DOG_men

Daniel Aschwanden (CH/AT)
Lab presentation
© Jeannot Schwartz 
Daniel
Aschwanden,

performer, choreographer; artistic practice at the intersection of social issues and the arts: performative interventions in urban contexts, interventions in public spaces across Europa, Asia, Africa, with specific focus on cultural exchange and communication.

Transdisciplinary performance projects, installations in public spaces, black boxes and white cubes. Lecturer at the University of Applied Arts, Vienna.

Daniel Aschwanden (CH/AT)
Tue19.
Fri22. 
Feb
14.00–17.00/
TQW Studios
Free admission

Limited capacity

4 February 2019 will mark the end of the year of the dog in the Chinese lunar calendar as well as the end of Daniel Aschwanden’s one-year artistic investigation into hybrid forms of man and dog. The research conducted in Aschwanden’s lab is concerned with questions of embodiment and artistic representation in the biomolecular field, with scientific and mythical narratives represented by the hybrid body and with configurations of otherness in politics, sciences and the arts. Animals as configurations of otherness will be examined and related to human and post-human philosophy. Each day, a new expert will be invited to join the team and to contribute to the ongoing investigation.

Each day between 14.00 and 17.00, visitors are welcome to join the lab to witness the process.

Credits

Participants
Daniel Aschwanden (performer, choreographer, Vienna), Berhanu Asagrie Deribew (artist, former head of Alle School of Arts, Addis Abeba), Lucie Strecker (artist, Vienna/Berlin), Herwig Turk (media artist, Vienna), Klaus Spiess (Art&Science Program, MedUni Vienna)
Experts
Tanja Gesell (molecular biologist, artist), Alexandra Sommerfeld (actor, BMC practitioner), Hongwei Duan (anthropologist), Katherina Zakravsky (philosopher), Michaela Marschall & dogs (dog trainer), Jeannot Schwartz (artist, curator), Katharina Gsöllpointner (media theoretician), María Antonia González Valerio (philosopher, Mexico City)
Daniel
Aschwanden,

performer, choreographer; artistic practice at the intersection of social issues and the arts: performative interventions in urban contexts, interventions in public spaces across Europa, Asia, Africa, with specific focus on cultural exchange and communication.

Transdisciplinary performance projects, installations in public spaces, black boxes and white cubes. Lecturer at the University of Applied Arts, Vienna.

 
Loading

DOG_men

Daniel Aschwanden (CH/AT)
Laborpräsentation
© Jeannot Schwartz 
Daniel
Aschwanden,

Performer, Choreograf, wo Kunst auf Soziales trifft: performative Interventionen in urbanen Kontexten, Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum in Europa, Asien, Afrika mit Fokus auf kulturellen Austausch und Kommunikation.

Transdisziplinäre Performanceprojekte, Installationen im öffentlichen Raum sowie in Black Boxes und White Cubes. Lektor an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien.

Daniel Aschwanden (CH/AT)
Mo18.
Fr22. 
Feb
TBA/
TQW Studios
Eintritt frei

Limitierte Platzzahl

Aktuelle Infos zu den Öffnungszeiten werden täglich bekanntgegeben.

Am 4. Februar 2019 endet das Jahr des Hundes, in dem Daniel Aschwanden sich mit Hybriden aus Mensch und Hund beschäftigt hat. Im Forschungslabor des Performers geht es um Fragen der Verkörperung und der künstlerischen Repräsentation im Feld neuer biomolekularer Forschung, um wissenschaftliche und mythische Narrative am Beispiel hybrider Körper und um die Figur des Anderen in Politik, Wissenschaft und Kunst. Tiere werden als Figuren des Anderen untersucht und in Beziehung zu Menschen und Perspektiven posthumaner Philosophie gesetzt. Das Kernteam des Labors empfängt täglich eine/n Expert*in, deren/dessen Kompetenz in den Prozess einfließen kann.

Interessierte Besucher*innen erhalten jeden Tag während drei Stunden die Gelegenheit, der Arbeit als Zeug*innen beizuwohnen.

Credits

Teilnehmer*innen
Daniel Aschwanden (Performer, Choreograf, Wien), María Antonia González Valerio (Philosophin, Mexico City), Berhanu Asagrie Deribew (Künstler, vorm. Direktor der Alle School of Arts, Addis Abeba), Lucie Strecker (Künstlerin, Wien/Berlin), Herwig Turk (Medienkünstler, Wien)
Expert*innen
Tanja Gesell (Molekularbiologin, Künstlerin), Alexandra Sommerfeld (Schauspielerin, BMC-Practitioner), Hongwei Duan (Anthropologe), Katherina Zakravsky (Philosophin), Michaela Marschall & dogs (Hundetrainerin), Jeannot Schwartz (Künstler, Kurator), Katharina Gsöllpointner (Kulturwissenschaftlerin)
Daniel
Aschwanden,

Performer, Choreograf, wo Kunst auf Soziales trifft: performative Interventionen in urbanen Kontexten, Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum in Europa, Asien, Afrika mit Fokus auf kulturellen Austausch und Kommunikation.

Transdisziplinäre Performanceprojekte, Installationen im öffentlichen Raum sowie in Black Boxes und White Cubes. Lektor an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien.

 
Loading