Contemporary Dance Between Body and Language

Alja Lobnik
Theory
© Nada Žgank 
Alja
Lobnik

is a PhD candidate at the Humanities and Social Sciences interdisciplinary programme at the University of Ljubljana. She worked as a publicist and critic for Radio Študent’s Culture and Humanities Redaction, and for the Bunker’s Kriterij.si platform. Her texts have also been published in various other magazines and publications (Amfiteater, Dialogi, Maska, Šum, etc.). For several years, she co-organised the Sic! theatre seminar, which focused on dance practices and contributed to a reflection on the ‘young female critic’ syntagma through self-referentiality in the field of theatre criticism.

Alja Lobnik is the Glej theatre programme editor and has been cooperating with Nagib na oder in Maribor. She is the Maska – Performing Art Journal co-editor and founder of web page Neodvisni. She is also a board member of City of Women with whom she cooperated on various occasions as curator and lecturer.

Alja Lobnik
Sat16. 
Nov
16.00/
TQW Studios

In English

The lecture is part of the panel discussion Words Don’t Come Easy.

By presenting a short genealogy of the relationship between body and language, I will centre my lecture on dance practices that started to play with the dismantling of the ontological relationship between movement and body, especially in conceptual dance in the 90s. In its beginnings, contemporary dance established itself namely as an autonomous aesthetical form, with the body as the origin of movement that needs no intermediaries the way other art forms do, that needs no language or object, and therefore positions itself even in a certain ontological pole position. However, with the rise of conceptual dance, a schism occurred in the field of contemporary dance: a clash between pure dance (where one dances), and the so-called conceptual dance.

People began using the term conceptual dance almost pejoratively, in the sense that it deviated from the definition of dance as pure movement in time and space – often, dancing bodies just stopped still and spoke. Conceptual dance, however, doesn’t stop dealing with the body but rather acknowledges the body to be a result of diverse forces (of power and of discourse), as a problem, and as a field to find new ways of representation. In this sense, conceptual dance could be considered in terms of the material turn in philosophy, fundamentally marked by what Deleuze has called the conjunction AND. Conceptual dance starts to employ different tools to those that are supposedly immanent in the body: language and theory, history and historicity, etc. In this respect, I will be especially interested in the new ontology of body and language that always thinks in dualities, that thinks of language as the capturing of experience, codifying and normalising the experience so that it creates a communicable form, and that thinks of language as the ‘singularity of experience’ or a form of affective movement, dependent on the given situation and performed between affect and body.

Alja
Lobnik

is a PhD candidate at the Humanities and Social Sciences interdisciplinary programme at the University of Ljubljana. She worked as a publicist and critic for Radio Študent’s Culture and Humanities Redaction, and for the Bunker’s Kriterij.si platform. Her texts have also been published in various other magazines and publications (Amfiteater, Dialogi, Maska, Šum, etc.). For several years, she co-organised the Sic! theatre seminar, which focused on dance practices and contributed to a reflection on the ‘young female critic’ syntagma through self-referentiality in the field of theatre criticism.

Alja Lobnik is the Glej theatre programme editor and has been cooperating with Nagib na oder in Maribor. She is the Maska – Performing Art Journal co-editor and founder of web page Neodvisni. She is also a board member of City of Women with whom she cooperated on various occasions as curator and lecturer.

 
Loading

Contemporary Dance Between Body and Language

Alja Lobnik
Theorie
© Nada Žgank 
Alja
Lobnik

ist Doktorandin am interdisziplinären Programm der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Ljubljana. Sie arbeitete als Publizistin und Kritikerin für Radio Študents Culture and Humanities Redaction und für die Plattform Kriterij.si von Bunker, ihre Texte wurden auch in verschiedenen anderen Magazinen und Veröffentlichungen (Amfiteater, Dialogi, Maska, Šum usw.) publiziert. Sie war mehrere Jahre lang Mitorganisatorin des Theaterseminars Sic!, das sich auf Tanzpraktiken fokussierte und mit Selbstreferenzialität zu einer Reflexion über das Syntagma der „jungen Kritikerin“ im Bereich der Theaterkritik beitrug.

Alja Lobnik ist Redakteurin des Theaterprogramms Glej und hat mit Nagib na oder in Maribor zusammengearbeitet. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von Maska – Performing Art Journal und Gründerin der Website Neodvisni, die sich auf die Reflexion zeitgenössischer Kunst konzentriert. Zudem ist sie Vorstandsmitglied von City of Women und hat bei verschiedenen Gelegenheiten als deren Kuratorin und Dozentin gearbeitet.

Alja Lobnik
Sa16. 
Nov
16 Uhr/
TQW Studios

In englischer Sprache

Der Vortrag findet im Rahmen der Paneldiskussion Words Don’t Come Easy statt.

Aufbauend auf einer kurzen Genealogie der Beziehung zwischen Körper und Sprache konzentriert sich diese Lecture auf eine Tanzpraxis, die die ontologische Beziehung zwischen Bewegung und Körper dekonstruiert, insbesondere den konzeptuellen Tanz der 1990er-Jahre. Der zeitgenössische Tanz hat sich in seinen Anfängen nämlich als eigenständige ästhetische Form mit dem Körper als Bewegungsursprung etabliert, der im Gegensatz zu anderen Kunstformen keine anderen Medien benötigt, der keine Sprache und kein Objekt braucht und damit sogar eine gewisse ontologische Leitposition einnimmt. Mit dem Aufkommen des konzeptuellen Tanzes trat im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Tanzes eine Spaltung auf: ein Konflikt zwischen reinem Tanz (wo man tanzt) und dem sogenannten konzeptuellen Tanz.

Der Begriff des konzeptuellen Tanzes wurde fast abwertend verwendet, abweichend von der Definition des Tanzes als reine Bewegung in Raum und Zeit – tanzende Körper hielten nämlich oft einfach still und sprachen. Konzeptueller Tanz hört jedoch nicht auf, sich mit dem Körper zu befassen, sondern nimmt den Körper als Ergebnis verschiedener Kräfte (Macht und Diskurs), als Problem und als Feld, um neue Wege der Repräsentation zu finden. Konzeptueller Tanz könnte im Sinne der materiellen Wende in der Philosophie betrachtet werden, die von dem, was Deleuze die Konjunktion UND nennt, grundlegend geprägt ist. Konzeptueller Tanz wendet Werkzeuge an, die über die dem Körper angeblich immanenten hinausgehen: Sprache und Theorie, Geschichte und Geschichtlichkeit usw. Der Vortrag setzt sich vor allem mit der neuen Ontologie von Körper und Sprache auseinander, die immer in Dualitäten denkt, Sprache als das Erfassen von Erfahrung, Kodifizierung und Normalisierung der Erfahrung, sodass sie eine kommunizierbare Form erhält, und Sprache als „Singularität der Erfahrung“ oder eine Form affektiver Bewegung, die von der gegebenen Situation abhängt und zwischen Affekt und Körper performt wird.

Alja
Lobnik

ist Doktorandin am interdisziplinären Programm der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Ljubljana. Sie arbeitete als Publizistin und Kritikerin für Radio Študents Culture and Humanities Redaction und für die Plattform Kriterij.si von Bunker, ihre Texte wurden auch in verschiedenen anderen Magazinen und Veröffentlichungen (Amfiteater, Dialogi, Maska, Šum usw.) publiziert. Sie war mehrere Jahre lang Mitorganisatorin des Theaterseminars Sic!, das sich auf Tanzpraktiken fokussierte und mit Selbstreferenzialität zu einer Reflexion über das Syntagma der „jungen Kritikerin“ im Bereich der Theaterkritik beitrug.

Alja Lobnik ist Redakteurin des Theaterprogramms Glej und hat mit Nagib na oder in Maribor zusammengearbeitet. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von Maska – Performing Art Journal und Gründerin der Website Neodvisni, die sich auf die Reflexion zeitgenössischer Kunst konzentriert. Zudem ist sie Vorstandsmitglied von City of Women und hat bei verschiedenen Gelegenheiten als deren Kuratorin und Dozentin gearbeitet.

 
Loading