The social function of shame and humiliation

Laura Wiesböck
Theory
Laura Wiesböck
Laura
Wiesböck

is a publicist and holds a PhD in Sociology from the University of Vienna. Her research focuses on forms, causes and consequences of social inequality, especially in regard to poverty, employment and gender. For her academic work, she has been awarded the Theodor Körner Prize, the Bank Austria Research Prize, the Kurt Rothschild Prize and the Danubius Young Scientist Award.

In addition to her academic articles, her journalistic writings are regularly published by news outlets such as Die Zeit, Der Standard or Die Presse. Her 2018 nonfiction book In besserer Gesellschaft. Der selbstgerechte Blick auf die Anderen (Kremayr & Scheriau) closely examines the human superiority complex.

Fri12. 
Feb
18.00/
TQW Studios

In German

Online reservation required – tickets available as of January 2021 in our webshop

 

Shame can be devastating for a person, because this feeling attacks the most vulnerable and existential part of the human character: dignity and social acceptance. Sociology has taught us that acts of humiliation stem from the desire to exercise power over the humiliated. This applies both to the female body and poverty: The objective is to further undermine the self-esteem of the humiliated party and “to put them in their rightful place” by subjecting them to specific rules of conduct and societal values. This lecture will describe social functions of shame and humiliation as forms of violence that guarantee the status quo of existing power structures and social hierarchies.

Laura
Wiesböck

is a publicist and holds a PhD in Sociology from the University of Vienna. Her research focuses on forms, causes and consequences of social inequality, especially in regard to poverty, employment and gender. For her academic work, she has been awarded the Theodor Körner Prize, the Bank Austria Research Prize, the Kurt Rothschild Prize and the Danubius Young Scientist Award.

In addition to her academic articles, her journalistic writings are regularly published by news outlets such as Die Zeit, Der Standard or Die Presse. Her 2018 nonfiction book In besserer Gesellschaft. Der selbstgerechte Blick auf die Anderen (Kremayr & Scheriau) closely examines the human superiority complex.

 
Loading

Die soziale Funktion von Scham und Beschämung

Laura Wiesböck
Theorie
Laura Wiesböck
Laura
Wiesböck

ist promovierte Soziologin und Publizistin in Wien. Sie forscht zu Formen, Ursachen und Auswirkungen von sozialer Ungleichheit, insbesondere im Bereich Armut, Arbeit und Geschlecht. Für ihre akademische Arbeit wurde sie mit dem Theodor-Körner-Preis, dem Bank Austria Forschungspreis, dem Kurt Rothschild Preis und dem Danubius Young Scientist Award ausgezeichnet.

Neben wissenschaftlichen Artikeln publiziert sie regelmäßig in Medien wie Die Zeit, Der Standard oder Die Presse. In ihrem 2018 erschienenen Sachbuch In besserer Gesellschaft. Der selbstgerechte Blick auf die Anderen (Kremayr & Scheriau) geht Wiesböck der menschlichen Sehnsucht nach Überlegenheit auf den Grund.

Fr12. 
Feb
18 Uhr/
TQW Studios
Eintritt frei

In deutscher Sprache

Reservierungspflicht – Zählkarten ab Januar 2021 im Webshop erhältlich

Scham kann ein vernichtendes Gefühl sein, denn sie setzt an einem sensiblen und existenziellen Punkt des Menschen an: seiner Würde und sozialen Anerkennung. Aus der Soziologie wissen wir, dass Beschämungen dazu dienen, Machtverhältnisse zu Ungunsten von Beschämten zu herzustellen. Egal ob es um den weiblichen Körper oder um Armutsbetroffenheit geht: Ziel ist es, Beschämte in ihrem Selbstwert zu beschädigen und sie „auf ihren Platz zu verweisen“, indem sie aufgefordert werden, sich bestimmten Verhaltensregeln und Werten unterzuordnen. Der Vortrag beschäftigt sich mit der sozialen Funktion von Scham und Beschämungspraktiken als Form von Gewalt, die der Aufrechterhaltung von Macht- und Statusstrukturen dient.

Laura
Wiesböck

ist promovierte Soziologin und Publizistin in Wien. Sie forscht zu Formen, Ursachen und Auswirkungen von sozialer Ungleichheit, insbesondere im Bereich Armut, Arbeit und Geschlecht. Für ihre akademische Arbeit wurde sie mit dem Theodor-Körner-Preis, dem Bank Austria Forschungspreis, dem Kurt Rothschild Preis und dem Danubius Young Scientist Award ausgezeichnet.

Neben wissenschaftlichen Artikeln publiziert sie regelmäßig in Medien wie Die Zeit, Der Standard oder Die Presse. In ihrem 2018 erschienenen Sachbuch In besserer Gesellschaft. Der selbstgerechte Blick auf die Anderen (Kremayr & Scheriau) geht Wiesböck der menschlichen Sehnsucht nach Überlegenheit auf den Grund.

 
Loading