Border-Dancing Across Time

Contemporary Reflections on Nyota Inyoka
Labs/Theory
Mon22.
Sat27. 
Mar
Closed event/
TQW Studios

Based on the biography and work of French dancer and choreographer Nyota Inyoka (1896–1971), we will discuss the authorial position of Women of Colour in dance historiographies. Through re-enactments, using notes, sketches, photographs and texts, we will study and explore Inyoka’s choreographic oeuvre. In response to this and in conversation with theoretical positions, we will investigate to what extent ‘contemporary dance’ can be situated within a matrix of colonial modernism even today, because dancers, movement and composition systems and aesthetic principles deemed culturally or ethnically ‘other’ are still being excluded. We will therefore also address the urgent need to decolonise historiographies and archives.

This lab is the second instalment in our research series Imaging otherwise – Invention of the present, which started with Tonica Hunter’s Aesthetics of Resistance in November 2020. Ligia Lewis will contribute to this series in April. Imaging otherwise creates a space for choreographic research and performance, with its eyes set on a political goal and dedicated to the fight against social inequality.

Credits

Participants
The team of Border-Dancing Across Time (Franz Anton Cramer, Sandra Chatterjee, Christina Gillinger-Correa Vivar, Nicole Haitzinger), Amanda Piña, Linda Samaraweerová, Lina Venegas, Eike Wittrock
This lab is a cooperation between the Centre National de la Danse paris (Aide à la recherche et au patrimoine en danse 2020) and the FWF project Border-Dancing Across Time (P 31958) by the Department of Music and Dance Studies at the Paris Lodron University Salzburg.
 
Loading

Border-Dancing Across Time

Contemporary Reflections on Nyota Inyoka
Labore/Theorie
 
Mo22.
Sa27. 
Mär
Geschlossene Veranstaltung/
TQW Studios

Ausgehend von der Biografie und dem Œuvre der französischen Tänzerin und Choreografin Nyota Inyoka (1896–1971) diskutieren wir die auktoriale Positionierung von Women of Colour in der Tanzgeschichtsschreibung. Durch Reenactments auf Basis von Notaten, Skizzen, Fotografien und Texten werden wir uns Inyokas choreografischer Arbeit annähern und sie erforschen. In Resonanz darauf und in Dialog mit theoretischen Positionen stellen wir die Frage, inwiefern „zeitgenössischer Tanz“ bis in die Gegenwart innerhalb der Matrix der kolonialen Moderne zu situieren ist, da er kulturell oder ethnisch als „anders“ markierte Tänzer*innen, Bewegungs- und Kompositionssysteme und ästhetische Prinzipien ausschließt. Dabei wird auch die Dringlichkeit, die Geschichtsschreibung und die Archive zu dekolonisieren, thematisiert werden.

Dieses Labor ist der zweite Teil der Research-Reihe Imagining otherwise – Erfindung der Gegenwart, die im November 2020 mit Tonica Hunters Ästhetiken des Widerstands begonnen hat. Ligia Lewis setzt die Reihe im April fort. Imagining otherwise schafft Platz für Forschung durch und mit Choreografie und Performance, die ein politisches Ziel verfolgt und die zur Überwindung gesellschaftlicher Ungleichheiten beitragen möchte, statt diese zu reproduzieren.

Credits

Teilnehmer*innen
das Team von Border-Dancing Across Time (Franz Anton Cramer, Sandra Chatterjee, Christina Gillinger-Correa Vivar, Nicole Haitzinger), Amanda Piña, Linda Samaraweerová, Lina Venegas, Eike Wittrock
Das Labor ist eine Kooperation mit dem Centre National de la Danse in Paris (Aide à la recherche et au patrimoine en danse 2020) und dem FWF-Projekt Border-Dancing Across Time (P 31958) an der Abteilung für Musik- und Tanzwissenschaft der Paris-Lodron-Universität Salzburg.
 
Loading