I’m Thinking of You

Franko B (IT/GB)
Performance
 
Franko B

(b. 1960 in Milan) fled to London at the age of 19 to evade military service and study art. Originally interested in ceramics art and sculpture, Franko B is best known for his radical performances involving self-injury, which have caused a sensation time and again since the 1990s.

Most of his works are perfect visual arrangements, memorable compositions that step up against today’s flood of images. In his sculptures, for example, the trained sculptor monumentalises ephemeral media images by “immortalising” them in marble or metal.

franko-b.com

Franko B (IT/GB)
Thu25./
21.30
Jan
Thu25. 
22.30
Jan
TQW Studios

Limited space

Part of TQW Reopening

“The life and work of Franko B is situated somewhere between isolation and seduction, benevolence and confrontation, suffering and eroticism, punk and poetry. It is a certain type of schizophrenia that finds a balance, dramatically undermining the status quo.” Becky Haghpanah-Shirwan

Supported by music from composer Helen Ottaway, Franko B creates a surreal dream setting in the performance I’m Thinking of You. While the naked body plays a central role as in all the Italian choreographer’s performances, in this piece it is also the theatrical presentation of objects and music that takes the audience on a contemplative journey. I’m Thinking of You conceives a romantic utopia of child-like imagination and carefreeness. A toy from Franko B’s childhood served as inspiration for this piece, and he has turned it into a sculpture for the performance.

Credits

Performance
Franko B
Music
Helen Ottaway
Franko B

(b. 1960 in Milan) fled to London at the age of 19 to evade military service and study art. Originally interested in ceramics art and sculpture, Franko B is best known for his radical performances involving self-injury, which have caused a sensation time and again since the 1990s.

Most of his works are perfect visual arrangements, memorable compositions that step up against today’s flood of images. In his sculptures, for example, the trained sculptor monumentalises ephemeral media images by “immortalising” them in marble or metal.

franko-b.com

 
Loading

I’m Thinking of You

Franko B (IT/GB)
Performance
 
Franko B I’m Thinking of You
© Hugo Glendinning
Franko B

(geb. 1960 in Mailand) floh mit 19 Jahren nach London, um dem Militärdienst zu entgehen und Kunst zu studieren. Ursprünglich von der Keramikkunst und der Skulptur kommend ist Franko B vor allem für seine radikalen, von Selbstverletzungen geprägten Performances bekannt, die seit den 1990er-Jahren immer wieder für Aufsehen sorgen.

Seine Arbeiten sind oft perfekte visuelle Arrangements, einprägsame Kompositionen, die gegen die Bilderflut der heutigen Zeit antreten. In seinen Skulpturen etwa monumentalisiert der ausgebildete Bildhauer ephemere mediale Bilder, indem er sie in Marmor oder in Metall „verewigt“.

franko-b.com

Franko B (IT/GB)
Do25./
21.30 Uhr
Jan
Do25. 
22.30 Uhr
Jan
TQW Studios

Begrenzte Platzanzahl

Im Rahmen der TQW Neueröffnung

“The life and work of Franko B is situated somewhere between isolation and seduction, benevolence and confrontation, suffering and eroticism, punk and poetry. It is a certain type of schizophrenia that finds a balance, dramatically undermining the status quo.” Becky Haghpanah-Shirwan

In der Performance I’m Thinking of You entwirft Franko B unterstützt von der Musik der Komponistin Helen Ottaway ein surreales Traumsetting. Zwar spielt wie in allen Performances des Italieners der nackte Körper eine zentrale Rolle, aber in dieser Arbeit sind es auch die Inszenierung der Objekte und die Musik, die die Betrachter_innen auf eine kontemplative Reise schicken. I’m Thinking of You dreht sich um die romantische Utopie kindlicher Fantasie und Unbekümmertheit. Die Inspiration für die Performance lieferte ein Spielzeug aus Franko Bs Kindheit, das er für die Performance in eine Skulptur verwandelt hat.

Credits

Performance
Franko B
Musik
Helen Ottaway
Franko B

(geb. 1960 in Mailand) floh mit 19 Jahren nach London, um dem Militärdienst zu entgehen und Kunst zu studieren. Ursprünglich von der Keramikkunst und der Skulptur kommend ist Franko B vor allem für seine radikalen, von Selbstverletzungen geprägten Performances bekannt, die seit den 1990er-Jahren immer wieder für Aufsehen sorgen.

Seine Arbeiten sind oft perfekte visuelle Arrangements, einprägsame Kompositionen, die gegen die Bilderflut der heutigen Zeit antreten. In seinen Skulpturen etwa monumentalisiert der ausgebildete Bildhauer ephemere mediale Bilder, indem er sie in Marmor oder in Metall „verewigt“.

franko-b.com

 
Loading