Monday: Watch out for the Right

Cláudia Dias (PT) & Pablo Fidalgo Lareo (ES)
Performance
Claudia Dias Monday
© José Caldeira 
Claudia
Dias

is a choreographer, performer and teacher of the Real-Time Composition technique. After completing her studies in performing arts at the Universidade Nova de Lisboa she began her career with the Grupo de Dança de Almada and the artists’ collective Ninho de Víboras. She is currently developing a project designed to extend over seven years, addressing the concept of an absent or precarious future. Monday: Watch out for the Right is the first of seven pieces to be developed each year until 2022; it was first performed at the Kammerspiele in Munich in 2016.

Pablo
Fidalgo Lareo

(born 1984 in Vigo) has written the poetry book La educación física, selected by El Cultural among the five best books of poetry published in 2010 in Spain. In 2012, he has won the Injuve Poetry Award with the book La retirada. His texts have been selected for several anthologies, and they have been translated into Portuguese, French, Polish, English and Persian. As a solo artist he created the performance O estado salvaxe. Espanha 1939 (2013), that had been shown at different festivals in Spain, Portugal and Argentina. Besides, he works as an independent curator and he is consultant for several festivals. Fidalgo Lareo lives and works in Lisbon.

Cláudia Dias (PT) & Pablo Fidalgo Lareo (ES)
Fri02./
Sat03. 
Mar
19.30/
TQW Halle G

In Spanish and Portuguese with German and English supertitles

A boxing match as a bold plea to face the future without fear. Portuguese choreographer Cláudia Dias steps into the ring with Spanish poet Pablo Fidalgo Lareo. She fights with fists, he with words. In twelve rounds they negotiate the global economic crisis. As part of a society that has been knocked out several times before, they will not only spill blood, sweat and tears when they throw arguments at each other, getting ever closer in the process. While Cláudia Dias and her sparring partner, Thai kickboxing coach Jaime Neves, gear up and hit each other with red boxing gloves, a referee recites Pablo Fidalgo Lareo’s texts. Can the fighting spirit of boxing serve as an example for art? The author’s topical subjects – restrictive monetary policy, migration, depression, and unemployment in the EU – are dealt like uppercuts. For the first instalment of the seven-part performance series SEVEN YEARS SEVEN PIECES Cláudia Dias has trained as a professional boxer – now she is always ready for the next blow.

Watch teaser

Credits

Concept and artistic direction
Cláudia Dias
Guest artist
Pablo Fidalgo Lareo
Text
Cláudia Dias, Pablo Fidalgo Lareo
Performance
Cláudia Dias, Jaime Neves, Karas
Outside Eye SEVEN YEARS SEVEN PIECES
Jorge Louraço Figueira
Thai boxing coach
Jaime Neves
Stage and lighting design
Thomas Walgrave
Technichal direction
Nuno Borda de Água
Production
Alkantara
Monday is part of EUROPOLY.
EUROPOLY is a European project for theatre and film by the Goethe-Institut in cooperation with Münchner Kammerspiele, Onassis Cultural-Centre Athens, Sirenos – Vilnius International Theatre Festival, Teatro Maria Matos Lisbon and Tiger Dublin Fringe.
In cooperation with Allianz Cultural Foundation.
Claudia
Dias

is a choreographer, performer and teacher of the Real-Time Composition technique. After completing her studies in performing arts at the Universidade Nova de Lisboa she began her career with the Grupo de Dança de Almada and the artists’ collective Ninho de Víboras. She is currently developing a project designed to extend over seven years, addressing the concept of an absent or precarious future. Monday: Watch out for the Right is the first of seven pieces to be developed each year until 2022; it was first performed at the Kammerspiele in Munich in 2016.

Pablo
Fidalgo Lareo

(born 1984 in Vigo) has written the poetry book La educación física, selected by El Cultural among the five best books of poetry published in 2010 in Spain. In 2012, he has won the Injuve Poetry Award with the book La retirada. His texts have been selected for several anthologies, and they have been translated into Portuguese, French, Polish, English and Persian. As a solo artist he created the performance O estado salvaxe. Espanha 1939 (2013), that had been shown at different festivals in Spain, Portugal and Argentina. Besides, he works as an independent curator and he is consultant for several festivals. Fidalgo Lareo lives and works in Lisbon.

 
Loading

Monday: Watch out for the Right

Cláudia Dias (PT) & Pablo Fidalgo Lareo (ES)
Performance
Boxkampf zwischen Cláudia Dias und Jaime Neve
© Jose Caldeira 
Cláudia
Dias

ist Choreografin, Performerin und Lehrerin der Real-Time-Composition-Technik. Sie begann ihre Karriere nach ihrem Studienabschluss in Performing Arts an der Universidade Nova de Lisboa bei der Grupo de Dança de Almada und beim Künstlerkollektiv Ninho de Víboras. Derzeit arbeitet sie an ihrem auf sieben Jahre angelegten Projekt, das sich der Idee einer abwesenden oder prekären Zukunft stellt. Monday: Watch out for the Right ist das erste der sieben Stücke, die jedes Jahr bis 2022 entstehen; es wurde 2016 in den Münchner Kammerspielen uraufgeführt.

Pablo
Fidalgo Lareo,

geb. 1984 in Vigo, veröffentlicht seit mehreren Jahren Gedichtbände (u. a. La educación física, das 2010 von El Cultural zu den fünf besten Gedichtbänden Spaniens gewählt wurde). Im Jahr 2012 gewann er mit dem Buch La Retirada den Injuve Poetry Award. Seine Texte wurden vielfach für Anthologien ausgewählt und in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Als Solokünstler schuf er die Performance O estado salvaxe. Espanha 1939 (2013), die auf verschiedenen Festivals in Spanien, Portugal und Argentinien gezeigt wurde. Er arbeitet außerdem als unabhängiger Kurator und ist Berater mehrerer Festivals. Fidalgo Lareo lebt und arbeitet in Lissabon.

 
Cláudia Dias (PT) & Pablo Fidalgo Lareo (ES)
Fr02./
Sa03. 
Mär
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

In Spanisch und Portugiesich mit dt. und engl. Übertiteln

Ein Boxkampf als mutiges Plädoyer, der Zukunft ohne Angst entgegenzutreten. Die portugiesische Choreografin Cláudia Dias steigt mit dem spanischen Dichter Pablo Fidalgo Lareo in den Ring. Sie kämpft mit Fäusten, er mit Worten. In zwölf Runden verhandeln sie die Weltwirtschaftskrise. Als Teil einer Gesellschaft, die schon oft auf die Matte geschickt wurde, werden sie nicht nur Blut, Schweiß und Tränen vergießen, wenn sie sich gegenseitig mit Argumenten prügeln und sich dabei immer näher kommen. Während Cláudia Dias und ihr Sparringspartner – Thai-Kickbox-Coach Jaime Neves – in voller Montur mit roten Boxhandschuhen aufeinander eindreschen, rezitiert ein Schiedsrichter Pablo Fidalgo Lareos Texte. Kann der Kampfgeist des Boxens ein Vorbild für die Kunst sein? Wie Kinnhaken treffen die Themen des Autors den Kern der Zeit und handeln von restriktiver Geldpolitik, Migration, Depression und Arbeitslosigkeit in der EU. Für den ersten Teil der siebenteiligen Performanceserie SEVEN YEARS SEVEN PIECES lernte Cláudia Dias professionell boxen – nun ist sie stets auf den nächsten Schlag gefasst.

Teaser ansehen

Credits

Konzept und künstlerische Leitung
Cláudia Dias
Gastkünstler
Pablo Fidalgo Lareo
Text
Cláudia Dias, Pablo Fidalgo Lareo
Performer_innen
Cláudia Dias, Jaime Neves, Karas
Outside Eye SEVEN YEARS SEVEN PIECES
Jorge Louraço Figueira
Thai-Boxing-Coach
Jaime Neves
Bühne und Lichtdesign
Thomas Walgrave
Technische Leitung
Nuno Borda de Água
Produktion
Alkantara
Eine Produktion von Alkantara in Koproduktion mit Alkantara Festival und Noorderzon Performing Arts Festival Groningen (mit Unterstützung von NXTSTP/Kulturprogramm der Europäischen Union); Goethe-Institut; Maria Matos Teatro Municipal; Teatro Municipal do Porto. Mit Unterstützung von Fundação GDA and Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian. Unterstützt von EUROPOLY, Goethe-Institut in Kollaboration mit Münchner Kammerspiele, Onassis Cultural-Centre/Athen, Sirenos – Vilnius International Theatre Festival, Maria Matos Teatro Municipal/Lissabon, Tiger Dublin Fringe, Dublin. SEVEN YEARS SEVEN PIECES wird unterstützt vom Stadtrat von Almada (Portugal) Alkantara, vom Portugiesischen Ministerium für Kultur DGArtes und vom Rathaus von Lissabon.
Cláudia
Dias

ist Choreografin, Performerin und Lehrerin der Real-Time-Composition-Technik. Sie begann ihre Karriere nach ihrem Studienabschluss in Performing Arts an der Universidade Nova de Lisboa bei der Grupo de Dança de Almada und beim Künstlerkollektiv Ninho de Víboras. Derzeit arbeitet sie an ihrem auf sieben Jahre angelegten Projekt, das sich der Idee einer abwesenden oder prekären Zukunft stellt. Monday: Watch out for the Right ist das erste der sieben Stücke, die jedes Jahr bis 2022 entstehen; es wurde 2016 in den Münchner Kammerspielen uraufgeführt.

Pablo
Fidalgo Lareo,

geb. 1984 in Vigo, veröffentlicht seit mehreren Jahren Gedichtbände (u. a. La educación física, das 2010 von El Cultural zu den fünf besten Gedichtbänden Spaniens gewählt wurde). Im Jahr 2012 gewann er mit dem Buch La Retirada den Injuve Poetry Award. Seine Texte wurden vielfach für Anthologien ausgewählt und in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Als Solokünstler schuf er die Performance O estado salvaxe. Espanha 1939 (2013), die auf verschiedenen Festivals in Spanien, Portugal und Argentinien gezeigt wurde. Er arbeitet außerdem als unabhängiger Kurator und ist Berater mehrerer Festivals. Fidalgo Lareo lebt und arbeitet in Lissabon.

 
 
Loading