Go for it let go

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Performance
Christine
Gaigg

studied philosophy in Vienna and dance and choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. After many years of collaborating with composers from the genre of Neue Musik (such as Bernhard Lang Maschinenhalle#1, opening event at steirischer herbst 2010, among others), her focus has shifted to the genre of “performance essay”, a format that allows her to address socio-political issues in a way that combines both emotional and analytical approaches. Performances include the productions DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaslav Nijinsky (2013) as well as CLASH (2016), a response to the attacks on the LGBT club Pulse in Orlando.

She has also directed Über Tiere by Elfriede Jelinek (2007), among others. Productions previously shown at TQW include the three parts of Gaigg’s trilogy on the chemistry of desire: Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer? (2014, 2018), the intimate meeting space Meet (2018) and Affair (2019).

 
Sat13. 
Feb
Following the performance/
TQW Halle G
Educational

Christine Gaigg

Artist Talk

Educational

+++ Cancelled +++ Following the second performance of Go for it let go, Christine Gaigg will shine some...

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Thu11.
Sat13. 
Feb
19.30 /
TQW Halle G

No admission under 18 years

In German

+++ Performance postponed +++

The way Christine Gaigg set up her previous performances – Meet (2018) and Affair (2019) – allowed for intimate performative spaces to emerge in which strangers, performers and audience members, could meet; something quite unheard-of these days. Nevertheless, Gaigg continues with her series of performances revolving around sexuality and its social life. At the heart of Go for it let go is the bizarre history of a phenomenon which has been discussed casually, has faced repression and taboos, but also had to be rediscovered: female ejaculation. Representing a confident female sexuality, the female ejaculation addresses the different social and discursive layers at the intersection of self-empowerment and a self-conscious loss of control. Female ejaculation as a performative provocation: what will happen, will happen.

Christine
Gaigg

studied philosophy in Vienna and dance and choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. After many years of collaborating with composers from the genre of Neue Musik (such as Bernhard Lang Maschinenhalle#1, opening event at steirischer herbst 2010, among others), her focus has shifted to the genre of “performance essay”, a format that allows her to address socio-political issues in a way that combines both emotional and analytical approaches. Performances include the productions DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaslav Nijinsky (2013) as well as CLASH (2016), a response to the attacks on the LGBT club Pulse in Orlando.

She has also directed Über Tiere by Elfriede Jelinek (2007), among others. Productions previously shown at TQW include the three parts of Gaigg’s trilogy on the chemistry of desire: Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer? (2014, 2018), the intimate meeting space Meet (2018) and Affair (2019).

 
Sat13. 
Feb
Following the performance/
TQW Halle G
Educational

Christine Gaigg

Artist Talk

Educational

+++ Cancelled +++ Following the second performance of Go for it let go, Christine Gaigg will shine some...

 
Loading

Go for it let go

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Performance
 
Foto: Montage © Twitter @defendpdx @DonovanFarley, Schostek Hanau
Christine
Gaigg

studierte Philo­sophie in Wien sowie Tanz und Choreografie an der SNDO Amsterdam. Nach ihrer langjährigen Kollaboration mit Komponisten (u. a. mit Bernhard Lang Maschi­nenhalle#1, Eröffnung steirischer herbst 2010) beschäftigt sie sich nun vorwiegend mit dem Genre „Performance-Essay“, in dem sie in unterschiedlichen Formaten gesellschaftspolitische Themen so umsetzt, dass eine Spannung zwischen emotionalen und ana­lytischen Momenten entsteht, z. B. DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaclav Nijinsky (2013), untitled (look, look, come closer) (2015) über virale Kriegsbilder, CLASH (2016) zum Attentat auf den LGBT-Club Pulse in Orlando.

Regie u. a. Über Tiere von Elfriede Jelinek (2007, Schweizer EA Theater am Neumarkt Zürich, TQW). Ebenfalls im TQW zu sehen war ihre Trilogie zur Chemie des Begehrens bestehend aus Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer? (2014, 2018), dem intimen Begegnungsformat Meet (2018) und Affair (2019).

 
Sa13. 
Feb
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung/
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Christine Gaigg

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die zweite Vorstellung von Go for it let go erläutert Christine Gaigg im Gespräch mit der...

Christine Gaigg / 2nd nature
Do11.
Sa13. 
Feb
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
€ 20/15/10

Ab 18 Jahren

In deutscher Sprache

Der Ticketverkauf startet im Januar 2021.

Die Ausrichtung der letzten Arbeiten von Christine Gaigg – Meet (2018) und Affair (2019) – ermöglichte innerhalb des performativen Rahmens so etwas wie Intimität zwischen Fremden, zwischen Performer*innen und Publikum, was momentan nicht denkbar wäre. Inhaltlich setzt Gaigg die Serie von Performances zu Sexualität und ihren gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen jedoch fort. Go for it let go thematisiert ein Phänomen, das in einer jahrhundertelangen abenteuerlichen Geschichte zwischen Selbstverständlichkeit, Verdrängung, Tabuisierung und Wiederentdeckung hin und her verhandelt worden ist: die weibliche Ejakulation. Als Emblem selbstbewusster weiblicher Sexualität öffnet sie zwischen den Polen Empowerment und Zulassen von Kontrollverlust ein Spannungsfeld, in dem sich verschiedenste gesellschaftliche Diskurse ein Stelldichein gaben und geben. Weibliche Ejakulation als eine Performance der Provokation: Es soll passieren, was passiert.

Christine
Gaigg

studierte Philo­sophie in Wien sowie Tanz und Choreografie an der SNDO Amsterdam. Nach ihrer langjährigen Kollaboration mit Komponisten (u. a. mit Bernhard Lang Maschi­nenhalle#1, Eröffnung steirischer herbst 2010) beschäftigt sie sich nun vorwiegend mit dem Genre „Performance-Essay“, in dem sie in unterschiedlichen Formaten gesellschaftspolitische Themen so umsetzt, dass eine Spannung zwischen emotionalen und ana­lytischen Momenten entsteht, z. B. DeSacre! Pussy Riot meets Vaclav Nijinsky (2013), untitled (look, look, come closer) (2015) über virale Kriegsbilder, CLASH (2016) zum Attentat auf den LGBT-Club Pulse in Orlando.

Regie u. a. Über Tiere von Elfriede Jelinek (2007, Schweizer EA Theater am Neumarkt Zürich, TQW). Ebenfalls im TQW zu sehen war ihre Trilogie zur Chemie des Begehrens bestehend aus Maybe the way you made love twenty years ago is the answer? (2014, 2018), dem intimen Begegnungsformat Meet (2018) und Affair (2019).

 
Sa13. 
Feb
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung/
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Christine Gaigg

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die zweite Vorstellung von Go for it let go erläutert Christine Gaigg im Gespräch mit der...

 
Loading