DANZA Y FRONTERA

Endangered Human Movements Vol. 4
Amanda Piña (CL/MX/AT) / nadaproductions
Dance
© Hubert Marz 
Amanda
Piña

is a Mexican-Chilean-Austrian choreographer, dancer and cultural worker living in Vienna. Her choreographic work is concerned with the decolonization of art, focusing on the political and social power of movement, introducing non-western references and perspectives in contemporary performance.

Amanda Piña is interested in making art beyond the idea of a product and in developing new frameworks for the creation of and encounter with artistic aesthetic experiences. She dances among other in pieces by DD Dorvillier or Christine Gaigg.

nadaproductions.at

 
Fri28. 
Sep
17.00–18.00/
TQW Studios
Attend free of charge
Educational

Open Rehearsal

DANZA Y FRONTERA

Educational

Join the open rehearsal of DANZA Y FRONTERA to get first insights into Amanda Piña's new big show...

Amanda Piña (CL/MX/AT) / nadaproductions
Thu11.
Sat13. 
Oct
19.30/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Thu 11. Oct
  • Fri 12. Oct
  • Sat 13. Oct
€ 20/15/10

“When I saw the dance for the first time in a youtube video I said to myself, something very strong must happen to these men in order for them to move like this.” — Leonor Maldonado, filmmaker

DANZA Y FRONTERA is the latest work in the series Endangered Human Movements and it is based on a dance that arises at the border between Mexico and the US. The dance from the neighbourhood of El Ejido Veinte of Matamoros, Tamaulipas (Mexico), is performed today in a context of extreme violence related to a border where narcotraffic, militarization, and cheap labour industries meet. The dance has its roots in an ancient pre-hispanic dance form that was later used by the Spanish Crown (Casa de Austria/Habsburg) to develop the conquest of Mexico as a “danza de conquista”, a conquest dance. It continued to transform itself till today and it can be understood as a form of resistance to colonial and later neoliberal forces. A contemporary pop-cultural appropriation in which indigenous practices, colonial narratives, Hip Hop culture and indigenous mysticism resonate.

DANZA Y FRONTERA explores this border choreography and brings its protagonists to Vienna in the context of the advancement of “Fortress Europe”. As border subjects, the performers inhabit a place in between, understanding its power and limitations, moving beyond all notions of borders be they cultural, national or aesthetic.

 

Credits

Artistic direction, choreography
Amanda Piña
Choreography, teaching
Rodrigo de la Torre
Research, performance
Alma Quintana, Juan Carlos Palma, Alberto Montes, Paula Chaves
Performance
Matteo Marziano Graziano, Daphna Horenczyk, Dafne Moreno, Cristina Sandino, Antonio Raith, Dante Murillo
Research, theory
Nicole Haitzinger
Music
Christian Müller, Edgar Uriel Soria
Technical director
Szymon Olszowski
Lights
Victor Duran
Video during performance
Amanda Piña, Susana Ojeda, Hubert Marz
Costume
La mata del veinte/Julia Trybula
Video and photo documentation
Susana Ojeda, Hubert Marz – Estudio el Gozo
Head of production
Angela Vadori
Production assistance
Kira Koplin
PR
Simon Hajós
Production
nadaproductions
A co-production by nadaproductions and Tanzquartier Wien. With support from the National School of Folkloric Dance of Mexico, INBA, National Institute of Fine Arts Mexico, Diplomado “Como Encender Un Fosforo”, Alma Quintana, University Museum of Contemporary Art of Mexico, MUAC, Goethe Institut Mexiko, Museo Universitario del Chopo, the Mexican Embassy in Austria, ImPulsTanz. And with support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Amanda
Piña

is a Mexican-Chilean-Austrian choreographer, dancer and cultural worker living in Vienna. Her choreographic work is concerned with the decolonization of art, focusing on the political and social power of movement, introducing non-western references and perspectives in contemporary performance.

Amanda Piña is interested in making art beyond the idea of a product and in developing new frameworks for the creation of and encounter with artistic aesthetic experiences. She dances among other in pieces by DD Dorvillier or Christine Gaigg.

nadaproductions.at

 
Fri28. 
Sep
17.00–18.00/
TQW Studios
Attend free of charge
Educational

Open Rehearsal

DANZA Y FRONTERA

Educational

Join the open rehearsal of DANZA Y FRONTERA to get first insights into Amanda Piña's new big show...

 
Loading

DANZA Y FRONTERA

Endangered Human Movements Vol. 4
Amanda Piña (CL/MX/AT) / nadaproductions
Tanz
© Hubert Marz 
Amanda
Piña

ist eine mexikanisch-chilenisch-österreichische Choreografin, Tänzerin und Kulturarbeiterin, die in Wien lebt. Ihre choreografische Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Entkolonialisierung von Kunst, wobei sie sich auf die politische und soziale Kraft der Bewegung konzentriert und nichtwestliche Referenzen und Perspektiven in zeitgenössische Performances einbringt.

Neben ihrem Interesse, Kunst ohne reinen Produktwert zu entwickeln, steht im Zentrum ihrer Arbeit die Suche nach neuen Rahmenbedingungen für die Schaffung von und die Begegnung mit künstlerisch-ästhetischen Erfahrungen. Als Tänzerin war Amanda Piña bereits in Stücken von DD Dorvillier, Christine Gaigg u. a. zu sehen.

nadaproductions.at

Amanda Piña (CL/MX/AT) / nadaproductions
Do11.
Sa13. 
Okt
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

„Diese Arbeit ist denjenigen gewidmet, die den Mut haben, sich zu bewegen, zu denen, deren Körper Grenzen tragen.“ — Amanda Piña

DANZA Y FRONTERA ist die jüngste Arbeit aus der Serie Endangered Human Movements und basiert auf einem Tanz, der an der Grenze zwischen Mexiko und den USA entstanden ist. Der Tanz aus der Nachbarschaft El Ejido Veinte von Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexiko, wird heute in einem Kontext von extremer Gewalt im Zusammenhang mit Drogenhandel, Militarisierung und Billiglohnindustrien aufgeführt. Er geht auf eine uralte prähispanische Tanzform zurück, den die spanische Krone (Casa de Austria/Habsburg) bei der Eroberung Mexikos als „danza de conquista“ (Tanz der Eroberung) einsetzte. Bis heute transformierte sich die Choreografie immer weiter und kann als eine Form des Widerstands gegen koloniale und später neoliberale Kräfte gesehen werden. Eine zeitgenössische popkulturelle Aneignung, in der indigene Praktiken, koloniale Erzählungen, Hip-Hop-Kultur und Mystik weiter zusammenwirken.

DANZA Y FRONTERA untersucht diese Grenzchoreografie und bringt ihre Protagonist_innen im Kontext des Voranschreitens der „Festung Europa“ nach Wien. Als Grenzsubjekte leben die Performer_innen in einem Dazwischen. Sie sind sich der Macht und der Einschränkungen dieser Situation bewusst und navigieren jenseits aller Begriffe von Grenze, seien diese kulturell, national oder ästhetisch.

Credits

Choreografie, Regie
Amanda Piña
Choreografie, Unterricht
Rodrigo de la Torre
Research, Performance
Alma Quintana, Juan Carlos Palma, Alberto Montes, Paula Chaves
Performance
Rodrigo de la Torre, Matteo Marziano Graziano, Daphna Horenczyk, Dafne Moreno, Cristina Sandino, Antonio Raith, Dante Murillo
Research, Theorie
Nicole Haitzinger
Bewegungsstudien Feldenkrais
Joy Ackwonú
Technische Koordination
Szymon Olszowski
Musik
Christian Müller, Edgar Uriel Soria
Licht
Victor Duran
Video in der Performance
Amanda Piña, Susana Ojeda, Hubert Marz
Kostüme
La mata del veinte / Julia Trybula
Video- und Fotodokumentation
Susana Ojeda, Hubert Marz – estudio elgozo
Produktionsleitung
Angela Vadori
PR
Simon Hajós
Produktionsassistenz
Kira Koplin
Volunteer
Hannah Lejet
Produktion in Mexiko
Alma Quitana, Amanda Piña, Juan Carlos Palma
Eine Produktion von nadaproductions in Koproduktion mit dem Tanzquartier Wien. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich, von ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival, Österreichische Botschaft in Mexiko, Mexikanische Botschaft in Österreich, Escuela Nacional De Danza Folklorica de Mexico, Diplomado Como Encender un Fosforo – Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes (INBA), Museo Universitario de Arte Contemporáneo (MUAC), Museo Universitario del Chopo.
Amanda
Piña

ist eine mexikanisch-chilenisch-österreichische Choreografin, Tänzerin und Kulturarbeiterin, die in Wien lebt. Ihre choreografische Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Entkolonialisierung von Kunst, wobei sie sich auf die politische und soziale Kraft der Bewegung konzentriert und nichtwestliche Referenzen und Perspektiven in zeitgenössische Performances einbringt.

Neben ihrem Interesse, Kunst ohne reinen Produktwert zu entwickeln, steht im Zentrum ihrer Arbeit die Suche nach neuen Rahmenbedingungen für die Schaffung von und die Begegnung mit künstlerisch-ästhetischen Erfahrungen. Als Tänzerin war Amanda Piña bereits in Stücken von DD Dorvillier, Christine Gaigg u. a. zu sehen.

nadaproductions.at

 
Loading