Encounters #2

Alexander Gottfarb
Dance
Alexander
Gottfarb

graduated from the Stockholm Ballet Academy in 2003. The Swedish artist lives in Vienna. As a dancer he has worked for choreographers like Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring/Liquid Loft and Björn Säfsten among others. He is a founding member of The Loose Collective. In 2009 he created the association Archipelago together with Anna Maria Nowak and is since then creating his own works.

Alexander Gottfarb’s interest in examining politically (Political Movements, 2010) or religiously (Moved by Faith, 2011) motivated forms of movement was already evident in his early pieces. His latest creation Encounters #1 was a 50 hours long live-streamed dance performance with eleven dancers taking place in December 2020. The dancer and choreographer uses repetition and transformation, discipline and exhaustion in his work.

Alexander Gottfarb
Thu14.
Sat16. 
Oct
17.00–23.00/
TQW Studios, offices, workshop

Six slots are available per day at hourly intervals.

Encounters is a series of long-durational dance performances situated in workspaces. #1 took place as a 50h livestream performance in a large empty factory space. In #2, the office space will be subject to physical scrutiny. Encounters is part of the same artistic development which was established with Negotiations (2018) and continues Alexander Gottfarb’s artistic (and non-artistic) questioning of the relation between choreography and art making and the Post-Fordist capitalist society. Gottfarb is looking for and building tactics on how to be with each other. Here, the choreographic craft is being used as a tool, helping us build and explore the boundaries of sustainable relations between dancers, the audience and our environment.

In Encounters #2, the voice is introduced to Gottfarb’s otherwise physical practice, which is based on repetition and transformation of movements and expressions. The dancers inhabit the office environment of TQW, they place their “work” in spaces normally filled with desks, books and computers, where bodies are seated and the sound of typing can be heard. In this durational proposal, performers repeat gestures and utterances, songs and words, creating an ongoing dance concert in a state of flux. Gottfarb and his team invite audience members to take their time, to choose their perspective and create their own dramaturgy of the evening.

Credits

Concept, production development
Alexander Gottfarb
Choreography, performance
Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Raúl Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Charlotta Ruth
Dramaturgy
Guy Cools
Music
Stephan Sperlich
Voice coaching
Clélia Colonna
Costume
Karin Pauer
Production
mollusca productions
Administration, accounting
smART.at
Encounters #2 is an Archipelago production, co-produced by Tanzquartier Wien. With kind support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, the Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport and Arbeitsplatz Wien.
Alexander
Gottfarb

graduated from the Stockholm Ballet Academy in 2003. The Swedish artist lives in Vienna. As a dancer he has worked for choreographers like Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring/Liquid Loft and Björn Säfsten among others. He is a founding member of The Loose Collective. In 2009 he created the association Archipelago together with Anna Maria Nowak and is since then creating his own works.

Alexander Gottfarb’s interest in examining politically (Political Movements, 2010) or religiously (Moved by Faith, 2011) motivated forms of movement was already evident in his early pieces. His latest creation Encounters #1 was a 50 hours long live-streamed dance performance with eleven dancers taking place in December 2020. The dancer and choreographer uses repetition and transformation, discipline and exhaustion in his work.

 
Loading

Encounters #2

Alexander Gottfarb
Tanz
Alexander
Gottfarb

schloss 2003 sein Studium an der Stockholmer Ballettakademie ab. Der in Wien lebende Schwede arbeitete als Tänzer für Choreografen wie Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring/Liquid Loft und Björn Säfsten. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Formation The Loose Collective. 2009 gründete er gemeinsam mit Anna Maria Nowak den Verein Archipelago, seither realisiert er auch eigene Arbeiten.

Alexander Gottfarb interessiert sich seit seinen ersten Stücken besonders für Bewegungen, die politisch (Political Movements, 2010) oder religiös (Moved by Faith, 2011) motiviert sind. Seine letzte Arbeit Encounters #1 war eine fünfzigstündige Tanzperformance als Live-Stream mit elf Tänzer*innen im Dezember 2020. Der Tänzer und Choreograf arbeitet mit Repetition und Transformation, mit Disziplin und Erschöpfung.

Alexander Gottfarb
Do14.
Sa16. 
Okt
17–23 Uhr/
TQW Studios, Büros, Werkstatt

Pro Tag stehen sechs Slots im Stundentakt zur Auswahl.

Encounters ist eine Serie von Durational Performances an Orten, an denen üblicherweise gearbeitet wird. #1 präsentierte sich als fünfzigstündige Live-Stream-Tanzperformance und fand in einer großen, leeren Fabrikshalle statt. In #2 wird nun das Büro – konkret die Büros des Tanzquartiers – zum Objekt der physischen Überprüfung durch die Tänzer*innen. Encounters folgt der mit Negotiations (2018) etablierten Entwicklungslinie und setzt Alexander Gottfarbs künstlerisches (und nichtkünstlerisches) Ausloten der Beziehung zwischen Choreografie, Kunst und der postfordistischen, kapitalistischen Gesellschaft fort. Gottfarb untersucht und entwickelt Taktiken, wie man miteinander umgehen kann. Das choreografische Handwerk wird hier zum Werkzeug, das uns dabei hilft, die Grenzen nachhaltiger Beziehungen zwischen Tänzer*innen, Publikum und der Umwelt, in der wir agieren, aufzubauen und zu erforschen.

In Encounters #2 wird erstmals die Stimme in Gottfarbs körperliche Praxis eingeführt. Die sechs Tänzer*innen performen in den TQW Büros, sie verrichten ihre „Arbeit“ in Räumen, die normalerweise mit Schreibtischen, Büchern und Computern gefüllt sind, wo Körper sitzen und das Geräusch des Tippens auf Tastaturen zu hören ist. Sie wiederholen Gesten und Äußerungen, seien es Lieder oder Worte, wodurch ein fortlaufendes Tanzkonzert im Fluss entsteht. Gottfarb und sein Team laden das Publikum ein, sich Zeit zu nehmen, eine Perspektive zu wählen und so eine eigene Dramaturgie des Abends zu entwerfen.

Credits

Konzept, Produktionsentwicklung
Alexander Gottfarb
Choreografie, Tanz
Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Raúl Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Charlotta Ruth
Dramaturgie
Guy Cools
Musik
Stephan Sperlich
Voice-Coaching
Clélia Colonna
Kostüm
Karin Pauer
Produktion
mollusca productions
Verwaltung, Buchhaltung
smART.at
Encounters #2 ist eine Produktion von Archipelago in Koproduktion mit Tanzquartier Wien. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, des Bundesministeriums für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport und von Arbeitsplatz Wien.
Alexander
Gottfarb

schloss 2003 sein Studium an der Stockholmer Ballettakademie ab. Der in Wien lebende Schwede arbeitete als Tänzer für Choreografen wie Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring/Liquid Loft und Björn Säfsten. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Formation The Loose Collective. 2009 gründete er gemeinsam mit Anna Maria Nowak den Verein Archipelago, seither realisiert er auch eigene Arbeiten.

Alexander Gottfarb interessiert sich seit seinen ersten Stücken besonders für Bewegungen, die politisch (Political Movements, 2010) oder religiös (Moved by Faith, 2011) motiviert sind. Seine letzte Arbeit Encounters #1 war eine fünfzigstündige Tanzperformance als Live-Stream mit elf Tänzer*innen im Dezember 2020. Der Tänzer und Choreograf arbeitet mit Repetition und Transformation, mit Disziplin und Erschöpfung.

 
Loading