Brussels. Fairly quickly, he began to focus on his work as a maker, creating his first solo 55 (2014), followed by 3600 (2016), 7 (2017) and 0 (2019), performances in which he addressed dance through the prism of architecture and that have been touring across the world. Since 2019, Mriziga is developing a new trilogy of works inspired by the culture and history of the Amazigh, the original inhabitants of North Africa. From 2017 until 2021, he is an artist-in-residence at the Kaaitheater in Brussels, and from 2021 until 2025 at deSingel in Antwerp.

Credits

Concept, choreography Radouan Mriziga By and with Dorothée Munyaneza Movement transmission Maïté Minh Tâm Jeannolin, Sondos Belhassen Research support Esther Severi, Hajar Ibnouthen Scenographic concept Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa, Radouan Mriziga Visual artist Tewa Barnosa Light design Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa Technical director Estelle Gautier Costumes Lila John Production A7LA5 In collaboration with Something Great Coproduction deSingel, Antwerp, Kaaitheater, Brussels, Tanzquartier Wien, Vienna, PACT Zollverein, Essen, Festival de Marseille, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, Wexner Center for the Arts, Columbus, Contemporary Arts Center Cincinnati and C-Mine, Genk Distribution, tour management Something Great Funded by De Vlaamse Overheid



With kind support from 
28.01./
29.01.
Fri/​Sat
19.30
70 min
28.01./
29.01.
Fri/​Sat
19.30
70 min
TQW Halle G
€ 20/15/10

Rules for admission: 2G rule (vaccinated or recovered). Wearing an FFP2 mask is compulsory as soon as you enter the venue – also during events.

 
Loading

Tanz 
Radouan Mriziga

Akal

(The Earth)
Radouan Mriziga

wurde 1985 in Marrakesch geboren und lebt derzeit in Brüssel. 2014 entstand sein erstes, noch immer tourendes Solo 55, gefolgt von 3600 (2016), 7 (2017) und 0 (2019). In diesen Arbeiten setzt er sich mit Tanz durch das Prisma von europäischer wie auch islamischer Architektur auseinander. Seit 2019 hat Mriziga eine Trilogie von Werken entwickelt, die von der Kultur und der Geschichte der Amazigh, der Ureinwohner*innen Nordafrikas, inspiriert ist. Von 2017 bis 2021 war er Artist in Residence am Kaaitheater in Brüssel, von 2021 bis 2025 ist er Artist in Residence bei deSingel in Antwerpen.

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie Radouan Mriziga Von und mit Dorothée Munyaneza Bewegungsübersetzung Maïté Minh Tâm Jeannolin, Sondos Belhassen Unterstützung Research Esther Severi, Hajar Ibnouthen Szenografisches Konzept Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa, Radouan Mriziga Visual Artist Tewa Barnosa Lichtdesign Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa Technik Estelle Gautier Kostümbild Lila John Produktion A7LA5 In Zusammenarbeit mit Something Great Eine Koproduktion von Radouan Mriziga mit deSingel, Antwerpen, Kaaitheater, Brüssel, Tanzquartier Wien, PACT Zollverein, Essen, Festival de Marseille, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, Wexner Center for the Arts, Columbus, Contemporary Arts Center Cincinnati und C-Mine, Genk Distribution, Tourmanagement Something Great Gefördert von De Vlaamse Overheid

Mit Unterstützung von 

Akal

(The Earth)
Rituale, traditionelle Tänze, Architektur, Geschichtenerzählen, Gesang, Poesie, Rap: In Akal kommt alles in einem intimen choreografischen Raum zusammen und eröffnet einen Blick auf eine unterdrückte Vergangenheit, der von einer inklusiveren Zukunft träumen lässt.

Kann Choreografie die Lücken in unserem historischen Gedächtnis schließen? Akal (tamazight für Erde) ist das dritte Stück einer Trilogie, in der Radouan Mriziga sich von den Erkenntnissen der Imazighen, dem indigenen Volk Nordafrikas, inspirieren lässt. Deren mündliche Kultur wurde jahrhundertelang ignoriert, aber für Mriziga enthält sie den Keim für eine neue Zukunft. Im Mittelpunkt jedes Teils der Trilogie stehen mythologische Frauenfiguren, die die Kultur der Amazigh verkörpern und schützen.

Gemeinsam mit der ruandischen Choreografin, Tänzerin und Sängerin Dorothée Munyaneza zelebriert Mriziga in Akal die Kraft der altägyptischen Göttin Neith, die mit Geburt und Tod assoziiert wird und die Seelen der Toten in die Unterwelt führt. Rituale, traditionelle Tänze, Architektur, Geschichtenerzählen, Gesang, Poesie, Rap: In Akal kommt alles in einem intimen choreografischen Raum zusammen und eröffnet einen Blick auf eine unterdrückte Vergangenheit, der von einer inklusiveren Zukunft träumen lässt.

Radouan Mriziga

wurde 1985 in Marrakesch geboren und lebt derzeit in Brüssel. 2014 entstand sein erstes, noch immer tourendes Solo 55, gefolgt von 3600 (2016), 7 (2017) und 0 (2019). In diesen Arbeiten setzt er sich mit Tanz durch das Prisma von europäischer wie auch islamischer Architektur auseinander. Seit 2019 hat Mriziga eine Trilogie von Werken entwickelt, die von der Kultur und der Geschichte der Amazigh, der Ureinwohner*innen Nordafrikas, inspiriert ist. Von 2017 bis 2021 war er Artist in Residence am Kaaitheater in Brüssel, von 2021 bis 2025 ist er Artist in Residence bei deSingel in Antwerpen.

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie Radouan Mriziga Von und mit Dorothée Munyaneza Bewegungsübersetzung Maïté Minh Tâm Jeannolin, Sondos Belhassen Unterstützung Research Esther Severi, Hajar Ibnouthen Szenografisches Konzept Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa, Radouan Mriziga Visual Artist Tewa Barnosa Lichtdesign Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa Technik Estelle Gautier Kostümbild Lila John Produktion A7LA5 In Zusammenarbeit mit Something Great Eine Koproduktion von Radouan Mriziga mit deSingel, Antwerpen, Kaaitheater, Brüssel, Tanzquartier Wien, PACT Zollverein, Essen, Festival de Marseille, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, Wexner Center for the Arts, Columbus, Contemporary Arts Center Cincinnati und C-Mine, Genk Distribution, Tourmanagement Something Great Gefördert von De Vlaamse Overheid



Mit Unterstützung von 
28.01./
29.01.
Fr/​Sa
19.30 Uhr
70 Min.
28.01./
29.01.
Fr/​Sa
19.30 Uhr
70 Min.
TQW Halle G
€ 20/15/10

Zutrittsregelung: 2G (geimpft oder genesen). Das Tragen einer FFP2-Maske für die gesamte Dauer des Besuchs ist verpflichtend.

 
Loading