We don’t think enough about staircases

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Installation
 
Andrea
Maurer

lives and works in Vienna. She examines, dissects and twists connections between language, reality and perception in mostly performative and/or installative formats. She realised many projects with the studio 5 collective between 2007 and 2013. Her piece Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) won the Media Art Award of the State of Salzburg. 

She was awarded the H13 Performance Prize, sponsored by Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, in 2016 for SELBSTZERLEGUNG. Daily paper Der Standard described her as “highly adept in taking language, symbols and meanings apart. The topics addressed by her cleverly take the logic of everyday communication to the point of absurdity.”

andreamaurer.at

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Thu25./
21.00-24.00
Jan
Fri26./
18.00-24.00
Jan
Sat27. 
18.00-24.00
Jan
TQW Studios, staircase

Staircases stand for ascent and descent, endings and beginnings. Bodies go up and down staircases. They are spaces of coming and going, of before and after. The floor of a staircase is folded, the space is bent. “We don’t think enough about staircases,” Georges Perec claimed in his book Species of Spaces. Andrea Maurer works on the spaces between, beside, below and above the stairs and walls of the stairwell at TQW. A spatial construction? Question mark? Question mark! The emergency escape route must remain unobstructed.

Andrea
Maurer

lives and works in Vienna. She examines, dissects and twists connections between language, reality and perception in mostly performative and/or installative formats. She realised many projects with the studio 5 collective between 2007 and 2013. Her piece Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) won the Media Art Award of the State of Salzburg. 

She was awarded the H13 Performance Prize, sponsored by Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, in 2016 for SELBSTZERLEGUNG. Daily paper Der Standard described her as “highly adept in taking language, symbols and meanings apart. The topics addressed by her cleverly take the logic of everyday communication to the point of absurdity.”

andreamaurer.at

 
Loading

We don’t think enough about staircases

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Installation
 
Andrea
Maurer

 lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie behandelt, zerlegt und verdreht in zumeist performativen und/oder installativen Formaten Zusammenhänge von Sprache, Wirklichkeit und Wahrnehmung. Mit dem Kollektiv studio 5 hat sie von 2007 bis 2013 zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt. Ihre Arbeit Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) wurde mit dem Salzburger Landespreis für Medienkunst ausgezeichnet.

Für die Performance SELBSTZERLEGUNG erhielt sie 2016 den H13 Preis für Performance des Kunstraum Niederoesterreich. Der Standard bezeichnete sie als „Meisterin der Sprach-, Zeichen- und Bedeutungszerlegung“, deren „Gesprächsgegenstände die Logik der Gebrauchskommunikation mit Witz ad absurdum führen“.

andreamaurer.at

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Do25./
21-24 Uhr
Jan
Fr26./
18-24 Uhr
Jan
Sa27. 
18-24 Uhr
Jan
TQW Studios, Stiegenhaus

Im Rahmen der TQW Neueröffnung

Das Stiegenhaus steht für Auf- und Abgang, Ende und Anfang. Im Stiegenhaus steigen Körper von unten nach oben und umgekehrt. Es ist ein Raum des Kommens und Gehens, des Vorher und des Nachher. Der Boden des Stiegenhauses ist gefaltet, der Raum ist gekrümmt. „Man denkt nicht oft genug an die Treppen“, behauptet Georges Perec in seinem Buch Träume von Räumen. Andrea Maurer bearbeitet die Räume zwischen, neben, unter und über den Treppen und den Wänden des TQW-Stiegenhauses. Eine Raumkonstruktion? Fragezeichen? Fragezeichen! Der Fluchtweg muss frei bleiben.

Andrea
Maurer

 lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie behandelt, zerlegt und verdreht in zumeist performativen und/oder installativen Formaten Zusammenhänge von Sprache, Wirklichkeit und Wahrnehmung. Mit dem Kollektiv studio 5 hat sie von 2007 bis 2013 zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt. Ihre Arbeit Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) wurde mit dem Salzburger Landespreis für Medienkunst ausgezeichnet.

Für die Performance SELBSTZERLEGUNG erhielt sie 2016 den H13 Preis für Performance des Kunstraum Niederoesterreich. Der Standard bezeichnete sie als „Meisterin der Sprach-, Zeichen- und Bedeutungszerlegung“, deren „Gesprächsgegenstände die Logik der Gebrauchskommunikation mit Witz ad absurdum führen“.

andreamaurer.at

 
Loading