Beyond Alienation

Presentations & discussion
Marina Vishmidt (UK) / Kerstin Stakemeier (DE) / Angela Dimitrakaki (GR/UK)
Theory
Marina Vishmidt © Goldsmiths, University of London 
Marina
Vishmidt

is a writer, editor and lecturer at Goldsmiths, University of London, where she convenes a Masters’ in Culture Industry. From 2014-2018, she ran a theory seminar at the Dutch Art Institute. She publishes in academic and other publications on topics related to the political economies of art, politics and philosophy. She is the co-author of Reproducing Autonomy: Work, Money, Crisis and Contemporary Art (with Kerstin Stakemeier) (Mute, 2016), and the forthcoming monograph, Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, 2018).

Kerstin
Stakemeier,

a writer and educator based in Berlin, is a professor of art theory and mediation at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg. She was a researcher at the Jan va Eyck Academy and taught a.o. at Leuphana University, Free University Berlin and the Bauhaus University in Weimar. She is the author of Unbridled Formalism: Devices of an Antimodern Aesthetics (b_books, 2017), of which an English translation is forthcoming with Sternberg Press.

Angela
Dimitrakaki

is a writer and Senior Lecturer in Contemporary Art History and Theory at the University of Edinburgh where she directs the MSc Modern & Contemporary Art. Her scholarly work includes the books Gender, ArtWork and the Global Imperative (2013) and Economy: Art, Production and the Subject in the 21st Century (2015, co-edited with Kirsten Lloyd). Angela is also an award-winning novelist writing in her native Greek; her first novel Αντaρκτική (Antarctica 1997/ revised 2006) is among her works of fiction that address the transformation of subjectivity in contemporary global landscapes.

Marina Vishmidt (UK) / Kerstin Stakemeier (DE) / Angela Dimitrakaki (GR/UK)
Sat06. 
Oct
17.00–21.00/
TQW Halle G

In English

Thu/Fri € 5
Sat € 2
3-Day-Pass € 10

Tickets are available at Kunsthalle Wien. Free admission with TQW Card Gold and Kunsthalle Wien Annual Ticket.

Within the scope of Antarctica. A Symposium on Alienation

Marina Vishmidt: Relatable Alienation – The Logic and History of an Idea

This presentation will intervene on the hypothesis that the role of the artist is distinguished by unalienated labour. This will proceed in three stages and a coda: 1. Outlining the difference between alienation and objectification; 2. What is alienated and what is not alienated about artistic labour?; 3. What is the role of exceptionality in the rule of the capitalist form of value more generally?


Kerstin Stakemeier: 
The Aesthetic Properties of Alienation

In (aesthetic) theories of the twentieth century alienation is thought of as the modern subject’s original sin: it signifies it’s separation from the world it capitalized. But alienation is much more than that: our alienation is our self-property. Kerstin Stakemeier investigates historical and contemporary lineages of aesthetic praxis which expose this self-property to dynamisms of self-expropriation, treating alienation not so much as an original sin but rather as a constitutive privilege.


Angela Dimitrakaki: 
Left with TINA – Alienation and Anti-communism

A number of movements and struggles take as the crux of their politics an “anti” stance, the most visible perhaps among them figured and configured as “anti-capitalism”; contemporary struggles on the left often self-identify as anti-capitalist. This paper will seek to problematise the ideological space (and time) of this “anti” stance by linking it to capitalism’s most successful ideological campaign, itself headed by another“anti”: anti-communism.

Marina
Vishmidt

is a writer, editor and lecturer at Goldsmiths, University of London, where she convenes a Masters’ in Culture Industry. From 2014-2018, she ran a theory seminar at the Dutch Art Institute. She publishes in academic and other publications on topics related to the political economies of art, politics and philosophy. She is the co-author of Reproducing Autonomy: Work, Money, Crisis and Contemporary Art (with Kerstin Stakemeier) (Mute, 2016), and the forthcoming monograph, Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, 2018).

Kerstin
Stakemeier,

a writer and educator based in Berlin, is a professor of art theory and mediation at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg. She was a researcher at the Jan va Eyck Academy and taught a.o. at Leuphana University, Free University Berlin and the Bauhaus University in Weimar. She is the author of Unbridled Formalism: Devices of an Antimodern Aesthetics (b_books, 2017), of which an English translation is forthcoming with Sternberg Press.

Angela
Dimitrakaki

is a writer and Senior Lecturer in Contemporary Art History and Theory at the University of Edinburgh where she directs the MSc Modern & Contemporary Art. Her scholarly work includes the books Gender, ArtWork and the Global Imperative (2013) and Economy: Art, Production and the Subject in the 21st Century (2015, co-edited with Kirsten Lloyd). Angela is also an award-winning novelist writing in her native Greek; her first novel Αντaρκτική (Antarctica 1997/ revised 2006) is among her works of fiction that address the transformation of subjectivity in contemporary global landscapes.

 
Loading

Beyond Alienation

Präsentationen & Podiumsdiskussion
Marina Vishmidt (UK) / Kerstin Stakemeier (DE) / Angela Dimitrakaki (GR/UK)
Theorie
Marina Vishmidt © Goldsmiths, University of London 
Marina
Vishmidt

ist Autorin, Herausgeberin und Dozentin am Goldsmiths, University of London, wo sie einen Masterstudiengang in Culture Industry leitet. Von 2014-2018 leitete sie ein Theorieseminar am Dutch Art Institute. Sie publiziert in akademischen und anderen Kontexten im Bereich politischer Ökonomie, Kunst, Politik und Philosophie. Sie ist Co-Autorin von Reproducing Autonomy: Work, Money, Crisis and Contemporary Art (mit Kerstin Stakemeier) (Mute, 2016) sowie von Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, 2018).

Kerstin
Stakemeier

lebt als Autorin und Dozentin in Berlin. Sie ist Professorin für Kunsttheorie und -vermittlung an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg. Sie war Researcherin an der Jan van Eyck Academy und unterrichtete u. a. an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Sie ist die Autorin von Entgrenzter Formalismus. Verfahren einer antimodernen Ästhetik(b_books, 2017).

Angela
Dimitrakaki

ist Autorin und Dozentin für zeitgenössische Kunstgeschichte und -theorie an der University of Edinburgh, wo sie das Programm MSc Modern & Contemporary Art leitet. Sie ist Autorin von Gender, ArtWork and the Global Imperative (2013) and Economy: Art, Production and the Subject in the 21st Century (2015, hrsg. zusammen mit Kirsten Lloyd). Angela Dimitrakaki ist außerdem mehrfach ausgezeichnete Romanautorin. Einer ihrer ersten Romane Αντaρκτική (Antarctica, 1997, neu durchgesehen 2006), befasst sich mit der Transformation des Subjekts in den globalisierten Lebenswelten der Gegenwart.

Marina Vishmidt (UK) / Kerstin Stakemeier (DE) / Angela Dimitrakaki (GR/UK)
Sa06. 
Okt
17–21 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

In englischer Sprache

Do/Fr € 5 Einheitspreis
Sa € 2 Einheitspreis
3-Tagespass € 10

Tickets an der Abendkasse der Kunsthalle Wien erhältlich. Eintritt frei mit TQW Card Gold und Kunsthalle Jahresticket.

Im Rahmen von Antarktika. Ein Symposium zum Thema Entfremdung

Marina Vishmidt: Relatable Alienation – Die Logik und Geschichte einer Idee

Dieser Vortrag ist eine Problematisierung der These, der zufolge Kunst durch ihren besonderen, nicht-entfremdeten Charakter wesentlich von anderen Formen von Arbeit unterschieden sei. Ausgangspunkte dafür sind: 1. die Rekonstruktion von Marx‘ Unterscheidung zwischen Entfremdung und Vergegenständlichung als Basis für eine Kritik der zeitgenössischen affirmativen Bezugnahmen auf Entfremdung; 2. die Fragestellung was an künstlerischer Arbeit entfremdet ist und was nicht; 3. die Frage nach der gesellschaftlichen Funktion von Exzeptionalität“.


Kerstin Stakemeier: Die Ästhetischen Eigenschaften der Entfremdung

In den ästhetischen Theorien des 20. Jahrhunderts ist Entfremdung als Ursünde des modernen Subjekts konzipiert: Sie bezeichnet seine Trennung von derjenigen Welt, die er kapitalisierte. Aber Entfremdung ist weit mehr als das: Unsere Entfremdung ist das Eigentum an uns selbst. In ihrem Vortrag spürt Kerstin Stakemeier den historischen und zeitgenössischen Verbindungslinien zwischen ästhetischen Praxen nach, die dieses Selbst-Eigentum mit Dynamiken einer möglichen Selbst-Enteignung konfrontieren. Dabei begreift sie Entfremdung weniger als Sünde, denn als konstitutives Privileg.


Angela Dimitrakaki: 
Left with TINA – Entfremdung und Anti-Kommunismus

Wir leben inmitten einer entgrenzten Kultur des Dagegenseins, des Anti. Die prominenteste unter den zeitgenössischen Strategien des Dagegenseins trägt den Namen Anti-Kapitalismus. Dieser Vortrag versucht den ideologischen Horizont jenes „Anti“ zu problematisieren, indem er es mit der historisch erfolgreichsten Kampagne des Kapitalismus in Beziehung setzt, die ihrerseits unter einem Anti firmiert: dem Anti-Kommunismus.

 

Marina
Vishmidt

ist Autorin, Herausgeberin und Dozentin am Goldsmiths, University of London, wo sie einen Masterstudiengang in Culture Industry leitet. Von 2014-2018 leitete sie ein Theorieseminar am Dutch Art Institute. Sie publiziert in akademischen und anderen Kontexten im Bereich politischer Ökonomie, Kunst, Politik und Philosophie. Sie ist Co-Autorin von Reproducing Autonomy: Work, Money, Crisis and Contemporary Art (mit Kerstin Stakemeier) (Mute, 2016) sowie von Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, 2018).

Kerstin
Stakemeier

lebt als Autorin und Dozentin in Berlin. Sie ist Professorin für Kunsttheorie und -vermittlung an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg. Sie war Researcherin an der Jan van Eyck Academy und unterrichtete u. a. an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Sie ist die Autorin von Entgrenzter Formalismus. Verfahren einer antimodernen Ästhetik(b_books, 2017).

Angela
Dimitrakaki

ist Autorin und Dozentin für zeitgenössische Kunstgeschichte und -theorie an der University of Edinburgh, wo sie das Programm MSc Modern & Contemporary Art leitet. Sie ist Autorin von Gender, ArtWork and the Global Imperative (2013) and Economy: Art, Production and the Subject in the 21st Century (2015, hrsg. zusammen mit Kirsten Lloyd). Angela Dimitrakaki ist außerdem mehrfach ausgezeichnete Romanautorin. Einer ihrer ersten Romane Αντaρκτική (Antarctica, 1997, neu durchgesehen 2006), befasst sich mit der Transformation des Subjekts in den globalisierten Lebenswelten der Gegenwart.

 
Loading