Talk to me of Mendocino

Philipp Gehmacher (AT) & Marino Formenti (IT)
performatives Konzert
 
© Gehmacher/Formenti
Philipp
Gehmacher

is a choreographer, dancer and visual artist, living and working in Vienna. He uses the body and language as forms of expression, built and institutional space as well as things, objects and sculptures in his artistic works. Philipp Gehmacher presents his creations located between black box and white cube at international theatre festivals and in exhibition institutions. He also works as a mentor and teacher at prestigious training institutions including P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels, HZT in Berlin, DOCH in Stockholm and the University of Salzburg.

philippgehmacher.net

Marino
Formenti

, celebrated as a “Glenn Gould for the 21st century” by the LA Times, has made a name for himself, among other things, with performances that challenge the concert format. His major projects include Kurtag’s Ghosts and Liszt Inspections. In the long-term performance NOWHERE (e.g. Berlin Festival) he performed and lived round-the-clock in a publicly accessible space for several weeks. One to One (e.g. Art Basel) is a two-hour musical encounter with one listener each. Collaborations with Ann Liv Young (brut Vienna), Tim Etchells, Florian Pumhösl, Rodrigo García and many more.

Philipp Gehmacher (AT) & Marino Formenti (IT)
Sat27. 
Jan
20.45/
Kunsthalle Wien

Choreographer and visual artist Philipp Gehmacher has joined forces with pianist and performer Marino Formenti for the first time to celebrate the reopening of TQW. They share an inclination and a curiosity for dispensing with hierarchies, for subverting the conventions of watching and listening in their respective trades. It all starts with fundamental questions: “…turning a verbal statement into song, to singing together, how is that supposed to work? The voice as a gesture behind the mic? Possibly some sort of stand-up, almost like spoken word, maybe…and here and there a song in between, this tiny capsule of a narrative.” (Philipp Gehmacher) It is also “the projecting of musical thoughts onto other levels, because the music just isn’t a product of sound. Instead, it’s causing the air – which itself has consequences and suffers consequences – to vibrate.” (Marino Formenti) Everything is still possible as yet. A process – a unique encounter with an open end.

Credits

Concept and performance
Marino Formenti und Philipp Gehmacher
Production
Stephanie Leonhardt
A co-production of Tanzquartier Wien and Philipp Gehmacher/Mumbling Fish. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna.
The performance will take place by invitation of Tanzquartier Wien in collaboration with Kunsthalle Wien.
Philipp
Gehmacher

is a choreographer, dancer and visual artist, living and working in Vienna. He uses the body and language as forms of expression, built and institutional space as well as things, objects and sculptures in his artistic works. Philipp Gehmacher presents his creations located between black box and white cube at international theatre festivals and in exhibition institutions. He also works as a mentor and teacher at prestigious training institutions including P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels, HZT in Berlin, DOCH in Stockholm and the University of Salzburg.

philippgehmacher.net

Marino
Formenti

, celebrated as a “Glenn Gould for the 21st century” by the LA Times, has made a name for himself, among other things, with performances that challenge the concert format. His major projects include Kurtag’s Ghosts and Liszt Inspections. In the long-term performance NOWHERE (e.g. Berlin Festival) he performed and lived round-the-clock in a publicly accessible space for several weeks. One to One (e.g. Art Basel) is a two-hour musical encounter with one listener each. Collaborations with Ann Liv Young (brut Vienna), Tim Etchells, Florian Pumhösl, Rodrigo García and many more.

 
Loading

Talk to me of Mendocino

Philipp Gehmacher (AT) & Marino Formenti (IT)
performatives Konzert
 
Philipp Gehmacher & Marino Formenti
© Gehmacher/Formenti
Philipp
Gehmacher

ist Choreograf, Tänzer und bildender Künstler, er lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Seine künstlerische Arbeiten verwenden Körper und Sprache als Formen der Äußerung, den gebauten wie den institutionellen Raum wie das Ding, das Objekt und die Skulptur. Mit seinen Arbeiten zwischen Black Box und White Cube ist Philipp Gehmacher international auf Theaterfestivals und in Ausstellungsinstitutionen vertreten. Er ist zudem Mentor und Lehrer an renommierten Ausbildungsinstitutionen wie P.A.R.T.S in Brüssel, HZT in Berlin, DOCH in Stockholm und Universität Salzburg.

philippgehmacher.net

Marino
Formenti

, von der LA Times als „Glenn Gould for the 21st Century“ gepriesen, hat sich u. a. durch Performances einen Namen gemacht, die das Konzertformat hinterfragen. Zu seinen wichtigsten Projekten zählen Kurtag’s Ghosts und Liszt Inspections. In der Langzeitperformance NOWHERE (u. a.Berliner Festspiele) spielte und lebte er mehrere Wochen ununterbrochen in einem öffentlich zugänglichen Raum. One to One (u. a. Art Basel) ist eine zweistündige musikalische Begegnung mit jeweils einer/einem Zuhörer_in. Kollaborationen mit Ann Liv Young (brut Wien), Tim Etchells, Florian Pumhösl, Rodrigo García u. v. m.

Philipp Gehmacher (AT) & Marino Formenti (IT)
Sa27. 
Jan
20.45 Uhr/
Kunsthalle Wien

im Rahmen der TQW Neueröffnung

Für die Neueröffnung des TQW treffen der Choreograf und bildende Künstler Philipp Gehmacher und der Pianist und Performer Marino Formenti erstmals aufeinander. Ihnen gemeinsam sind die Lust und die Neugier, Hierarchien hinter sich zu lassen, die Seh- und Hörgewohnheiten ihres Metiers zu unterwandern. Alles beginnt mit grundsätzlichen Fragen: „… von der verbalen Äußerung zum Singen kommen, zum Miteinandersingen, wie soll das gehen? Die Stimme als Geste hinter dem Mikro? Vielleicht: … eine Art Stand-up, vielleicht sogar fast Spoken Word … und dazwischen immer wieder ein Song, diese kleine Kapsel einer Erzählung“ (PG). Es ist auch „das Projizieren musikalischer Gedanken auf andere Ebenen, weil die Musik eben kein Klangprodukt ist, sondern das In-Schwingung-Bringen einer Luft, die Konsequenzen hat und Konsequenzen erleidet“ (MF). Noch ist alles möglich. Ein Prozess – eine einmalige Begegnung mit offenem Ausgang.

 

Credits

Von und mit
Marino Formenti und Philipp Gehmacher
Produktion
Stephanie Leonhardt
Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien und Mumbling Fish/Philipp Gehmacher. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.
Die Performance erfolgt auf Einladung von Tanzquartier Wien in Kooperation mit der Kunsthalle Wien.
Philipp
Gehmacher

ist Choreograf, Tänzer und bildender Künstler, er lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Seine künstlerische Arbeiten verwenden Körper und Sprache als Formen der Äußerung, den gebauten wie den institutionellen Raum wie das Ding, das Objekt und die Skulptur. Mit seinen Arbeiten zwischen Black Box und White Cube ist Philipp Gehmacher international auf Theaterfestivals und in Ausstellungsinstitutionen vertreten. Er ist zudem Mentor und Lehrer an renommierten Ausbildungsinstitutionen wie P.A.R.T.S in Brüssel, HZT in Berlin, DOCH in Stockholm und Universität Salzburg.

philippgehmacher.net

Marino
Formenti

, von der LA Times als „Glenn Gould for the 21st Century“ gepriesen, hat sich u. a. durch Performances einen Namen gemacht, die das Konzertformat hinterfragen. Zu seinen wichtigsten Projekten zählen Kurtag’s Ghosts und Liszt Inspections. In der Langzeitperformance NOWHERE (u. a.Berliner Festspiele) spielte und lebte er mehrere Wochen ununterbrochen in einem öffentlich zugänglichen Raum. One to One (u. a. Art Basel) ist eine zweistündige musikalische Begegnung mit jeweils einer/einem Zuhörer_in. Kollaborationen mit Ann Liv Young (brut Wien), Tim Etchells, Florian Pumhösl, Rodrigo García u. v. m.

 
Loading