Encounters

Alexander Gottfarb
Durational Performance/Dance
Alexander Gottfarb
Alexander
Gottfarb

graduated from the Stockholm Ballet Academy in 2003. The Swedish artist lives in Vienna. As a dancer, he has worked with choreographers Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring / Liquid Loft and Björn Säfsten, among others. He is a founding member of The Loose Collective. In 2009, he created the association Archipelago, together with Anna Maria Nowak, and has since created his own artistic work.

Alexander Gottfarb’s interest in examining politically (Political Movements, 2010) or religiously (Moved by Faith, 2011) motivated forms of movement was already evident in his earlier pieces. His latest creation, Negotiations (2018), was a year-long dance performance taking place every day between 10.00 and 18.00 at TQW Filiale. The dancer and choreographer uses motifs of repetition and transformation, discipline and exhaustion in his work.

Fri04.
Sun06. 
Dec
from 04 Dec, 18.00/
Live broadcast

Duration: 50 hours, until Sunday 06 Dec, 20.00.

In Alexander Gottfarb’s latest piece, Negotiations, 13 dancers from different generations came together and, in turns, filled the TQW Filiale in Neustiftgasse with dance for eight hours a day, for 365 days. An important aspect of Negotiations was to highlight and make visible the fact that dancing is also a form of highly skilled and physically demanding labour. His new work, Encounters, can be placed on the same line of artistic inquiry and sees Gottfarb continue his artistic (and non-artistic) questioning of the relationship between choreography, art making and the post-Fordist capitalist society. Encounters is an attempt to “work” without producing material goods or consumer services.

What results is a long, continuous dance, taking place in a workspace in Vienna over a whole weekend. The 50-hour performance will be streamed above.

To make the most of your experience, Alexander Gottfarb and his team have compiled a short travel guide, explaining the principles of their practice and the different ways in which you can join, including instructions on how to practice yourself using an audio guide. You can also send the crew your comments and questions via encounters@tqw.at, which they will respond to live in a virtual logbook down below.

 

Encounters travel guide

We meet to work. We meet to exchange. We meet to practice being and moving together.

We need the encounter with the other to transform, to grow, to become ourselves. For an encounter to take place, we need contact, but also difference. An encounter is a coming together of differences.

Our practice has two simple principles: repetition and transformation. We repeat every movement. We allow these movements to transform, using them as input:

  • our own internal rhythms, sensations or desires
  • the space which both supports and resists us
  • the information we receive from the others who move with us or watch us

These chains of transformation are part of one long cycle, like the rhythm of night and day or the passing of the seasons. This time, the cycle will last 50 hours.

Ways of joining:

Watching

We invite you to slow down your perception. We invite you to alternate between zooming in on a detail or taking in the whole landscape, being witness to the long-term changes – like watching the light at dusk or the clouds in the sky. We invite you to see the spaces in-between. What are the images you can see appear and disappear? What are the sensations you can feel? You might experience some inner movements or rhythms, moving in synchrony with us. Or you might drift off completely. That’s up to you. After all, you can return any time you want to. You can also play your own favourite music while watching.

Practicing

We invite you to practice with us in your own room. In order to do so, you can listen to this audio guide down below.

Dialoguing

We invite you to respond to us by sending your reactions to encounters@tqw.at.

You can find our answers in our virtual Logbook.

In order to prepare this event for you, we took all appropriate measures to guarantee everyone’s safety, including regular COVID-19 testing of everyone involved.

...
moreless

Audio guide

We invite you to practice with us in your own room. In order to do so, you can listen to this audio guide down below.

(Please note that, for technical reasons, it is not possible to listen to the audio guide while you watch the live broadcast on an iPhone. If you wish to do this simultaneously, please use a desktop computer.)

...
moreless
 

Logbook

We invite you to respond to us by sending your reactions, comments and questions to encounters@tqw.at.

You can find our answers in our virtual Logbook.

...
moreless

Credits

Concept, production development
Alexander Gottfarb
Choreography, performance
Esther Balfe, Alex Deutinger, Soraya Emery, Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Martyna Lorenc, Raúl Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Patric Redl, Charlotta Ruth
Dramaturgy
Guy Cools
Music
Sophie Augot, Guenther Berger, Alexander Gottfarb, Raúl Maia, Stephan Sperlich
Composition
Guenther Berger, Stephan Sperlich
Costume design
Karin Pauer
Video
Ulrich Reiterer
Production
mollusca productions
Administrative support
Smart Austria
Encounters is a production of Archipelago in co-production with Tanzquartier Wien. With kind support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport and Arbeitsplatz Wien.
Alexander
Gottfarb

graduated from the Stockholm Ballet Academy in 2003. The Swedish artist lives in Vienna. As a dancer, he has worked with choreographers Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring / Liquid Loft and Björn Säfsten, among others. He is a founding member of The Loose Collective. In 2009, he created the association Archipelago, together with Anna Maria Nowak, and has since created his own artistic work.

Alexander Gottfarb’s interest in examining politically (Political Movements, 2010) or religiously (Moved by Faith, 2011) motivated forms of movement was already evident in his earlier pieces. His latest creation, Negotiations (2018), was a year-long dance performance taking place every day between 10.00 and 18.00 at TQW Filiale. The dancer and choreographer uses motifs of repetition and transformation, discipline and exhaustion in his work.

 
Loading

Encounters

Alexander Gottfarb
Durational Performance/Tanz
Alexander Gottfarb
Alexander
Gottfarb

schloss 2003 sein Studium an der Stockholmer Ballettakademie ab. Der in Wien lebende Schwede arbeitete als Tänzer für Choreografen wie Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring / Liquid Loft und Björn Säfsten. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Formation The Loose Collective. 2009 gründete er gemeinsam mit Anna Maria Nowak den Verein Archipelago und realisiert seither auch eigene Arbeiten.

Alexander Gottfarb interessiert sich seit seinen ersten Stücken besonders für Bewegungen, die politisch (Political Movements, 2010) oder religiös (Moved by Faith, 2011) motiviert sind. Dafür arbeitet der Tänzer und Choreograf mit Repetition und Transformation, mit Disziplin und Erschöpfung.

Fr04.
So06. 
Dez
ab 04. Dez, 18 Uhr/
Live-Übertragung

Dauer: 50 Stunden, bis So, 06. Dez, 20 Uhr.

Dass Tanzen Arbeit ist, bewies Alexander Gottfarb zuletzt mit seinem Mammutprojekt Negotiations. 13 Tänzer*innen belebten dabei die TQW Filiale, ein ehemaliges Geschäftslokal in der Neustiftgasse, ein ganzes Jahr lang acht Stunden täglich, indem sie tanzten. Die neue Arbeit Encounters setzt Gottfarbs künstlerisches (und nichtkünstlerisches) Ausloten der Beziehung zwischen Choreografie, Kunst und der postfordistischen, kapitalistischen Gesellschaft fort. Encounters ist ein Versuch, zu „arbeiten“, ohne dabei materielle Güter oder konsumierbare Serviceleistungen zu produzieren.

Encounters präsentiert sich in Form eines langen, über ein ganzes Wochenende gehenden Tanzes in einem Workspace außerhalb des TQW. Die 50-Stunden-Performance wird live auf dieser Seite übertragen.

Projektbegleitend haben Alexander Gottfarb und sein Team einen kurzen Reiseführer zusammengestellt, der einen Überblick über die Grundlagen der künstlerischen Praxis gibt und auch erklärt, auf welche unterschiedliche Arten man als Publikum mitmachen kann. Der Audioguide bietet Teilnehmer*innen Anweisungen. Die Crew freut sich außerdem über Kommentare und Fragen per encounters@tqw.at und wird diese live in einem virtuellen Logbuch beantworten.

 

Reiseführer

Encounters – ein Treffen, um gemeinsam zu arbeiten.

Eine Zusammenkunft, um sich auszutauschen. Eine Versammlung, um Gemeinschaft zu praktizieren – und Bewegung.

Wir brauchen die Begegnung mit den Anderen, um uns weiterzuentwickeln, um zu wachsen und wir selbst zu werden.

Doch für eine Begegnung braucht es ebenso sehr Nähe wie Abgrenzung. Eine Begegnung ist auch ein Aufeinandertreffen von Differenzen.

Unserer Arbeit liegen zwei Prinzipien zugrunde: Wiederholung und Transformation. Wir wiederholen jede Bewegung. Wir erlauben diesen Bewegungen sich zu verändern, um sie als Input für etwas Neues zu nutzen:

  • ein innerer Rhythmus, eine Empfindung oder ein Verlangen
  • der Raum, der uns sowohl stützt als sich uns auch widersetzt
  • die Mitteilungen der anderen, die sich mit uns bewegen oder uns zuschauen

Diese Transformationsketten sind Teil eines langen Zyklus, wie der Wandel zwischen Tag und Nacht oder der Wechsel der Jahreszeiten. Ein Zyklus, der sich diesmal über 50 Stunden erstrecken wird.

Drei Möglichkeiten teilzunehmen:

Zuschauen

Wir laden zu einer Entschleunigung der Wahrnehmung ein. Ob man sich nun auf ein Detail konzentriert oder das Gesamtbild auf sich wirken lässt, und so den Langzeitveränderungen beiwohnt – wie das Beobachten der Tageszeiten oder der Wolkenformationen am Himmel. Oder man lässt den Blick in den Zwischenräumen verharren. Welche Bilder erscheinen und verschwinden dabei vor dem eigenen Auge? Welche Eindrücke entstehen? Vielleicht überkommt einen ein innerer Drang, ein Rhythmus, im Takt der Bewegungen unserer Performer*innen. Und vielleicht driftet man auch hin und wieder ganz ab. Kein Problem, es gibt jederzeit die Möglichkeit zurückzukehren. Auch die eigene Lieblingsmusik kann man gern nebenbei laufen lassen.

Mitmachen

Alle sind eingeladen, von zu Hause aus mitzumachen. Dafür einfach den Anweisungen des Audioguides folgen. Dieser befindet sich weiter unten.

Ins Gespräch kommen

Alle sind eingeladen, dem Team Fragen und Reaktionen zukommen zu lassen. Einfach an die folgende E-Mail-Adresse schicken: encounters@tqw.at

Die Antworten werden live im virtuellen Logbuch veröffentlicht.

Alle Vorsichtsmaßnahmen, inklusive regelmäßiger Covid-19-Tests, werden genau eingehalten, um die Sicherheit aller Beteiligten zu gewährleisten.

...
mehrweniger

Audioguide

Alle sind eingeladen, von zu Hause aus mitzumachen. Dafür einfach den Anweisungen des Audioguides (nur in englischer Sprache) folgen.

(Leider ist es aus technischen Gründen auf iPhones nicht möglich, gleichzeitig der Liveübertragung zu folgen und den Audioguide zu hören. Auf einem Desktop-Computer ist ein gleichzeitiges Abspielen möglich.)

...
mehrweniger
 
Logbuch

Alle sind eingeladen, dem Team Fragen und Reaktionen zukommen zu lassen. Einfach an die folgende E-Mail-Adresse schicken: encounters@tqw.at.

Die Antworten werden live in unserem virtuellen Logbuch veröffentlicht.


...
mehrweniger

Credits

Konzept, Produktionsentwicklung
Alexander Gottfarb
Choreografie, Tanz
Esther Balfe, Alex Deutinger, Soraya Emery, Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Martyna Lorenc, Raúl Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Patric Redl, Charlotta Ruth
Dramaturgie
Guy Cools
Musik
Sophie Augot, Guenther Berger, Alexander Gottfarb, Raúl Maia, Stephan Sperlich
Komposition
Guenther Berger, Stephan Sperlich
Kostüme
Karin Pauer
Video
Ulrich Reiterer
Produktion
mollusca productions
Administrative Unterstützung
Smart Austria
Encounters ist eine Produktion von Archipelago in Koproduktion mit Tanzquartier Wien. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, des Bundesministeriums für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport und von Arbeitsplatz Wien.
Alexander
Gottfarb

schloss 2003 sein Studium an der Stockholmer Ballettakademie ab. Der in Wien lebende Schwede arbeitete als Tänzer für Choreografen wie Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring / Liquid Loft und Björn Säfsten. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Formation The Loose Collective. 2009 gründete er gemeinsam mit Anna Maria Nowak den Verein Archipelago und realisiert seither auch eigene Arbeiten.

Alexander Gottfarb interessiert sich seit seinen ersten Stücken besonders für Bewegungen, die politisch (Political Movements, 2010) oder religiös (Moved by Faith, 2011) motiviert sind. Dafür arbeitet der Tänzer und Choreograf mit Repetition und Transformation, mit Disziplin und Erschöpfung.

 
Loading