Augusto

Alessandro Sciarroni
Dance
© Alice Brazzit 
Alessandro
Sciarroni

is one of his generation’s most unconventional and innovative artists. His artistic practice encompasses choreography, visual arts and theatre research. His artistic works have premiered worldwide at dance and theatre festivals, museums and art galleries. In 2019, he was awarded the Golden Lion lifetime achievement award at the Venice Dance Biennale. Similar to Marcel Duchamp’s method, the starting point for all Sciarroni’s works is a conceptual matrix which he transposes into the space of the stage and which he combines with his experience in dance, acrobatics and athletics.

Sciarroni’s interests lie in the study of obsessions, anxieties and the fragility of the performer on stage. By focusing on repetition and durability, he often brings his performers close to their physical breaking point, introducing the viewer to original readings of empathy and the passage of time. The Roman daily newspaper Repubblica observed: “His central theme might be the individual’s solitude, but he loves the emotional, interpersonal connection between the performers and the audience.”

alessandrosciarroni.it

Alessandro Sciarroni
Fri17./
Sat18. 
Jan
19.30 /
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Fri 17. Jan
  • Sat 18. Jan
€ 20/15/10 Subscription

60 minutes, no intermission

“And yet there is something esthetic about laughter, since the comic comes into being just when society and the individual, freed from the worry of self-preservation, begin to regard themselves as works of art.” — Henri Bergson, Laughter (1900)

“Little by little, laughter becomes an absolute norm […] The dancers give the fatal impression that something of humanity ends up being lost.” — Libération

Augusto is about the human desire for unconditional love and about the pain that goes with it. But it also pays tribute to the clown character of Auguste – the circus’s loser, the fool who cannot stop laughing even when things look dire.

Laughter is only being made possible by the interaction of a totality of eighty muscles in our body, by the modality of our voice and the dance-like contractions of our diaphragmatic region. But there are many more facets to laughter than just the simple physiological aspects. In Augusto, the voice, body and movement-based research by award-winning Italian choreographer Alessandro Sciarroni, nine dancers will only be equipped with one mode of expression: laughter. Whatever the state they are in – if they walk, run or dance, if they feel sad, excited, anxious or if they are hurting – there will only be obsessive laughter. A laughter without specific cause, totally uncontrollable, at the threshold of pain.

Watch trailer

Credits

By
Alessandro Sciarroni
Cast
Massimiliano Balduzzi, Marta Ciappina, Jordan Deschamps, Pere Jou, Benjamin Kahn, Leon Maric, Francesco Marilungo, Cian McConn, Roberta Racis
Music
Yes Soeur!
Lighting design
Sébastien Lefèvre
Movement coaching, dramaturgical collaboration
Elena Giannotti
Outfit
Ettore Lombardi
Dramaturgical consultancies
Chiara Bersani, Peggy Olislaegers, Sergio Lo Gatto
Laughter yoga coaching
Monica Gentile
Artistic collaboration
Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson
Vocal coaching
Sandra Soncini
Technical director
Valeria Foti
Tour technician
Cosimo Maggini
Assistance, research
Damien Modolo
Curator, promotion, consulting
Lisa Gilardino
Administration, executive production
Chiara Fava
Press office
Beatrice Giongo
Produced by MARCHE TEATRO – Teatro di Rilevante Interesse Culturale, corpoceleste_C.C.00#, European Creative Hub – French Minister of Culture / Maison de la Danse Grant for Biennale de la Danse de Lyon 2018, Grec Festival of Barcelona, Théâtre de Liège (BE), Teatro Municipal do Porto (PT), CENTQUATRE-PARIS, apap – Performing Europe 2020, a project co-founded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union, Snaporazverein (CH), Theaterfestival Boulevard, Theater Freiburg (DE), La Biennale di Venezia.

Coproduced by Tanzfabrik Berlin, Centrale Fies (IT), L'arboreto – Teatro Dimora di Mondaino (IT).

Alessandro Sciarroni is associated artist at CENTQUATRE-PARIS and is supported as focus artist by apap – Performing Europe 2020.
Alessandro
Sciarroni

is one of his generation’s most unconventional and innovative artists. His artistic practice encompasses choreography, visual arts and theatre research. His artistic works have premiered worldwide at dance and theatre festivals, museums and art galleries. In 2019, he was awarded the Golden Lion lifetime achievement award at the Venice Dance Biennale. Similar to Marcel Duchamp’s method, the starting point for all Sciarroni’s works is a conceptual matrix which he transposes into the space of the stage and which he combines with his experience in dance, acrobatics and athletics.

Sciarroni’s interests lie in the study of obsessions, anxieties and the fragility of the performer on stage. By focusing on repetition and durability, he often brings his performers close to their physical breaking point, introducing the viewer to original readings of empathy and the passage of time. The Roman daily newspaper Repubblica observed: “His central theme might be the individual’s solitude, but he loves the emotional, interpersonal connection between the performers and the audience.”

alessandrosciarroni.it

 
Loading

Augusto

Alessandro Sciarroni
Tanz
© Alice Brazzit 
Alessandro
Sciarroni

zählt zu den eigenwilligsten und innovativsten Künstler*innen seiner Generation. Sein Tätigkeitsfeld erstreckt sich von Choreografie über bildende Kunst bis hin zur Erforschung des Theaters selbst. Seine Arbeiten werden auf Tanz- und Theaterfestivals, in Museen und Kunstgalerien weltweit gezeigt. 2019 wurde er auf der Tanzbiennale von Venedig mit dem Goldenen Löwen für sein Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet. Ausgangspunkt seiner Arbeiten ist wie bei Marcel Duchamp eine konzeptuelle Matrix, die er aber in den Theaterraum überträgt und mit Techniken und Erfahrungen aus Tanz, Zirkus oder Sport verknüpft.

Sciarroni interessiert sich für die Obsessionen, die Ängste und die Fragilität des Performens auf der Bühne. Mittels Dauer und Wiederholung führt er die Performer*innen an die Grenzen ihrer körperlichen Belastbarkeit, eröffnet so Einblicke in eine andere zeitliche Dimension und setzt auf Empathie, um den zwischenmenschlichen Aspekt in seinen Arbeiten zu betonen. „Sein Thema ist zwar die Einsamkeit, doch er liebt den emotionalen Austausch zwischen Performer*innen und Publikum“, schreibt die römische Tageszeitung La Repubblica über sein Werk.

alessandrosciarroni.it

Alessandro Sciarroni
Fr17./
Sa18. 
Jan
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Fr 17. Jan
  • Sa 18. Jan
€ 20/15/10 Wahlabo

60 Minuten, keine Pause

„Immerhin ist das Lachen insofern ästhetischer Natur, als Komik immer in Momenten auftritt, wo die Gesellschaft und die Einzelnen frei von jeder Sorge um ihre Existenz sich selber wie einem Kunstwerke gegenüberstehen.“ — Henri Bergson, Das Lachen (1900)

„Little by little, laughter becomes an absolute norm […] The dancers give the fatal impression that something of humanity ends up being lost.“ — Libération

Augusto ist ein Stück über das menschliche Bedürfnis, bedingungslos geliebt zu werden, und über den Schmerz, wenn dies nicht der Fall ist. Zugleich eine Hommage auf den dummen August – den Loser im Zirkus, der nicht aufhören kann zu lachen, auch wenn es eigentlich zum Weinen wäre.

Wenn wir lachen, werden achtzig Muskeln im ganzen Körper betätigt, die Stimme ändert sich, das Zwerchfell tanzt. Doch das Lachen hat, abgesehen von den physiologischen Aspekten, noch tausend andere Facetten. Angelegt als Recherche, wie sich Stimme, Körper und Bewegung auf der Bühne zueinander verhalten, lässt der preisgekrönte italienische Choreograf Alessandro Sciarroni den neun Tänzer*innen in Augusto nur eine Ausdrucksmöglichkeit: das Lachen. Egal ob sie gehen, laufen oder tanzen, Trauer, Euphorie, Angst oder Schmerz empfinden. Es wird obsessiv gelacht, ohne den Grund dafür benennen zu können. Immer unkontrollierter, bis es wehtut.

Trailer ansehen

Credits

Von
Alessandro Sciarroni
Mit
Massimiliano Balduzzi, Marta Ciappina, Jordan Deschamps, Pere Jou, Benjamin Kahn, Leon Maric, Francesco Marilungo, Cian McConn, Roberta Racis
Musik
Yes Soeur!
Lichtdesign
Sébastien Lefèvre
Bewegungscoaching, dramaturgische Mitarbeit
Elena Giannotti
Kostüme
Ettore Lombardi
Dramaturgische Beratung
Chiara Bersani, Peggy Olislaegers, Sergio Lo Gatto
Lach-Yoga-Coaching
Monica Gentile
Künstlerische Mitarbeit
Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson
Stimmcoaching
Sandra Soncini
Technische Leitung
Valeria Foti
Tourtechnik
Cosimo Maggini
Assistenz, Recherche
Damien Modolo
Kuratorin, Promotion, Consulting
Lisa Gilardino
Administration, Produktionsleitung
Chiara Fava
Pressebüro
Beatrice Giongo
Eine Produktion von MARCHE TEATRO – Teatro di Rilevante Interesse Culturale, corpoceleste_C.C.00#, European Creative Hub – Französisches Kulturministerium / Maison de la Danse Grant for Biennale de la Danse de Lyon 2018, Grec Festival of Barcelona, Théâtre de Liège (BE), Teatro Municipal do Porto (PT), CENTQUATRE-PARIS, apap – Performing Europe 2020, ein Projekt kofinanziert durch das Creative Europe-Programm der Europäischen Union, Snaporazverein (CH), Theaterfestival Boulevard (NL), Theater Freiburg (DE), La Biennale di Venezia.

Koproduziert von Tanzfabrik Berlin, Centrale Fies (IT), L'arboreto – Teatro Dimora di Mondaino (IT).

Alessandro Sciarroni ist Associated Artist bei CENTQUATRE-PARIS und wird als Künstler*in im Fokus von apap – Performing Europe 2020 unterstützt.
Alessandro
Sciarroni

zählt zu den eigenwilligsten und innovativsten Künstler*innen seiner Generation. Sein Tätigkeitsfeld erstreckt sich von Choreografie über bildende Kunst bis hin zur Erforschung des Theaters selbst. Seine Arbeiten werden auf Tanz- und Theaterfestivals, in Museen und Kunstgalerien weltweit gezeigt. 2019 wurde er auf der Tanzbiennale von Venedig mit dem Goldenen Löwen für sein Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet. Ausgangspunkt seiner Arbeiten ist wie bei Marcel Duchamp eine konzeptuelle Matrix, die er aber in den Theaterraum überträgt und mit Techniken und Erfahrungen aus Tanz, Zirkus oder Sport verknüpft.

Sciarroni interessiert sich für die Obsessionen, die Ängste und die Fragilität des Performens auf der Bühne. Mittels Dauer und Wiederholung führt er die Performer*innen an die Grenzen ihrer körperlichen Belastbarkeit, eröffnet so Einblicke in eine andere zeitliche Dimension und setzt auf Empathie, um den zwischenmenschlichen Aspekt in seinen Arbeiten zu betonen. „Sein Thema ist zwar die Einsamkeit, doch er liebt den emotionalen Austausch zwischen Performer*innen und Publikum“, schreibt die römische Tageszeitung La Repubblica über sein Werk.

alessandrosciarroni.it

 
Loading