Habitat / Halle E

pandemic version
Doris Uhlich
Dance
© Katarina Šoškić 
Doris
Uhlich

has developed her own projects since 2006. The choreographer’s work frequently focuses on examining everyday gestures but also artificial ones, such as the strict code of movement of classical ballet in SPITZE (2008) and Come Back (2012). All her performances are investigations into beauty ideals and standards of body image. Since her performance more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich has also been working on the depiction of nudity free from ideology and provocation. Music – particularly electronic dance music, from new wave to techno – plays an important part in her explorations.

The production Every Body Electric, which premiered at Tanzquartier Wien in 2018, was this year invited to the Venice Dance Biennale and to the Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo among others. This was followed by her solo TANK at ImPulsTanz 2019, which will also be shown in a site-specific version at Naturhistorisches Museum in February 2021. In the autumn of 2019, Uhlich’s Habitat was the first production of a local choreographer in the history of TQW to be presented in Halle E. Her latest piece at TQW was stuck, a study on immobility and standstill, which was linked to earlier works of Uhlich through its minimalist choreographic approach and metaphorically charged imagery.

dorisuhlich.at

Doris Uhlich
Sat03./
16.00
Oct
Sat03./
20.00
Oct
Sun04./
12.00
Oct
Sun04./
16.00
Oct
Sun04. 
20.00
Oct
TQW Halle E
 
     
  • Sat 03. Oct
  • Sat 03. Oct
  • Sun 04. Oct
  • Sun 04. Oct
  • Sun 04. Oct
€ 30/25/20

Due to current Covid-19 regulations, the original concept, in which audience members can move freely in the space, had to be replaced by a fixed seat allocation.

In the original version of Habitat / Halle E – which first premiered last autumn – the naked bodies of 120 people slap, vibrate and clash with each other to the sound of electronic and abstract techno tracks. Such a utopian place, where bodies can freely interact, touch each other’s sweaty skin and breath together, seems far, far away in view of the current pandemic. However, Doris Uhlich is prepared to accept this challenge, to find out where and how this utopia can still exist in times of Covid-19. What does the impossibility of physical intimacy mean? The performers – in this version there are only 41 – celebrate their unity in diversity, even while being socially distanced. The bodies are in search of real, communal experiences and create opportunities to connect with the collective energy. Habitat remains to be an unashamed hymn on the naked body that takes us beyond cultural inscriptions and normative beauty ideals. The body will not be reduced to a fetishized object, but we will encounter it in its materiality and it will thereby be shown in all its glory, mass and fragility.

This “pandemic version” of Habitat will not only adhere to the Covid-19 regulations but it will take them as a starting point to find new ways of connecting with each other.

Credits

Concept, choreography
Doris Uhlich
Performance
Oliver Arnold, Jonas Becker, Eleonora Ciani, Manuela Deac, Florian Decker, Lukas Froschauer, Verena Giesinger, Doris Haidvogl, Marie Handl, Veronika Harb, Fiona Hauser, Sophia Hörmann, Stefanie Hörmanseder, Sarah Horvath, Christina Hurt, Klaus Lengefeld, Karin Lux, Noa Molato, Ann Muller, Iris Omari Ansong, Lukas Pollhammer, Florian Reither, Thomas Richter, Vera Rosner-Nogel, Alina Schaller, Marie Schmitz, Mim Schneider, Moritz Schöll, Ursula Schönherr, Manaho Shimokawa, Fio Sierwald, Valentino Skarwan, Ulla Stahlstadt, Maritina Theodοrou, Indra Tjoa, Živa Vavpotič, Barbara Vörös, Patrick Wolf, Michael Wolloch, Michael Würmer
DJ
Boris Kopeinig
Light design
Sergio Pessanha
Dramaturgical consultants
Theresa Rauter, Sebastian Lorenz
Body tanks
Proper Space (Juliette Collas, Zarah Brandl)
Clothing production, custom tailoring
Mick Hennig
Production
Sebastian Lorenz
Administration
Margot Wehinger
Press, communication
Jonathan Hörnig
International distribution
Something Great (Berlin)
A coproduction by Tanzquartier Wien and insert Tanz und Performance GmbH. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna. Project partners of the Habitat performance series are: donaufestival (Krems), ImPulsTanz (Vienna) in cooperation with Vienna Secession, Tanzquartier Wien.
Doris
Uhlich

has developed her own projects since 2006. The choreographer’s work frequently focuses on examining everyday gestures but also artificial ones, such as the strict code of movement of classical ballet in SPITZE (2008) and Come Back (2012). All her performances are investigations into beauty ideals and standards of body image. Since her performance more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich has also been working on the depiction of nudity free from ideology and provocation. Music – particularly electronic dance music, from new wave to techno – plays an important part in her explorations.

The production Every Body Electric, which premiered at Tanzquartier Wien in 2018, was this year invited to the Venice Dance Biennale and to the Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo among others. This was followed by her solo TANK at ImPulsTanz 2019, which will also be shown in a site-specific version at Naturhistorisches Museum in February 2021. In the autumn of 2019, Uhlich’s Habitat was the first production of a local choreographer in the history of TQW to be presented in Halle E. Her latest piece at TQW was stuck, a study on immobility and standstill, which was linked to earlier works of Uhlich through its minimalist choreographic approach and metaphorically charged imagery.

dorisuhlich.at

 
Loading

Habitat / Halle E

pandemic version
Doris Uhlich
Tanz
© Alexi Pelekanos 
Doris
Uhlich

entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Im Werk der Choreografin steht die Beschäftigung mit Alltagsgesten oder auch, wie in SPITZE (2008) oder Come Back (2012), mit künstlichen Gesten – in diesen Fällen dem strikten Bewegungscode des klassischen Balletts – im Zentrum. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen. Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation. Dabei nimmt Musik – besonders elektronische Tanzmusik von New Wave bis Techno – eine wichtige Rolle ein.

Die 2018 im Tanzquartier Wien uraufgeführte Produktion Every Body Electric war 2019 u. a. zur Tanzbiennale von Venedig und zur Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo eingeladen. Danach folgte bei ImPulsTanz 2019 das Solo TANK, das im Februar 2021 im Naturhistorischen Museum in einer Site-specific-Version gezeigt wird. Im Herbst 2019 bespielte Uhlich mit Habitat als erste lokale Choreografin in der Geschichte des TQW die Halle E. Zuletzt war im TQW stuck zu sehen, eine Studie über Unbeweglichkeit und Stillstand, die mit ihrer minimalistischen Choreografie und der metaphorisch aufgeladenen Bildsprache an frühe Arbeiten anknüpft.

dorisuhlich.at

Doris Uhlich
Sa03./
16 Uhr
Okt
Sa03./
20 Uhr
Okt
So04./
12 Uhr
Okt
So04./
16 Uhr
Okt
So04. 
20 Uhr
Okt
TQW Halle E

70 Minuten, keine Pause

Das ursprüngliche Konzept, bei dem sich die Zuschauer*innen frei im Raum bewegen, musste aufgrund der aktuellen Covid-19-Verordnung durch eine fixe Sitzplatzzuweisung ersetzt werden.

In der ursprünglichen Fassung von Habitat / Halle E – uraufgeführt im Herbst 2019 – schnalzen, vibrieren und klatschen die nackten Körper von 120 Menschen zu elektronischen Sounds und abstrakten Techno-Tracks aufeinander. Der utopische Ort, an dem sich Körper furchtlos begegnen, Haut auf Haut schwitzend berühren, gemeinsam atmen, scheint angesichts der aktuell kursierenden Pandemie Lichtjahre entfernt zu sein. Doris Uhlich stellt sich der Herausforderung, wie und wohin sich diese Utopie in Zeiten von Covid-19 transformiert. Was bedeutet die Verunmöglichung körperlicher Nähe? Die Performer*innen – in dieser Version sind es 41 – zelebrieren ihre Einheit in der Vielfalt, auch auf Distanz. Die Körper suchen nach realen gemeinsamen Erfahrungen und erschaffen Möglichkeiten, sich in kollektiver Energie zu vernetzen. Habitat bleibt eine schamlose, aber auch schambefreite Hymne auf einen nackten Körper jenseits von kulturellen Einschreibungen und gängigen Schönheitsidealen. Der Körper wird nicht zum Fetisch, zum Objekt degradiert, sondern materiell aufgefasst und dabei mit seiner ganzen Masse und Wucht, aber auch in seiner Fragilität gezeigt.

Die Auflagen der Covid-19-Verordnungen werden in der Choreografie berücksichtigt und auch als Impulse aufgegriffen.

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie
Doris Uhlich
Performance
Oliver Arnold, Jonas Becker, Eleonora Ciani, Manuela Deac, Florian Decker, Lukas Froschauer, Verena Giesinger, Doris Haidvogl, Marie Handl, Veronika Harb, Fiona Hauser, Sophia Hörmann, Stefanie Hörmanseder, Sarah Horvath, Christina Hurt, Klaus Lengefeld, Karin Lux, Noa Molato, Ann Muller, Iris Omari Ansong, Lukas Pollhammer, Florian Reither, Thomas Richter, Vera Rosner-Nogel, Alina Schaller, Marie Schmitz, Mim Schneider, Moritz Schöll, Ursula Schönherr, Manaho Shimokawa, Fio Sierwald, Valentino Skarwan, Ulla Stahlstadt, Maritina Theodοrou, Indra Tjoa, Živa Vavpotič, Barbara Vörös, Patrick Wolf, Michael Wolloch, Michael Würmer
DJ
Boris Kopeinig
Lichtdesign
Sergio Pessanha
Dramaturgische Beratung
Sebastian Lorenz, Theresa Rauter
Körpertanks
Proper Space (Juliette Collas, Zarah Brandl)
Konfektionsfertigung, Maßschneiderei
Mick Hennig
Produktion
Sebastian Lorenz
Administration
Margot Wehinger
Presse, Kommunikation
Jonathan Hörnig
Internationale Distribution
Something Great (Berlin)
Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien und insert Tanz und Performance GmbH. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien. Projektpartner der Habitat-Serie sind: donaufestival (Krems), ImPulsTanz (Wien) in Kooperation mit Secession Wien, Tanzquartier Wien.
Doris
Uhlich

entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Im Werk der Choreografin steht die Beschäftigung mit Alltagsgesten oder auch, wie in SPITZE (2008) oder Come Back (2012), mit künstlichen Gesten – in diesen Fällen dem strikten Bewegungscode des klassischen Balletts – im Zentrum. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen. Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation. Dabei nimmt Musik – besonders elektronische Tanzmusik von New Wave bis Techno – eine wichtige Rolle ein.

Die 2018 im Tanzquartier Wien uraufgeführte Produktion Every Body Electric war 2019 u. a. zur Tanzbiennale von Venedig und zur Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo eingeladen. Danach folgte bei ImPulsTanz 2019 das Solo TANK, das im Februar 2021 im Naturhistorischen Museum in einer Site-specific-Version gezeigt wird. Im Herbst 2019 bespielte Uhlich mit Habitat als erste lokale Choreografin in der Geschichte des TQW die Halle E. Zuletzt war im TQW stuck zu sehen, eine Studie über Unbeweglichkeit und Stillstand, die mit ihrer minimalistischen Choreografie und der metaphorisch aufgeladenen Bildsprache an frühe Arbeiten anknüpft.

dorisuhlich.at

 
Loading