Performative Installation 
Doris Uhlich

GOO GOO MAK

Doris Uhlich

studied contemporary dance pedagogy at the Vienna Conservatory, performed for theatercombinat from 2002 until 2009 and has been working on her own projects since 2006. Her performances often address beauty ideals and body norms. Her collaborations mostly include people from different backgrounds and with diverse body shapes. Since more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich’s work has been marked by an interest in nudity that goes beyond ideology and provocation. With her most recent works, she examined the entanglement of human and machine and the future of the human body in times of its surgical and genetic enhancement. She has received many awards and prizes, such as the 2013 Outstanding Artist Award for Performing Arts from the Office of the Federal Chancellor, the 2017 Nestroy Special Award for Ravemachine, together with Michael Turinsky, and the 2019 Audience Award at the Our Stage Festival Dresden for Every Body Electric. Doris Uhlich tours and teaches internationally. She has been a lecturer at Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna since 2015.

dorisuhlich.at

dorisuhlich.at

Credits

Choreography Doris Uhlich Performance Ann Muller Material research Juliette Collas, Philomena Theuretzbacher Technical support Marco Tölzer Production Margot Wehinger International distribution Something Great With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna. Coproduced by Tanzquartier Wien and insert Tanz und Performance GmbH in cooperation with the Museum for Applied Arts / MAK.

GOO GOO MAK

In Doris Uhlich’s performative installation for the Museum of Applied Arts, performer Ann Muller intervenes in the Columned Main Hall with a selection of sequences from the performance Gootopia, which, in this museum version, she performs, varies and remixes in loops.

Slime is a biologically vital substance, triggering different reactions in people: from disgust and unease to curiosity and desire to touch. Slime is neither solid nor liquid, neither internal nor external, and in some cases, both. In Gootopia, slime is both material and performer; it is part of the performance: on, in and between bodies. People and slime touch, interlink, mingle and form alliances while giving rise to new connections; bodily boundaries become fluid. This opens up an ambivalent space between horror and fascination, empathy and disgust, enabling the audience to immerse themselves in the sculptural, scenic and installative quality of material processes.

In cooperation with the MAK – Museum for Applied Arts

Doris Uhlich

studied contemporary dance pedagogy at the Vienna Conservatory, performed for theatercombinat from 2002 until 2009 and has been working on her own projects since 2006. Her performances often address beauty ideals and body norms. Her collaborations mostly include people from different backgrounds and with diverse body shapes. Since more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich’s work has been marked by an interest in nudity that goes beyond ideology and provocation. With her most recent works, she examined the entanglement of human and machine and the future of the human body in times of its surgical and genetic enhancement. She has received many awards and prizes, such as the 2013 Outstanding Artist Award for Performing Arts from the Office of the Federal Chancellor, the 2017 Nestroy Special Award for Ravemachine, together with Michael Turinsky, and the 2019 Audience Award at the Our Stage Festival Dresden for Every Body Electric. Doris Uhlich tours and teaches internationally. She has been a lecturer at Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna since 2015.

dorisuhlich.at

dorisuhlich.at

Credits

Choreography Doris Uhlich Performance Ann Muller Material research Juliette Collas, Philomena Theuretzbacher Technical support Marco Tölzer Production Margot Wehinger International distribution Something Great With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna. Coproduced by Tanzquartier Wien and insert Tanz und Performance GmbH in cooperation with the Museum for Applied Arts / MAK.

02.10.+
Sun
14.00–18.00
04.10.
Tue
17.00–21.00
02.10.+
Sun
14.00–18.00
04.10.
Tue
17.00–21.00
MAK Säulenhalle

Admission with regular MAK ticket: mak.at

 

 
Loading

Performative Installation 
Doris Uhlich

GOO GOO MAK

Doris Uhlich

studierte Pädagogik für zeitgenössischen Tanz am Konservatorium Wien, war von 2002 bis 2009 Spielerin bei theatercombinat und entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen, sie arbeitet mit Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Biografien und körperlichen Einschreibungen. Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation. In ihren letzten Stücken untersuchte sie auf vielschichtige Weise die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Maschine und setzte sich mit der Zukunft des menschlichen Körpers im Zeitalter seiner chirurgischen und genetischen Perfektionierung auseinander. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Preise, u. a. 2013 den outstanding artist award in der Kategorie darstellende Kunst des Bundeskanzleramts, 2017 den Nestroy-Preis in der Kategorie Spezialpreis für ihr Stück Ravemachine gemeinsam mit Michael Turinsky und 2019 den Publikumspreis für Every Body Electric beim Our Stage Festival in Dresden. Doris Uhlich tourt und unterrichtet international, seit Herbst 2015 ist sie Lehrbeauftragte am Max Reinhardt Seminar in Wien.

dorisuhlich.at

Credits

Choreografie Doris Uhlich Performance Ann Muller Materialforschung Juliette Collas, Philomena Theuretzbacher Technische Betreuung Marco Tölzer Produktion Margot Wehinger Internationale Distribution Something Great – Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien und insert Tanz und Performance GmbH in Kooperation mit dem Museum für angewandte Kunst / MAK. Gefördert durch die Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.

GOO GOO MAK

In Doris Uhlichs performativer Installation für das MAK interveniert die Performerin Ann Muller in der Säulenhalle mit einer Auswahl von Sequenzen aus der Performance Gootopia, die sie in dieser Museumsversion in Loops performt, variiert, remixt.

Schleim ist eine biologisch lebensnotwendige Substanz, die ambivalente Reaktionen auslöst: Ekel und Schauer, Neugier und Berührungslust. Schleim ist nicht eindeutig fest oder flüssig, weder eigen noch fremd und mitunter beides zugleich. In Gootopia („goo“ engl. für Schleim) ist Schleim Material und Performer*in, er performt mit, auf, in und zwischen Körpern. Mensch und Schleim berühren sich, vernetzen sich, vermengen sich, bilden Allianzen. Körpergrenzen werden fluide. Es entsteht ein ambivalentes Feld zwischen Horror und Faszination, Empathie und Ekel, das den Besucher*innen ermöglicht, in die skulpturale, landschaftliche und installative Qualität stofflicher Prozesse einzutauchen.

In Kooperation mit Museum für angewandte Kunst / MAK

Doris Uhlich

studierte Pädagogik für zeitgenössischen Tanz am Konservatorium Wien, war von 2002 bis 2009 Spielerin bei theatercombinat und entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen, sie arbeitet mit Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Biografien und körperlichen Einschreibungen. Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation. In ihren letzten Stücken untersuchte sie auf vielschichtige Weise die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Maschine und setzte sich mit der Zukunft des menschlichen Körpers im Zeitalter seiner chirurgischen und genetischen Perfektionierung auseinander. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Preise, u. a. 2013 den outstanding artist award in der Kategorie darstellende Kunst des Bundeskanzleramts, 2017 den Nestroy-Preis in der Kategorie Spezialpreis für ihr Stück Ravemachine gemeinsam mit Michael Turinsky und 2019 den Publikumspreis für Every Body Electric beim Our Stage Festival in Dresden. Doris Uhlich tourt und unterrichtet international, seit Herbst 2015 ist sie Lehrbeauftragte am Max Reinhardt Seminar in Wien.

dorisuhlich.at

Credits

Choreografie Doris Uhlich Performance Ann Muller Materialforschung Juliette Collas, Philomena Theuretzbacher Technische Betreuung Marco Tölzer Produktion Margot Wehinger Internationale Distribution Something Great – Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien und insert Tanz und Performance GmbH in Kooperation mit dem Museum für angewandte Kunst / MAK. Gefördert durch die Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.

02.10.+
So
14–18 Uhr
04.10.
Di
17–21 Uhr
02.10.+
So
14–18 Uhr
04.10.
Di
17–21 Uhr
MAK Säulenhalle

Eintritt mit regulärem MAK-Ticket: mak.at

 

 
Loading