The labor and leisure of foreplay: on pleasure, value and event in artistic production

Giulia Palladini (IT)
Theory/Lecture
 
Giulia
Palladini

is Senior Lecturer in the Department of Drama, Theatre and Performance at the University of Roehampton in London. She is an Alexander von Humboldt fellow (2012–2014), and she has taught as Guest Professor in a number of international institutions, such as the Universidad Nacional de Colombia in Bogotá and SNDO (School for New Dance Development) in Amsterdam. Her research focuses especially on performance labour and free time,

the affective archive, and materialist theories of artistic production. Her texts have appeared in several international journals, and she has collaborated as a theorist and curator in a number of critical and artistic projects. She is the author of the book The Scene of Foreplay: Theatre, Labor and Leisure in 1960s New York (Northwestern University Press, 2017) and co-editor of Lexicon for an Affective Archive (Slowo/obraz/terytoria. 2015; Intellect/LADA, 2017).

Giulia Palladini (IT)
Fri20. 
Apr
18.00/
TQW Studios

In English

Giulia Palladini’s lecture focuses on the idea of foreplay, a theoretical framework she has been developing in her work over the last couple of years to discuss a particular mode of performance production existing outside of predetermined structures of recognition in terms of professionalism, artistic achievement, and a logic of eventfulness. Borrowing the term and the concept from sexual terminology, she refers to foreplay as the condition of prolonged preliminarity in which artistic labour exists before and beyond its potential value realisation, as well as the possibility to disobey the logic of progressive time determining a supposed realisation of value: the accomplishment of a project, the climax of an event or the retrospective attribution of value to previously unpaid labour. In Palladini’s proposed use of the concept, foreplay denotes a peculiar temporality of artistic production, which can be considered both as paradigmatic for contemporary forms of precarious labour (too often suspended in a condition of eternal preliminarity) and also functioning as a counterforce within productive economy, as a prelude in which labour has not yet been assigned a value. The idea of foreplay shall be discussed not in light of a negative ontology – as a practice which is not yet, or not quite “the real thing” – but, on the contrary, as an affirmative horizon for a different measurement of temporality in pleasure and in production.

Giulia
Palladini

is Senior Lecturer in the Department of Drama, Theatre and Performance at the University of Roehampton in London. She is an Alexander von Humboldt fellow (2012–2014), and she has taught as Guest Professor in a number of international institutions, such as the Universidad Nacional de Colombia in Bogotá and SNDO (School for New Dance Development) in Amsterdam. Her research focuses especially on performance labour and free time,

the affective archive, and materialist theories of artistic production. Her texts have appeared in several international journals, and she has collaborated as a theorist and curator in a number of critical and artistic projects. She is the author of the book The Scene of Foreplay: Theatre, Labor and Leisure in 1960s New York (Northwestern University Press, 2017) and co-editor of Lexicon for an Affective Archive (Slowo/obraz/terytoria. 2015; Intellect/LADA, 2017).

 
Loading

The labor and leisure of foreplay: on pleasure, value and event in artistic production

Giulia Palladini (IT)
Theorie/Vortrag
 
© Charla Guayaquil
Giulia
Palladini

ist Senior Lecturer in der Abteilung für Drama, Theater und Performance an der Universität von Roehampton in London. Sie ist Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stipendiatin (2012–2014) und hat als Gastprofessorin an einer Reihe internationaler Institutionen wie der Universidad Nacional de Colombia in Bogotá und der SNDO (School for New Dance Development) in Amsterdam gelehrt. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich vor allem auf Performancearbeit und Freizeit, das Archiv

und materialistische Theorien der künstlerischen Produktion. Ihre Texte erschienen in mehreren internationalen Zeitschriften, zudem hat sie als Theoretikerin und Kuratorin an einer Reihe von kritischen und künstlerischen Projekten mitgearbeitet. Palladini ist Autorin der Publikation The Scene of Foreplay: Theatre, Labor and Leisure in 1960s New York (2017) und Mitherausgeberin von Lexicon for an Affective Archive (2015).

Giulia Palladini (IT)
Fr20. 
Apr
18 Uhr/
TQW Studios

In englischer Sprache

Giulia Palladinis Vortrag konzentriert sich auf die Idee des Vorspiels – den Begriff und das Konzept hat sie aus der Terminologie der Sexualität entlehnt. Dabei geht es um die Bedingung verlängerter Vorläufigkeit, in der künstlerische Arbeit vor, aber auch nach ihrer potenziellen Verwirklichung existiert, sowie um die Möglichkeit, die Logik der Zeit zu missachten, die einer potenziellen Verwirklichung innewohnt: die Durchführung eines Projekts, der Höhepunkt eines Ereignisses oder die rückwirkende Zuschreibung von bisher unbezahlter Arbeit. In Palladinis Konzept bedeutet Vorspiel eine eigentümliche Zeitlichkeit künstlerischer Produktion, die sowohl als paradigmatisch für zeitgenössische Formen prekärer Arbeit (zu oft in einem Zustand ewiger Vorläufigkeit schwebend) als auch als Gegenkraft in der produktiven Ökonomie gesehen werden kann, als eine Vorstufe, in der Arbeit noch kein Wert zugewiesen ist. Die Idee des Vorspiels soll nicht im Lichte einer negativen Ontologie diskutiert werden – als eine Praxis, die noch nicht oder nicht ganz „das Reale“ ist –, sondern im Gegenteil als ein affirmativer Horizont für eine andere Messung der Zeitlichkeit von Lust und Produktion.

Giulia
Palladini

ist Senior Lecturer in der Abteilung für Drama, Theater und Performance an der Universität von Roehampton in London. Sie ist Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stipendiatin (2012–2014) und hat als Gastprofessorin an einer Reihe internationaler Institutionen wie der Universidad Nacional de Colombia in Bogotá und der SNDO (School for New Dance Development) in Amsterdam gelehrt. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich vor allem auf Performancearbeit und Freizeit, das Archiv

und materialistische Theorien der künstlerischen Produktion. Ihre Texte erschienen in mehreren internationalen Zeitschriften, zudem hat sie als Theoretikerin und Kuratorin an einer Reihe von kritischen und künstlerischen Projekten mitgearbeitet. Palladini ist Autorin der Publikation The Scene of Foreplay: Theatre, Labor and Leisure in 1960s New York (2017) und Mitherausgeberin von Lexicon for an Affective Archive (2015).

 
Loading