Force Majeure

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / ATASH عطش
Dance
Ulduz
Ahmad-
zadeh,

born in Tehran, started dancing in a country in which it is still prohibited. In defiance of state censorship, she performed regularly with company Harekat from 1999 until 2004. She was subsequently incarcerated. After her release, she started her own dance company, which continued to be highly critical of the political system.

Ahmadzadeh studied directing at the art university Soureh in Tehran, contemporary dance pedagogy at MUK in Vienna and Social Design at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. Her contemporary dance company ATASH (formerly tanz.labor.labyrinth), which was founded in 2012, specifically addresses socio-political issues and cultural hierarchies.

atashworks.com

 
Mon15. 
Mar
18.00/
Zoom
Educational

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh

Artist Talk

Educational

In a Zoom live talk, choreographer Ulduz Ahmadzadeh will shine some light on the working process of Force...

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / ATASH عطش
Sat13.
Tue16. 
Mar
19.30 /
Online

VoD available until Tue 16 March, 19.30.

“Justice will be served just when most people will have given up hope. I miss you.”  — N.S. / Human Rights advocate and activist

Force Majeure. An act of nature. Something that cannot be prevented. Like the elements, like a burning desire or the drive to free oneself. But what does freedom mean, what is justice? What price is every one of us willing to pay for it? And who else will be affected by this decision?

Following the performance of Undercover at the 2019 Rakete festival, this will be the second part of Ulduz Ahmadzadeh’s trilogy in which she presents the stories of women from Muslim societies – without giving in to stereotypes. In Force Majeure, the focus will be on women who have joined the resistance, who have been incarcerated and tortured, and who are continuously risking their lives. The starting point for her extensive research was documentary material, such as letters from detained activists, and historic Persian dances, which were originally only performed by men and which were thought to “mentally and physically prepare men to confront and fight the enemy”. Gently revised by Ahmadzadeh, these dances will be presented in Force Majeure as a choreography for three female dancers. What will be the consequences for political female activists and their friends and family when they engage in confrontation? What about personal relationships in times of political oppression? And what contradictions will remain, regardless of all the acts of bravery and sacrifice?

Force Majeure will give no answers, but it will address these issues boldly – without indulging in populist slogans – by acknowledging emotional and personal aspects that have too often been silenced in discussions about activism.

Credits

Concept, choreography
Ulduz Ahmadzadeh
Concept, dramaturgy
Johanna Figl
Performance
Desi Bonato, Magdalena Chowaniec, Cristina Sandino, Emma Wiederhold
Composition, live music
Maya Contreras
Stage design, costume
Till Jasper Krappmann
Light design
Veronika Mayerböck
Assistant stage, costume
Isabela Voicu
Production, PR
Yasamin Nikseresht Masooleh, Maiko Karner Sakurai
Video
Maximilian Pramatarov, Nestor Kovachev, André Harm
Video sound
Marlene Brüggemann
Make-up
Savitry Hehl
Translations
Shirin Farshbaf
A co-production by ATASH, Tanzquartier Wien and Be My Guest – International network for the emerging practices. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport. Thanks to Amnesty International for supporting the research. A special thanks to all women sharing their stories with us.
Ulduz
Ahmad-
zadeh,

born in Tehran, started dancing in a country in which it is still prohibited. In defiance of state censorship, she performed regularly with company Harekat from 1999 until 2004. She was subsequently incarcerated. After her release, she started her own dance company, which continued to be highly critical of the political system.

Ahmadzadeh studied directing at the art university Soureh in Tehran, contemporary dance pedagogy at MUK in Vienna and Social Design at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. Her contemporary dance company ATASH (formerly tanz.labor.labyrinth), which was founded in 2012, specifically addresses socio-political issues and cultural hierarchies.

atashworks.com

 
Mon15. 
Mar
18.00/
Zoom
Educational

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh

Artist Talk

Educational

In a Zoom live talk, choreographer Ulduz Ahmadzadeh will shine some light on the working process of Force...

 
Loading

Force Majeure

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / ATASH عطش
Tanz
Ulduz
Ahmad-
zadeh,

geboren in Teheran, begann in einem Land zu tanzen, in dem das per Gesetz verboten ist. Trotz Zensur trat sie von 1999 bis 2004 mit der Kompanie Harekat auf, weswegen sie verhaftet wurde. Daraufhin gründete sie ihre eigene Gruppe, mit der sie ihre systemkritische Arbeit begann.

Ahmadzadeh studierte Regie an der Kunstuniversität Soureh in Teheran, zeitgenössische Tanzpädagogik an der MUK in Wien und Social Design an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Seit 2012 leitet sie die zeitgenössische Tanzkompanie ATASH (ehemals tanz.labor.labyrinth), mit der sie sozialpolitische Themen und Fragen zu kulturellen Hierarchien behandelt.

atashworks.com

 
Mo15. 
Mär
18 Uhr/
Zoom
Vermittlung

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

In einem Zoom-Live-Talk erläutert Choreografin Ulduz Ahmadzadeh im Gespräch mit der Menschenrechtsexpertin Anna Müller-Funk Bezugspunkte ihrer jüngsten Arbeit...

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / ATASH عطش
Sa13.
Di16. 
Mär
19.30 Uhr/
Online

Verfügbar bis Di, 16. März, 19.30 Uhr

„Die Gerechtigkeit kommt genau zu jenem Zeitpunkt, wenn die meisten die Hoffnung aufgegeben haben. Ich vermisse dich.“ — N. S. / Menschenrechtsanwältin und Aktivistin

Force Majeure. Eine höhere Gewalt. Etwas, das sich nicht unterdrücken lässt. Wie eine Naturgewalt, eine tiefe Sehnsucht oder der Drang, sich zu befreien. Aber was bedeutet Freiheit, und was Gerechtigkeit? Welchen Preis ist jede*r bereit, dafür zu bezahlen? Und wer bezahlt diesen Preis mit?

Nach Undercover (2019 beim Festival Rakete uraufgeführt) folgt der zweite Teil der Trilogie, in der Ulduz Ahmadzadeh Frauen aus muslimisch geprägten Gesellschaften in den Fokus rückt – jenseits von stereotypen Repräsentationen. In Force Majeure sind es Mütter im Widerstand, die Haft, Folter oder sogar ihr Leben riskieren. Dokumentarisches Material wie Briefe inhaftierter Aktivistinnen waren der Ausgangspunkt einer intensiven Recherche, ebenso wie historische persische Tänze, die ausschließlich von Männern getanzt wurden und „körperlich und mental darauf vorbereiteten, gegen Feinde zu kämpfen oder sie zu konfrontieren“. Einer behutsamen choreografischen Bearbeitung unterzogen, werden die Tänze in Force Majeure von drei Tänzerinnen performt. Was bedeutet es für politische Aktivistinnen und ihr Umfeld, die Konfrontation zu suchen und die Konsequenzen zu tragen? Wie verlaufen persönliche Beziehungen in Zeiten politischer Unterdrückung? Und welche Widersprüche lassen sich durch Mut und Opferbereitschaft nicht aufheben?

Force Majeure bietet keine Antworten, aber eine Annäherung ohne Scheuklappen, jenseits politischer Meinungsmache und in tiefer Offenheit gegenüber oft verschwiegenen emotionalen und persönlichen Komponenten innerhalb der Auseinandersetzung mit Aktivismus.

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie
Ulduz Ahmadzadeh
Konzept, Dramaturgie
Johanna Figl
Performance
Desi Bonato, Magdalena Chowaniec, Cristina Sandino, Emma Wiederhold
Komposition, Livemusik
Maya Contreras
Bühnendesign, Kostüm
Till Jasper Krappmann
Lichtdesign
Veronika Mayerböck
Assistenz Bühne, Kostüm
Isabela Voicu
Produktion, PR
Yasamin Nikseresht Masooleh, Maiko Karner Sakurai
Video
Maximilian Pramatarov, Nestor Kovachev, André Harm
Videoton
Marlene Brüggemann
Maske
Savitry Hehl
Übersetzungen
Shirin Farshbaf
Eine Koproduktion von ATASH mit Tanzquartier Wien und Be My Guest – International network for the emerging practices. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und des Bundesministeriums für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport. Dank an Amnesty International für die Unterstützung bei der Recherche. Ein besonderer Dank gilt allen Frauen, die ihre Geschichten mit uns geteilt haben.
Ulduz
Ahmad-
zadeh,

geboren in Teheran, begann in einem Land zu tanzen, in dem das per Gesetz verboten ist. Trotz Zensur trat sie von 1999 bis 2004 mit der Kompanie Harekat auf, weswegen sie verhaftet wurde. Daraufhin gründete sie ihre eigene Gruppe, mit der sie ihre systemkritische Arbeit begann.

Ahmadzadeh studierte Regie an der Kunstuniversität Soureh in Teheran, zeitgenössische Tanzpädagogik an der MUK in Wien und Social Design an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Seit 2012 leitet sie die zeitgenössische Tanzkompanie ATASH (ehemals tanz.labor.labyrinth), mit der sie sozialpolitische Themen und Fragen zu kulturellen Hierarchien behandelt.

atashworks.com

 
Mo15. 
Mär
18 Uhr/
Zoom
Vermittlung

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

In einem Zoom-Live-Talk erläutert Choreografin Ulduz Ahmadzadeh im Gespräch mit der Menschenrechtsexpertin Anna Müller-Funk Bezugspunkte ihrer jüngsten Arbeit...

 
Loading