ENDO

David Wampach (FR)
Dance & Performance
© Martin Colombet 
David
Wampach

is a French choreographer. He studied medicine for a while but then decided to turn to dance and went on to study at ex.e.r.ce/CCN Montpellier and P.A.R.T.S in Brussels. His grotesque and minimalistic approach to a history of modern dance makes free use of historical discoveries, explores different states of the body and tests the limits of empirical knowledge. The goal of David Wampach’s radical and sometimes humorous approach to dance is to abandon all taboo boundaries.

In 2011, he adapted ballet classics The Nutcracker and Le Sacre du Printemps and turned them into a Latino version and a reading session, respectively. In 2012/2013 Wampach continued his work on rituals and trance, produced the short film RITE and created the solo piece TOUR. His 2014 piece VEINE is a duet for urban space. Among his latest works are such pieces as URGE (2015) and ENDO (2017), the latter created in the context of the Montpellier Danse festival.

davidwampach.eu

David Wampach (FR)
Thu24./
Fri25. 
Jan
19.30 /
TQW Halle G

„A contemporary manifesto for an entertaining, insatiable, and colourful body.“  Libération

ENDO is an exciting and invigorating take on the history of performance art. It draws inspiration from Yves Klein’s imprints of bodies as well as from the works of anti-conformist artists like the writer, photographer and filmmaker Shuji Terayama and the members of the legendary Gutai group. The meaning of the title recalls – somewhat ironically – the artistic-theoretic movement called Endotism, whose followers turned away from dominant conceptual art forms and vehemently criticised all forms of exotism in the 1960s and 1970s. The “exotic”, they proclaimed, should lose its prominent position in the arts in favour of introspection. David Wampach places his own body in the energetic centre of his performance. The body functions simultaneously as material, medium, instrument, actor and spectator. According to Wampach’s utopian approach, we can access the archaic origins of dance and the arts only through the body.

Trailer

Credits

Choreography
David Wampach in collaboration with Tamar Shelef
Interpretation
Tamar Shelef, David Wampach
Visual work
Rachel Garcia
Dramaturgic reflections
Marie Orts
Artistic advice
Dalila Khatir, Christian Ubl
Light
Nicolas Boudier
Sound
Gaspard Guilbert
Additional music
Nisennenmondai, Tout Est Beau / Erwan Ha Kyoon Larcher
Stage management
Jean-Marc Ségalen
Sound management
Jordan Dixneuf
Production
Antoine Billet
Thanks to Sabine Seifert, Marjorie Potiron, Maxime Guillon-Roi-Sans-Sac, Anaïs Malaret
Production & tour management
Pascale Reneau
Executive production
Association Achles
Co-production
Uzès Danse CDC, Festival Montpellier Danse 2017, Centre Chorégraphique National de Tours
With the support of Le Parvis Scène Nationale Tarbes Pyrénées, L’échangeur
CDCN Hauts-de-France, CND – un centre d’art pour la danse, Tanzhaus Zürich,
Villa Kujoyama (Kyoto), Saison Foundation (Tokyo) and the Agency
for Cultural Affairs, Government of Japan; David Wampach was invited by the
Saison Foundation in Tokyo as Visiting Fellow in 2016.
With support from
David
Wampach

is a French choreographer. He studied medicine for a while but then decided to turn to dance and went on to study at ex.e.r.ce/CCN Montpellier and P.A.R.T.S in Brussels. His grotesque and minimalistic approach to a history of modern dance makes free use of historical discoveries, explores different states of the body and tests the limits of empirical knowledge. The goal of David Wampach’s radical and sometimes humorous approach to dance is to abandon all taboo boundaries.

In 2011, he adapted ballet classics The Nutcracker and Le Sacre du Printemps and turned them into a Latino version and a reading session, respectively. In 2012/2013 Wampach continued his work on rituals and trance, produced the short film RITE and created the solo piece TOUR. His 2014 piece VEINE is a duet for urban space. Among his latest works are such pieces as URGE (2015) and ENDO (2017), the latter created in the context of the Montpellier Danse festival.

davidwampach.eu

 
Loading

ENDO

David Wampach (FR)
Tanz & Performance
© Martin Colombet 
David
Wampach

ist ein französischer Choreograf. Er studierte zunächst Medizin und später Tanz bei ex.e.r.ce/CCN Montpellier und P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel. Seine grotesken und zugleich minimalistischen Stücke greifen frei die Geschichte des modernen Tanzes auf, erforschen Körperzustände und loten die Grenzen der Erfahrung aus. Ziel von David Wampachs radikaler und oft genug humorvoller Auseinandersetzung mit Tanz ist, sich von jeglichen Tabus zu lösen.

2011 schuf er mit CASSETTE eine Latinoversion des Ballettklassikers Der Nussknacker und mit SACRE eine Lesung von Le Sacre du Printemps. 2012/13 setzte Wampach seine Arbeit zu Ritual und Trance fort, inszenierte den Kurzfilm RITE und kreierte das Solostück TOUR. Die Arbeit VEINE (2014) ist ein Duett für urbane Räume. Seine letzten Stücke, URGE (2015) und ENDO (2017), entstanden im Rahmen des Festivals Montpellier Danse. Wampachs Stücke touren regelmäßig in Europa, den USA, Südamerika und Japan.

davidwampach.eu

David Wampach (FR)
Do24./
Fr25. 
Jan
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Do 24. Jan
  • Fr 25. Jan
€ 20/15/10

„A contemporary manifesto for an entertaining, insatiable, and colourful body.“  Libération

ENDO ist eine enthusiastische und absolut berauschende Momentaufnahme der Geschichte der Performancekunst. Sie bezieht ihre Inspiration ebenso von den Körperabdrücken Yves Kleins wie von antikonformistischen japanischen Künstler*innen wie dem Schriftsteller, Fotografen und Filmemacher Shuji Terayama und den Mitgliedern der legendären Gutai-Gruppe. Der Titel erinnert – nicht ganz ohne Ironie – an die künstlerisch-theoretische Bewegung des Endotismus, der sich in den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren gegen die dominierende Konzeptkunst und alle Formen des Exotismus auflehnte. So sollte in der Kunst nicht länger das „Exotische“ im Mittelpunkt stehen, sondern der Blick nach innen. David Wampach stellt den eigenen Körper in das energetische Zentrum der Performance. Dieser ist zugleich Material, Medium, Instrument, Akteur und Zuschauer. Nur über unsere Körper, so Wampachs utopischer Ansatz, können wir Zugang zu den archaischen Ursprüngen von Kunst und Tanz erlangen.

Trailer

Credits

Choreografie
David Wampach in Zusammenarbeit mit Tamar Shelef
Performance
Tamar Shelef, David Wampach
Visuelle Arbeit
Rachel Garcia
Dramaturgische Unterstützung
Marie Orts
Künstlerische Beratung
Dalila Khatir, Christian Ubl
Licht
Nicolas Boudier
Sound
Gaspard Guilbert
Zusätzliche Musik
Nisennenmondai, Tout Est Beau / Erwan Ha Kyoon Larcher
Bühnenmanagement
Jean-Marc Ségalen
Klangregie
Jordan Dixneuf
Produktion
Antoine Billet
Dank an Sabine Seifert, Marjorie Potiron, Maxime Guillon-Roi-Sans-Sac, Anaïs Malaret
Produktionsleitung & Tourmanagement
Julie Le Gall
Produktion
Association Achles
Koproduktion
Uzès Danse CDC, Festival Montpellier Danse 2017, Centre Chorégraphique National de Tours
Mit Unterstützung von Le Parvis Scène Nationale Tarbes Pyrénées, L’échangeur CDCN Hauts-de-France, CND – un centre d’art pour la danse, Tanzhaus Zürich, Villa Kujoyama, Kyoto, Saison Foundation, Tokyo, Amt für kulturelle Angelegenheiten der japanischen Regierung. David Wampach wurde 2016 von der Saison Foundation als Visiting Fellow nach Tokyo eingeladen.
Mit Unterstützung von
David
Wampach

ist ein französischer Choreograf. Er studierte zunächst Medizin und später Tanz bei ex.e.r.ce/CCN Montpellier und P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel. Seine grotesken und zugleich minimalistischen Stücke greifen frei die Geschichte des modernen Tanzes auf, erforschen Körperzustände und loten die Grenzen der Erfahrung aus. Ziel von David Wampachs radikaler und oft genug humorvoller Auseinandersetzung mit Tanz ist, sich von jeglichen Tabus zu lösen.

2011 schuf er mit CASSETTE eine Latinoversion des Ballettklassikers Der Nussknacker und mit SACRE eine Lesung von Le Sacre du Printemps. 2012/13 setzte Wampach seine Arbeit zu Ritual und Trance fort, inszenierte den Kurzfilm RITE und kreierte das Solostück TOUR. Die Arbeit VEINE (2014) ist ein Duett für urbane Räume. Seine letzten Stücke, URGE (2015) und ENDO (2017), entstanden im Rahmen des Festivals Montpellier Danse. Wampachs Stücke touren regelmäßig in Europa, den USA, Südamerika und Japan.

davidwampach.eu

 
Loading