Climatic Dances

Endangered Human Movements Vol. 5
Amanda Piña / nadaproductions
Dance
© nadaproductions 
Amanda
Piña

is a Mexican-Chilean-Austrian choreographer, dancer and cultural worker living between Vienna and Mexico City. Her choreographic work is concerned with the decolonisation of art, focusing on the political and social power of dance, understood as a social-environmental movement.

Her performances are contemporary rituals for temporary dismantling the ideological separations between modern and traditional, the human, the animal and the vegetal, nature and culture. Amanda Piña is interested in making art beyond the idea of a product and in developing new frameworks for the creation of sensual experiences.

nadaproductions.at

Amanda Piña / nadaproductions
Thu26.
Sat28. 
Mar
19.30 /
TQW Halle G

+++ Event cancelled +++

More info

„These dances are in fact creative social devices to visualize and intervene into socio-environmental relations, stressing the interdependence between all life forms in this mountainous region.“ — Alessandro Questa

Climatic Dances is the name of the fifth volume of the Endangered Human Movements*, a long-term research carried out by choreographer Amanda Piña on the current loss of planetary cultural and biological diversity. Inspired in two dances from the Highlands of Puebla in Mexico, danced by Masewal people, in a context of climate change and mining exploitation. These two dances Tipekajomeh and Wewentiyo constitute the beginning of a trip towards the depths of the mountain and towards the re-enchantment of that which modern science called geology. 

* Endangered Human Movements is the title of a long-term project, started in the year 2014, focusing on human movement practices, which have been cultivated for centuries all over the world.

Credits

Artistic direction, choreography
Amanda Piña
Choreography, transmission
Juan Carlos Palma
Research, theory
Alessandro Questa, Amanda Piña, Juan Carlos Palma
Video art, video installation
Amanda Piña
Art & stage design
Michel Jimenez
Performers (film)
Juan Carlos Palma, Alessandro Questa, Studierende der National School of Folkloric Dance of Mexico (ENDF)
Live performance
Amanda Piña, Juan Carlos Palma, Cristina Sandino
Live music
Christian Müller
Costumes (film)
Danza de Tejoneros y de Negritos, Privatsammlung Alessandro Questa, Axel Giovanni Castañeda Morales und Ariana Castellanos
Mapping
Andres Molina
Technical direction
Lukas Heistinger
Production
Isabella Strehlau
Costume production
Isolde Mayer
International distribution, tour management
Something Great (Berlin)
Senior advisor
Marie-Christine Barrata-Dragono
Management
Angela Vadori (SMart)
A coproduction by
nadaproductions and Museo Universitario el Chopo (Mexico), Tanzquartier Wien and deSingel (Antwerp). Funded by FONCA Programa Nacional de Creadores Escénicos, Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs (Vienna) and the Arts and Culture division of the BKA Austrian Federal Chancellery. With the support from the BKA, Mexican Embassy in Austria, The National School of Folkloric Dance of Mexico, DAS THIRD – Amsterdam University of the Arts.
Amanda
Piña

is a Mexican-Chilean-Austrian choreographer, dancer and cultural worker living between Vienna and Mexico City. Her choreographic work is concerned with the decolonisation of art, focusing on the political and social power of dance, understood as a social-environmental movement.

Her performances are contemporary rituals for temporary dismantling the ideological separations between modern and traditional, the human, the animal and the vegetal, nature and culture. Amanda Piña is interested in making art beyond the idea of a product and in developing new frameworks for the creation of sensual experiences.

nadaproductions.at

 
Loading

Climatic Dances

Endangered Human Movements Vol. 5
Amanda Piña / nadaproductions
Tanz
© nadaproductions 
Amanda
Piña

ist eine mexikanisch-chilenisch-österreichische Choreografin, Tänzerin und Kulturarbeiterin, sie lebt zwischen Wien und Mexiko-Stadt. Ihre Choreografien thematisieren die Entkolonialisierung von Kunst, der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der politischen und sozialen Kraft von Tanz, den Piña als sozio-ökologische Bewegung versteht.

Ihre Performances sind zeitgenössische Rituale, um die ideologischen Trennungen zwischen Moderne und Tradition, Mensch, Tier und Pflanzen, Natur und Kultur aufzuheben. Neben ihrem Interesse, Kunst jenseits der Idee eines Produkts zu entwickeln, steht die Suche nach neuen Rahmenbedingungen für die Schaffung sinnlicher Erfahrungen im Zentrum ihrer Arbeit.

nadaproductions.at

Amanda Piña / nadaproductions
Do26.
Sa28. 
Mär
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

+++ Veranstaltung abgesagt +++

Weitere Informationen

„These dances are in fact creative social devices to visualize and intervene into socio-environmental relations, stressing the interdependence between all life forms in this mountainous region.“ — Alessandro Questa

Climatic Dances ist der fünfte Teil einer Langzeitrecherche* von Choreografin Amanda Piña zum gegenwärtigen Verlust der kulturellen und biologischen Vielfalt des Planeten. Den Ausgangspunkt bilden zwei Tänze aus dem Hochland von Puebla in Mexiko, die vom Volk der Masewal im Kontext von Klimawandel und exzessivem Bergbau getanzt werden. Die beiden Tänze Tipekajomeh und Wewentiyo stehen am Anfang einer Reise in die Tiefen der Berge. Was die moderne Wissenschaft als Geologie bezeichnet, soll wieder magisch aufgeladen werden.

* Endangered Human Movements ist ein seit 2014 laufendes Langzeitprojekt, das sich mit menschlichen Bewegungspraktiken beschäftigt, die seit Jahrhunderten auf der ganzen Welt kultiviert werden.

Credits

Künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie
Amanda Piña
Choreografie, Übertragung
Juan Carlos Palma
Research, Theorie
Alessandro Questa, Amanda Piña, Juan Carlos Palma
Videokunst, Videoinstallation
Amanda Piña
Art Design, Bühnenbild
Michel Jimenez
Performance (Film)
Juan Carlos Palma, Alessandro Questa, Studierende der National School of Folkloric Dance of Mexico (ENDF)
Liveperformance
Amanda Piña, Juan Carlos Palma, Cristina Sandino
Livemusik
Christian Müller
Kostüme (Film)
Danza de Tejoneros y de Negritos, Privatsammlung Alessandro Questa, Axel Giovanni Castañeda Morales und Ariana Castellanos
Mapping
Andres Molina
Technische Leitung
Lukas Heistinger
Produktion
Isabella Strehlau
Kostümproduktion
Isolde Mayer
Internationale Distribution, Tourmanagement
Something Great (Berlin)
Senior Advisor
Marie-Christine Barrata-Dragono
Management
Angela Vadori (SMart)
Eine Produktion von nadaproductions mit Museo Universitario el Chopo, Mexiko-Stadt, Tanzquartier Wien, deSingel, Antwerpen. Mit Unterstützung von FONCA Programa Nacional de Creadores Escénicos, Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, Bundeskanzleramt Kunst und Kultur, Mexikanische Botschaft in Österreich, The National School of Folkloric Dance of Mexico, DAS THIRD – Amsterdam University of the Arts. Gefördert von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien im Rahmen einer Konzeptförderung 2018–2021.
Amanda
Piña

ist eine mexikanisch-chilenisch-österreichische Choreografin, Tänzerin und Kulturarbeiterin, sie lebt zwischen Wien und Mexiko-Stadt. Ihre Choreografien thematisieren die Entkolonialisierung von Kunst, der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der politischen und sozialen Kraft von Tanz, den Piña als sozio-ökologische Bewegung versteht.

Ihre Performances sind zeitgenössische Rituale, um die ideologischen Trennungen zwischen Moderne und Tradition, Mensch, Tier und Pflanzen, Natur und Kultur aufzuheben. Neben ihrem Interesse, Kunst jenseits der Idee eines Produkts zu entwickeln, steht die Suche nach neuen Rahmenbedingungen für die Schaffung sinnlicher Erfahrungen im Zentrum ihrer Arbeit.

nadaproductions.at

 
Loading