The Ecstatic Body

Coupé Décalé (BE) & Kopf Hoch / Simon Mayer (AT/BE)
TQW Explore
Ann Veronica Janssens, Blue, Red and Yellow, 2001. © Pascual Mercé courtesy EACC Castello 
Coupé
Décalé

invites artists, theorists and audiences to exchange and engage in a dialogue over a selection of works and topics developed during different cycles. The selection pays particular attention to movement, body and gestures in the context of aesthetic, cultural and/or social strategies. The project proposes a dialogue between the local emerging artistic scene and established artists by putting their works in resonance and by occasionally inviting them to collaborations and/or creations in situ. Regarding itself as a nomadic practice, Coupé Décalé invests in a diversity of spaces – artist’s studios, theaters, art centers, walls, gardens, spaces for creation and alternative lifestyles.

Kopf
Hoch

is an association founded by Simon Mayer representing a group of collaborating artists, technicians and cultural workers, who have been working more or less constantly with Simon Mayer. Besides creating and touring, the goal is to actively shape the scene in Vienna and Austria and bring home new ways of thinking and working from abroad. Kopf Hoch wants to enable sustainable working conditions and share their methods with others.

Coupé Décalé (BE) & Kopf Hoch / Simon Mayer (AT/BE)
Mon08.
Sat13. 
Oct
Mon–Fri from 9.00, Sat from 10.30/
TQW Studios

A week of experimentation with workshops and exercises, followed by a Saturday with discussions on which there will also be plenty of time to celebrate. An invitation to explore and experience one’s own ecstatic potential. The motive to investigate for one entire week the dynamics of intercultural practices and their impact on the body can be attributed to the increasing interest to combine therapeutic and artistic practices as well as to the fact that artists have always been fascinated by alternative states of consciousness, which can be achieved through meditation, indigenous schamanic practices and encounters of the so-called “divine” kind. Each of the workshops led by Ziya Azazi & Simon Mayer, Elke van Campenhout, Hiah Park & Robert Steijn and Corine Sombrun will offer a different approach and will engage in diverse fields of knowledge and experiences (therapeutic, religious, scientific, artistic).

Programme
Mon, 8 – Fri, 12 Oct

9.00–9.30: Hang out (free space)

Mon, 8 + Tue, 9 Oct, 9.30–12.30 and 14.00–18.00
Hiah Park & Robert Steijn: Looking for a state of no conflict*

Wed, 10 – Fri, 12 Oct, 9.30–12.30
Ziya Azazi & Simon Mayer: Waltzing Dervish

12.30–14.00: Lunch break

Wed, 10 – Fri, 12 Oct, 14.00–18.00
Corine Sombrun: Trance and Creation*

18.00–19.00: Hang out (free space)

*Price per workshop: € 45

 

The Ecstatic Body at the Table 
Sat, 13 Oct, TQW Studios, free admission

Coupé Décalé and Kopf Hoch / Simon Mayer invite everybody to reflect collectively about the needs, the beauty and the limits of exploring one’s own ecstatic body in a day full of physical practices, discussions, screenings, music, food and, of course : celebration! For our bodies, this day means: Arriving – Listening – Eating – Watching – Sleeping – Reflecting – Eating – Flying.

Programme

10.30: Morning training with Elke Van Campenhout

12.00: Introduction – What is the ecstatic body?

13.00: Lunch break

14.00: Ecstatic bodies at the table

15.30: Siesta

16.00 Uhr: Panel Talk – Cultural Appropriation within the Arts with Pêdra Costa, Victor Kaleb und Amanda Piña

19.00: Dinner & Break

21.00: Celebration – an ecstatic party*

*Admission: € 4; free admission for all workshop participants

 

 

 

Coupé
Décalé

invites artists, theorists and audiences to exchange and engage in a dialogue over a selection of works and topics developed during different cycles. The selection pays particular attention to movement, body and gestures in the context of aesthetic, cultural and/or social strategies. The project proposes a dialogue between the local emerging artistic scene and established artists by putting their works in resonance and by occasionally inviting them to collaborations and/or creations in situ. Regarding itself as a nomadic practice, Coupé Décalé invests in a diversity of spaces – artist’s studios, theaters, art centers, walls, gardens, spaces for creation and alternative lifestyles.

Kopf
Hoch

is an association founded by Simon Mayer representing a group of collaborating artists, technicians and cultural workers, who have been working more or less constantly with Simon Mayer. Besides creating and touring, the goal is to actively shape the scene in Vienna and Austria and bring home new ways of thinking and working from abroad. Kopf Hoch wants to enable sustainable working conditions and share their methods with others.

 
Loading

Der ekstatische Körper

Coupé Décalé (BE) & Kopf Hoch / Simon Mayer (AT/BE)
TQW Explore
Ann Veronica Janssens, Blue, Red and Yellow, 2001. © Pascual Mercé courtesy EACC Castello 
Coupé
Décalé

lädt Künstler_innen, Theoretiker_innen und Zuschauer_innen ein, sich über eine Auswahl von Arbeiten zu Themen auszutauschen, die in verschiedenen Zyklen entwickelt wurden. Bei der Auswahl wird besonders auf Bewegung, Körper und Gesten im Zusammenhang mit ästhetischen, kulturellen und sozialen Ansätzen geachtet. Das Projekt setzt einen Dialog zwischen der lokalen aufstrebenden Kunstszene und anerkannten Künstler_innen in Gang, indem es deren Werke zueinander in Resonanz bringt und sie gelegentlich zu Kollaborationen und Kreationen vor Ort einlädt.

Kopf
Hoch

ist ein von Simon Mayer ins Leben gerufener Verein und steht für eine Gruppe von Künstler_innen, Techniker_innen und Kulturarbeiter_innen, die in den letzten Jahren mehr oder weniger stetig mit Simon Mayer zusammengearbeitet haben. Neben der Arbeit an neuen Produktionen und am Touring wird versucht, die Szene in Wien und Österreich aktiv mitzugestalten und nicht zuletzt im Ausland gemachte Erfahrungen für die heimische Szene fruchtbar zu machen.

Coupé Décalé (BE) & Kopf Hoch / Simon Mayer (AT/BE)
Mo08.
Sa13. 
Okt
Mo-Fr ab 9 Uhr, Sa ab 10.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Eine experimentelle Woche voller Workshops und Übungen, gefolgt von einem diskursiven Samstag, an dem auch das Feiern nicht zu kurz kommt. Eine Einladung, das eigene ekstatische Potenzial zu entdecken und zu erforschen. Die starke Faszination, die durch Meditation, indigene schamanische Praktiken und Begegnungen mit dem sogenannten „Göttlichen“ erreichte alternative Bewusstseinszustände auf Künstler_innen ausüben, und ein wachsendes Interesse daran, das Therapeutische mit dem Künstlerischen zu verbinden, bilden die Motivation, sich eine Woche lang intensiv mit den Dynamiken interkultureller Praktiken und ihrer Wirkung auf den Körper zu beschäftigen. Die Workshopleiter_innen Ziya Azazi & Simon Mayer, Elke Van Campenhout, Hiah Park & Robert Steijn und Corine Sombrun stehen für unterschiedliche Zugänge und bringen neues Wissen und Erfahrungen aus diversen Bereichen (therapeutisch, religiös, wissenschaftlich und künstlerisch) ein.

Programm
Mo, 8., – Fr, 12. Okt

9–9.30 Uhr: Hang out (free space)

Mo, 8. + Di, 9. Okt, 9.30–12.30 und 14–18 Uhr
Hiah Park & Robert Steijn: Looking for a state of no conflict*

Mi, 10., – Fr, 12. Okt, 9.30–12.30 Uhr
Ziya Azazi & Simon Mayer: Waltzing Dervish*

12.30–14 Uhr: Mittagspause

Mi, 10.,–Fr, 12. Okt, 14–18 Uhr
Corine Sombrun: Trance and Creation*

18–19 Uhr: Hang out (free space)

*Preis pro Workshop: € 45

 

Ekstatische Körper – bitte zu Tisch!
Sa, 13. Okt, Eintritt frei

Coupé Décalé und Kopf Hoch / Simon Mayer laden dazu ein, gemeinsam über die Bedürfnisse, die Schönheit und die Grenzen der Erforschung des eigenen ekstatischen Körpers zu reflektieren. Es wird ein Tag voller physischer Übungen, Diskussionen und Screenings. Es gibt Musik und Essen, und natürlich wird auch gefeiert. Für unseren Körper bedeutet dieser Tag: Ankommen – Hören – Essen – Beobachten – Schlafen – Nachdenken – Essen – Fliegen.

Programm

10.30 Uhr: Morgentraining mit Elke Van Campenhout

12 Uhr: Einführung: Was ist der ekstatische Körper?

13 Uhr: Mittagspause

14 Uhr: Ekstatische Körper – bitte zu Tisch!

15.30 Uhr: Siesta

16 Uhr: Podiumsdiskussion – Kulturelle Aneignung in den Künsten mit Pêdra Costa, Victor Kaleb und Amanda Piña

19 Uhr: Abendessen und Pause

21 Uhr: Celebration – eine ekstatische Party*

*Eintritt: € 4; freier Eintritt für alle Workshop-Teinehmer_innen

 

 

 

Credits

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:
Coupé
Décalé

lädt Künstler_innen, Theoretiker_innen und Zuschauer_innen ein, sich über eine Auswahl von Arbeiten zu Themen auszutauschen, die in verschiedenen Zyklen entwickelt wurden. Bei der Auswahl wird besonders auf Bewegung, Körper und Gesten im Zusammenhang mit ästhetischen, kulturellen und sozialen Ansätzen geachtet. Das Projekt setzt einen Dialog zwischen der lokalen aufstrebenden Kunstszene und anerkannten Künstler_innen in Gang, indem es deren Werke zueinander in Resonanz bringt und sie gelegentlich zu Kollaborationen und Kreationen vor Ort einlädt.

Kopf
Hoch

ist ein von Simon Mayer ins Leben gerufener Verein und steht für eine Gruppe von Künstler_innen, Techniker_innen und Kulturarbeiter_innen, die in den letzten Jahren mehr oder weniger stetig mit Simon Mayer zusammengearbeitet haben. Neben der Arbeit an neuen Produktionen und am Touring wird versucht, die Szene in Wien und Österreich aktiv mitzugestalten und nicht zuletzt im Ausland gemachte Erfahrungen für die heimische Szene fruchtbar zu machen.

 
Loading