Double Bind

María do Mar Castro Varela
Theory
© María do Mar Castro Varela  
María do Mar
Castro Varela

is professor of pedagogy and social work at the Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Her research focuses on critical studies of migration, postcolonial theory, critical education as well as on gender and queer studies.

Her book Double Bind postcolonial. Kritische Perspektiven auf Kunst und Kulturelle Bildung will be published by transcript Verlag at the end of November.

María do Mar Castro Varela
Fri06. 
Nov
18.00/
Zoom

Registration: tanzquartier@tqw.at until Fri 06 Nov, 16.00.

In German

Postcolonial readings in the arts and culture and in cultural education have recently become ever more popular. However, these mostly recite rather than critique what has already been said. Even though more critical debates on and with theories of postcoloniality are urgently needed, for example to expose the unbearably dominant Eurocentric exhibition and communication practices. The one who leaves behind dominant thought practices can tolerate and unmask this ambivalence – this ‘double bind’ – of the postcolonial situation that can be best described as sitting on the fence: not being able to choose between ‘business as usual’ and harsh criticism of Eurocentric thought. The postcolonial theorist and educationalist María do mar Castro Varela advocates an aesthetic educational practice of unlearning in order to create a platform for capturing and talking about the complexity of postcolonial situations.

The lecture was recorded beforehand. Following the screening, María do Mar Castro Varela will be available for a Q&A session via Zoom. Moderation: Janine Jembere

María do Mar
Castro Varela

is professor of pedagogy and social work at the Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Her research focuses on critical studies of migration, postcolonial theory, critical education as well as on gender and queer studies.

Her book Double Bind postcolonial. Kritische Perspektiven auf Kunst und Kulturelle Bildung will be published by transcript Verlag at the end of November.

 
Loading

Double Bind

María do Mar Castro Varela
Theorie
© María do Mar Castro Varela 
María do Mar
Castro Varela

ist Professorin für Pädagogik und Soziale Arbeit an der Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Sie ist Diplompsychologin, Diplompädagogin und promovierte Politologin.

Ihre Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkte sind neben der kritischen Migrations- und Fluchtforschung die postkoloniale Theorie, Critical Education und Auseinandersetzungen zu Gender und Queer Studies. Ihr Buch Double Bind postcolonial. Kritische Perspektiven auf Kunst und Kulturelle Bildung erscheint Ende November im transcript Verlag.

María do Mar Castro Varela
Fr06. 
Nov
18 Uhr/
TQW Studios
 
     
  • Fr 06. Nov
Tickets
Eintritt frei

Reservierungspflicht – Zählkarte im Webshop erhältlich

In deutscher Sprache

Postkoloniale Perspektiven im Kunst- und Kulturbetrieb und in der kulturellen Bildung haben Hochkonjunktur, doch handelt es sich hierbei meist um eine Rezitations- und weniger um eine Rezeptionspraxis. Dabei wären tiefergehende Debatten um und mit Theorien der Postkolonialität dringend notwendig, um etwa die Zumutungen der dominanten eurozentrischen Ausstellungs- und Vermittlungspraxen aufzudecken. Wer dominante Denkgewohnheiten verlässt, kann die Ambivalenz – den „double bind“ – der postkolonialen Situation ertragen und transparent machen: das Hin-und-hergerissen-Sein zwischen „business as usual“ und harscher Kritik am eurozentrischen Denken. Die postkoloniale Denkerin und Pädagogin María do Mar Castro Varela plädiert für eine ästhetische Bildungspraxis des Verlernens, die den notwendigen Raum für das Erfassen und Erzählen postkolonialer Situationen in ihrer Komplexität herstellt.

María do Mar
Castro Varela

ist Professorin für Pädagogik und Soziale Arbeit an der Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Sie ist Diplompsychologin, Diplompädagogin und promovierte Politologin.

Ihre Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkte sind neben der kritischen Migrations- und Fluchtforschung die postkoloniale Theorie, Critical Education und Auseinandersetzungen zu Gender und Queer Studies. Ihr Buch Double Bind postcolonial. Kritische Perspektiven auf Kunst und Kulturelle Bildung erscheint Ende November im transcript Verlag.

 
Loading