Dancing’s Demons

Elizabeth Ward
Dance & Performance
© Elodie Grethen 
Elizabeth
Ward

is a choreographer and performer currently living in Vienna. Previously, she has lived and worked in New York City, Athens, Brussels, and Portland, Oregon. Her work explores the collective histories of dance lineages accumulated in a dancer’s muscle memory as a living archaeology.

Her most recent solo Un-dedication was commissioned by the steirischer herbst festival 2019. As a performer, she has collaborated and participated in the works of Frédéric Gies, Michikazu Matsune, Manuel Pelmuș, DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Jennifer Lacey, Michael Turinsky, and Anne Juren, among others. Elizabeth received her BA from Bennington College in Vermont, where she studied Dance and Ecology.

Elizabeth Ward
Fri31.+
Jan
Sat01. 
Feb
21 /
TQW Halle G

40 minutes

In case of sold-out performances waiting numbers for remaining tickets are handed out at the evening box office opening one hour before showtime.

Double bill ticket together with stuck:
€ 25/20

„Dance shares with speculative fiction a serious flirtation with history made flesh, made world through invention and structural mutation. Arising from a beautifully wounded present in search of something else, somewhere else, not utopia, and yet.” — Jenn Joy

Dancing’s Demons looks towards the complicated political histories of early Modern Dance and its resonance on the present. The contemporary dance theatre is re-imaged as a haunted ground in which the themes of the ecstatic and the demonic in 1920’s Ausdrucktanz are re-activated while questioning the ideological National narratives that Early Modern Dance was wrestling with.

In her autobiography Mary Wigman wrote, “after a dance is performed, it is dead.” The witches, demon machines, and ecstasies of Ausdrucktanz are not resuscitated in order to celebrate them. Rather Dancing’s Demons intuits for the “something to be done” that lives in uncanny folds, such as the one perceived between experimental dance of the 1920’s and the 2020’s.

Credits

Concept, choreography
Elizabeth Ward
Performance
Elizabeth Ward, Ana Threat, Julia Zastava
Sound
Ana Threat
Visuals
Julia Zastava
Outside Eye
Mzamo Nondlwana
Mix & master
Dino Spiluttini
Documentation, support
Özgür Sevinç
A coproduction by Elizabeth Ward/vitus and Tanzquartier Wien. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna. Supported by nadaLokal.
Elizabeth
Ward

is a choreographer and performer currently living in Vienna. Previously, she has lived and worked in New York City, Athens, Brussels, and Portland, Oregon. Her work explores the collective histories of dance lineages accumulated in a dancer’s muscle memory as a living archaeology.

Her most recent solo Un-dedication was commissioned by the steirischer herbst festival 2019. As a performer, she has collaborated and participated in the works of Frédéric Gies, Michikazu Matsune, Manuel Pelmuș, DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Jennifer Lacey, Michael Turinsky, and Anne Juren, among others. Elizabeth received her BA from Bennington College in Vermont, where she studied Dance and Ecology.

 
Loading

Dancing’s Demons

Elizabeth Ward
Tanz & Performance
© Elodie Grethen 
Elizabeth
Ward

ist Choreografin und Performerin und lebt zurzeit in Wien. Davor war sie in New York, Athen, Brüssel und Portland tätig. Ihre Arbeit erforscht die kollektiven Geschichten einer Genealogie des Tanzes, die im Muskelgedächtnis von Tänzer*innen als lebendige Archäologie eingeschrieben sind.

Ihre jüngste Arbeit Un-dedication realisierte sie für den steirischen herbst 2019. Als Performerin trat sie u. a. in Arbeiten von Frédéric Gies, Michikazu Matsune, Manuel Pelmuș, DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Jennifer Lacey, Michael Turinsky und Anne Juren auf. Ihren Bachelor of Arts machte Elizabeth Ward am Bennington College in Vermont, wo sie Tanz und Ökologie studierte.

Elizabeth Ward
Fr31.+
Jan
Sa01. 
Feb
21 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

40 Minuten

Bei ausverkauften Vorstellungen vergeben wir ab einer Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn Wartenummern für Restkarten an der Abendkassa.

Doppelticket mit stuck:
€ 25/20

„Dance shares with speculative fiction a serious flirtation with history made flesh, made world through invention and structural mutation. Arising from a beautifully wounded present in search of something else, somewhere else, not utopia, and yet.” — Jenn Joy

Dancing’s Demons befasst sich mit den komplexen politischen (Geister-)Geschichten des frühen Modern Dance und spürt deren Auswirkungen bis in die Gegenwart nach. In einer Art Heimsuchung des zeitgenössischen Tanzes konfrontiert Choreografin Elizabeth Ward die Pathosformeln des Ausdruckstanzes der 1920er-Jahre mit den ideologisch-nationalen Narrativen jener Zeit.

„Nachdem ein Tanz aufgeführt wurde, ist er tot“, notierte Mary Wigman in ihrer Autobiografie. Dancing’s Demons lässt die Hexen, Teufelsmaschinen und Ekstasen des Ausdruckstanzes wiederauferstehen. Doch nicht um sie abzufeiern. Vielmehr geht es darum, Handlungsmöglichkeiten aufzuzeigen, die sich in unheimlichen Verwerfungen wie jenen zwischen dem experimentellen Tanz der 1920er-Jahre und dem Heute verstecken.

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie
Elizabeth Ward
Performance
Elizabeth Ward, Ana Threat, Julia Zastava
Sound
Ana Threat
Visuals
Julia Zastava
Outside Eye
Mzamo Nondlwana
Mixing, Mastering
Dino Spiluttini
Dokumentation, Unterstützung
Özgür Sevinç
Eine Koproduktion von Elizabeth Ward / vitus und Tanzquartier Wien. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien. Mit Unterstützung von nadaLokal.
Elizabeth
Ward

ist Choreografin und Performerin und lebt zurzeit in Wien. Davor war sie in New York, Athen, Brüssel und Portland tätig. Ihre Arbeit erforscht die kollektiven Geschichten einer Genealogie des Tanzes, die im Muskelgedächtnis von Tänzer*innen als lebendige Archäologie eingeschrieben sind.

Ihre jüngste Arbeit Un-dedication realisierte sie für den steirischen herbst 2019. Als Performerin trat sie u. a. in Arbeiten von Frédéric Gies, Michikazu Matsune, Manuel Pelmuș, DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Jennifer Lacey, Michael Turinsky und Anne Juren auf. Ihren Bachelor of Arts machte Elizabeth Ward am Bennington College in Vermont, wo sie Tanz und Ökologie studierte.

 
Loading