Gentle Unicorn

Chiara Bersani
Dance
© Alice Brazzit 
Chiara
Bersani

works mainly in the fields of fine arts and performing arts. Being an actor and performer, she has worked with renowned contemporary performance artists such as Rodrigo Garcia, Jérôme Bel and Alessandro Sciarroni.

Bersani’s research also focuses on politics of the body. Her solo Gentle Unicorn, previously invited to aerowaves, can be understood as this research’s ‘manifesto’. In 2019, she received the UBU Best Newcomer Award for Performers under 35 as well as the Total Theatre Award for Dance at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

chiarabersani.it

Chiara Bersani
Thu02./
Fri03. 
Apr
19.30 /
TQW Studios

50 minutes

+++ Event cancelled +++

More info

What if the iconic image of the unicorn was only derived from the falsely identified depiction of an ox from the Bronze Age? According to historians, the two-dimensional portrayal is responsible for the missing second horn. Whatever the case, the origins of this creature – a phenomenon in today’s popular culture – cannot be traced. Collective thought has made the unicorn a mythological figure without a coherent myth to justify its existence; the unicorn has become a symbol of extinction and fragility.

In Gentle Unicorn, a work about the political body and its social role, Chiara Bersani dedicates her flesh, muscles, bones, heart, eyes and breath to the image and unfathomable being of the unicorn, to right the wrong that has been done to it and to reframe its role in history. Gentle Unicorn will give examples of how to fight off social stigmatisation and voyeuristic behaviour. Or how to subvert them. In short: a solo of subtle elegance.

Watch trailer

Credits

Concept, Performance
Chiara Bersani
Sound design
Fra De Isabella
Stage management
Paolo Tizianel
Light
Valeria Foti
Dramaturgical advisor
Luca Poncetta, Gaia Clotilde Chernetih
Movement coach
Marta Ciappina
Artistic advisor
Marco D’Agostin
Styling
Elisa Orlandini
Production management
Eleonora Cavallo
Administrative advisor
Chiara Fava
Distribution, communication
Giulia Traversi
Production
Associazione Culturale Corpoceleste_C.C.00#
Coproduction
Santarcangelo Festival, CSC – Centro per la Scena Contemporanea (Bassano del Grappa)
With support from
Centrale Fies (Drò), Graner (Barcelona), Carrozzerie/N.o.T. (Rome), CapoTrave/Kilowatt (Sansepolcro), ResiDance XL – luoghi e progetti di residenza per creazioni coreografiche azione della Rete Anticorpi XL – Network giovane danza d’Autore coordinata da L’arboreto – Teatro Dimora di Mondaino.
Chiara
Bersani

works mainly in the fields of fine arts and performing arts. Being an actor and performer, she has worked with renowned contemporary performance artists such as Rodrigo Garcia, Jérôme Bel and Alessandro Sciarroni.

Bersani’s research also focuses on politics of the body. Her solo Gentle Unicorn, previously invited to aerowaves, can be understood as this research’s ‘manifesto’. In 2019, she received the UBU Best Newcomer Award for Performers under 35 as well as the Total Theatre Award for Dance at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

chiarabersani.it

 
Loading

Gentle Unicorn

Chiara Bersani
Tanz
© Alice Brazzit 
Chiara
Bersani

entwickelt Arbeiten im Bereich der bildenden und der darstellenden Künste. Als Schauspielerin und Performerin hat sie mit Größen der zeitgenössischen europäischen Performanceszene wie Rodrigo Garcia, Jérôme Bel und Alessandro Sciarroni zusammengearbeitet. Zudem forscht sie zu Körperpolitiken.

Das „Manifest“ ihrer Recherche ist das Stück Gentle Unicorn, das u. a. bei der Aerowaves-Plattform zu sehen war. 2019 wurde sie mit dem UBU Award als beste Nachwuchsschauspieler*in/-performer*in unter 35 ausgezeichnet und bekam den Total Theatre Award in der Kategorie Tanz beim Fringe Festival in Edinburgh.

chiarabersani.it

Chiara Bersani
Do02./
Fr03. 
Apr
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios
€ 15/10

50 Minuten

+++ Veranstaltung abgesagt +++

Weitere Informationen

Was wäre, wenn das Einhorn nur ein falsch interpretierter Ochse aus einer bronzezeitlichen Darstellung wäre? Historiker*innen behaupten, dass durch die zweidimensionale Ikonografie das zweite Horn hinter dem ersten versteckt sei. Die Ursprünge der Kreatur – heute ein popkulturelles Phänomen – liegen im Verborgenen. Im kollektiven Gedächtnis wurde das Einhorn zur mythologischen Figur ohne Mythos, der dessen Existenz begründen könnte; zum Symbol der Ausrottung und der Zerbrechlichkeit.

In ihrem Stück über den politischen Körper und dessen soziale Rolle widmet Chiara Bersani ihr Fleisch, ihre Muskeln, ihre Knochen, ihr Herz, ihre Augen und ihren Atem dem Einhorn, um es vom erlittenen Unrecht zu befreien und eine neue Geschichte präsentieren zu können. Gentle Unicorn zeigt, wie man gesellschaftliche Zuschreibungen und voyeuristische Blicke erwidert. Oder sie elegant unterwandert. Kurzum: ein Solo von subtiler Schönheit.

Trailer ansehen

Credits

Von und mit
Chiara Bersani
Sounddesign
Fra De Isabella
Inspizient
Paolo Tizianel
Licht
Valeria Foti
Dramaturgische Beratung
Luca Poncetta, Gaia Clotilde Chernetih
Bewegungscoaching
Marta Ciappina
Künstlerische Beratung
Marco D’Agostin
Maske
Elisa Orlandini
Produktionsleitung
Eleonora Cavallo
Administrative Beratung
Chiara Fava
Distribution, Kommunikation
Giulia Traversi
Eine Produktion von Associazione Culturale Corpoceleste_C.C.00# in Koproduktion mit Santarcangelo Festival, CSC – Centro per la Scena Contemporanea (Bassano del Grappa) mit Unterstützung von Centrale Fies (Drò), Graner (Barcelona), Carrozzerie/N.o.T. (Rom), CapoTrave/Kilowatt (Sansepolcro), ResiDance XL – luoghi e progetti di residenza per creazioni coreografiche azione della Rete Anticorpi XL – Network giovane danza d’Autore coordinata da L’arboreto – Teatro Dimora di Mondaino.
Chiara
Bersani

entwickelt Arbeiten im Bereich der bildenden und der darstellenden Künste. Als Schauspielerin und Performerin hat sie mit Größen der zeitgenössischen europäischen Performanceszene wie Rodrigo Garcia, Jérôme Bel und Alessandro Sciarroni zusammengearbeitet. Zudem forscht sie zu Körperpolitiken.

Das „Manifest“ ihrer Recherche ist das Stück Gentle Unicorn, das u. a. bei der Aerowaves-Plattform zu sehen war. 2019 wurde sie mit dem UBU Award als beste Nachwuchsschauspieler*in/-performer*in unter 35 ausgezeichnet und bekam den Total Theatre Award in der Kategorie Tanz beim Fringe Festival in Edinburgh.

chiarabersani.it

 
Loading