Apollon

Florentina Holzinger (AT)
Dance & Performance
 
Florentina
Holzinger

(b. 1986 in Vienna) studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. She consciously plays with a shifting of boundaries between high culture and entertainment in all her works. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), the first joint production of Florentina Holzinger and Vincent Riebeek, earned them a reputation as “most provocative new choreographers” straight away.

Shortly after, Florentina Holzinger won the Prix Jardin d’Europe for her solo Silk at lmPulsTanz in 2012. In addition to further collaborations with Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness and, most recently, Schönheitsabend), Holzinger presented the solo Recovery in 2015, which served her as a means to process the trauma of a very serious accident she had during a performance.

floholzinger.wordpress.com

Florentina Holzinger (AT)
Thu22.
Sat24. 
Feb
19.30/
TQW Halle G

If available, 60 minutes prior queue numbers for remaining tickets are handed out directly at the evening box office.

No admission under 18 years

“They refer to Balanchine in an ironic celebration of beauty. The lyre becomes an executioner’s axe, god is a mechanical rodeo bull, and they take the road to Mount Parnassus by way of a polonaise coupled with dildos, definitely not unplugged. A superbly intelligent, fearless, terrific evening.” Egbert Tholl/Süddeutsche Zeitung

Florentina Holzinger has no reservations when it comes to remixing unusual genres in a fresh way. She has enriched the international performance scene with dizzying acrobatics, muscular women’s bodies and martial-arts fight scenes since 2011 – pop-cultural references and a penchant for trash included. In her latest work, Apollon, six naked women conquer George Balanchine’s neoclassical ballet of the same name from 1928 about the god of the arts and his three muses. But prancing around the poster boy of Olympus is not what Holzinger and her colleagues have in mind. They are themselves the stars of this show, and have some quite bizarre and daring tricks up their sleeves. Armed with black humour, elements of a circus freak show and 1960s live art, the performers challenge the neo-liberal cult of the body and its voyeuristic mechanisms. In pointe shoes and with Olympic weights on their shoulders, they push the vain god off his throne on Mount Parnassus.

In some scenes of the performance Apollon self-injurious acts are portrayed, which could have a disturbing effect on some viewers.

Credits

Conzept und performance
Florentina Holzinger
with
Renée Copraij, Evelyn Frantti, Florentina Holzinger, Annina Lara Maria Machaz, Xana Novais, Maria Netti Nüganen
Sound design
Stephan Schneider
Dramaturgy
Sara Ostertag & Michele Rizzo
Scenography
Nikola Knežević
Coaching
Btissame Amadour
Advice
Manu Scheiwiller & Fernando Belfiore
Technique
Bram Geldhof, Anne Meeussen & Maarten Van Trigt
A production by CAMPO in coproduction with Münchner Kammerspiele, La Bâtie, Festival de Genève, Frascati Productions Amsterdam, Steirischer Herbst Graz, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt and Sophiensaele Berlin. With the support of
Florentina
Holzinger

(b. 1986 in Vienna) studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. She consciously plays with a shifting of boundaries between high culture and entertainment in all her works. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), the first joint production of Florentina Holzinger and Vincent Riebeek, earned them a reputation as “most provocative new choreographers” straight away.

Shortly after, Florentina Holzinger won the Prix Jardin d’Europe for her solo Silk at lmPulsTanz in 2012. In addition to further collaborations with Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness and, most recently, Schönheitsabend), Holzinger presented the solo Recovery in 2015, which served her as a means to process the trauma of a very serious accident she had during a performance.

floholzinger.wordpress.com

 
Loading

Apollon

Florentina Holzinger (AT)
Tanz & Performance
Florentina Holzinger Apollon Musagete Florentina Holzinger Apollon Musagete Florentina Holzinger Apollon Musagete
© Radovan Dranga 
Florentina
Holzinger

(geb. 1986 in Wien) hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Sie spielt in all ihren Arbeiten bewusst mit der Grenzverschiebung zwischen Hochkultur und Entertainment. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), die erste gemeinsame Arbeit von Florentina Holzinger und Vincent Riebeek, brachte den beiden auf Anhieb den Ruf als „provokanteste Nachwuchschoreograf_innen“ ein.

Kurz danach folgte Florentina Holzingers Solo Silk, für das sie bei lmPulsTanz 2012 den Prix Jardin d’Europe gewonnen hat. Neben weiteren Zusammenarbeiten mit Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) zeigte Holzinger 2015 auch das Solo Recovery, in dem sie das Trauma eines schweren Unfalls, den sie bei einer Performance erlitten hatte, verarbeitete.

floholzinger.wordpress.com

 
Fr23. 
Feb
21.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Florentina Holzinger & Karin Cerny

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Am 23. Februar findet im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Apollon ein Gespräch mit der profil-Kulturjournalistin Karin Cerny und Florentina Holziger statt...

Florentina Holzinger (AT)
Do22.
Sa24. 
Feb
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

Restkarten an der Abendkassa erhätlich.

Ab 18 Jahren

In einigen Szenen der Performance Apollon kommen selbstverletzende Handlungen zur Darstellung, die auf manche Zuschauer_innen eine verstörende Wirkung haben könnten.

„Sie zitieren Balanchine in einer ironischen Feier der Schönheit. Die Lyra wird zum Henkersbeil, der Gott ist ein Rodeo-Stierautomat und den Weg zum Parnass beschreiten sie in einer mit Dildos verknüpften Polonaise, garantiert nicht unplugged. Ein überlegen kluger, angstfreier, grandioser Abend.“ — Egbert Tholl/Süddeutsche Zeitung

Florentina Holzinger kennt keine Berührungsängste, wenn es darum geht, ungewöhnliche Genres neu zu remixen. Seit 2011 bereichert sie die internationale Performanceszene mit schwindelerregender Akrobatik, muskulösen Frauenkörpern und Martial-Arts-Kampfszenen – popkulturelle Referenzen und ein Faible für Trash kommen dabei nicht zu kurz. In ihrer neuesten Arbeit Apollon erobern sechs nackte Frauen George Balanchines gleichnamiges neoklassisches Ballett aus dem Jahr 1928, das vom Gott der Künste und seinen drei Musen handelt. Holzinger und ihre Kolleginnen haben jedoch anderes im Sinn, als um den Posterboy des Olymp zu tänzeln. Sie sind selbst die Stars dieser Show. Dabei haben sie teils bizarre und waghalsige Tricks auf Lager. Mit schwarzem Humor und Elementen der Zirkus-Freakshow und der 1960er-Jahre-Live-Art bewaffnet zielen die Performerinnen auf den neoliberalen Körperkult und dessen voyeuristische Mechanismen. Sie werfen in Spitzenschuhen und mit olympischen Gewichten auf ihren Schultern den eitlen Gott von seinem Thron auf dem Parnass.

Credits

Konzept und Performance
Florentina Holzinger
mit
Renée Copraij, Evelyn Frantti, Florentina Holzinger, Annina Lara Maria Machaz, Xana Novais, Maria Netti Nüganen
Sound Design
Stephan Schneider
Dramaturgie
Sara Ostertag & Michele Rizzo
Bühnenbild
Nikola Knežević
Coaching
Btissame Amadour
Beratung
Manu Scheiwiller & Fernando Belfiore
Technische Leitung
Bram Geldhof, Anne Meeussen & Maarten Van Trigt
Eine Produktion von CAMPO in Koproduktion mit Münchner Kammerspiele, La Bâtie, Festival de Genève, Frascati Productions Amsterdam, Steirischer Herbst Graz, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt and Sophiensaele Berlin. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.
Florentina
Holzinger

(geb. 1986 in Wien) hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Sie spielt in all ihren Arbeiten bewusst mit der Grenzverschiebung zwischen Hochkultur und Entertainment. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), die erste gemeinsame Arbeit von Florentina Holzinger und Vincent Riebeek, brachte den beiden auf Anhieb den Ruf als „provokanteste Nachwuchschoreograf_innen“ ein.

Kurz danach folgte Florentina Holzingers Solo Silk, für das sie bei lmPulsTanz 2012 den Prix Jardin d’Europe gewonnen hat. Neben weiteren Zusammenarbeiten mit Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) zeigte Holzinger 2015 auch das Solo Recovery, in dem sie das Trauma eines schweren Unfalls, den sie bei einer Performance erlitten hatte, verarbeitete.

floholzinger.wordpress.com

 
Fr23. 
Feb
21.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Florentina Holzinger & Karin Cerny

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Am 23. Februar findet im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Apollon ein Gespräch mit der profil-Kulturjournalistin Karin Cerny und Florentina Holziger statt...

 
Loading