Habitat / Halle E

Doris Uhlich
Dance
Habitat / Halle E © Katarina Šoškić 
Doris
Uhlich

has developed her own projects since 2006. The choreographer’s work frequently focuses on examining everyday gestures but also artificial ones, such as the strict code of movement of classical ballet in SPITZE (2008) and Come Back (2012). All her performances are investigations into beauty ideals and standards of body image, as in her piece mehr als genug (2009). Since her performance more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich has also been working on the depiction of nudity free from ideology and provocation.

Music – particularly electronic dance music, from new wave to techno – plays an important part in her explorations. With Habitat, she presented a naked ensemble rave-dancing at the Order of Friars Minor Conventual church in Krems and in front of the Vienna Secession. Doris Uhlich and dancer Michael Turinsky won the Nestroy Special Award “for inclusion on an equal footing” for the performance Ravemachine (2016). The production Every Body Electric, which premiered at Tanzquartier in 2018, was invited to the Venice Dance Biennale in June 2019.

dorisuhlich.at

Doris Uhlich
Fri25./
Sat26. 
Oct
19.30 /
TQW Halle E
 
     
  • Fri 25. Oct
  • Sat 26. Oct
€ 30/25/20

Habitat / Halle E is Doris Uhlich’s biggest choreography in open space to date. The naked bodies of 120 people flick, vibrate and slap against each other to electronic sounds and abstract techno tracks. The performers celebrate their unity in diversity. As individuals and as a crowd at the same time they conquer the space in a choreography that is captivating, highly energetic and, at times, collectively reposing. Hall E is transformed into a “habitat” full of unexpected life forms – the audience moves about freely in the available space. Habitat transcends conventional ideas of the body, of dance and of nakedness in a subversive manner. Habitat is a utopia. A shameless but also a free-of-shame hymn to a naked body beyond cultural inscriptions and conventional ideals of beauty. The body is not devalued to the level of a fetish, an object; and carnality is neither metaphorically nor poetically ideologised but understood in a material sense and is therefore presented in all its mass and weight yet also in its fragility.

Credits

Concept, Choreography
Doris Uhlich
Dramaturgical consultant
Theresa Rauter
Choreographic realisation with
Robyn/Hugo Le Brigand, Milan Loviška, Liv Schellander, Katharina Senk
Performance
120 performers
DJ
Boris Kopeinig
Light
Florian, Bach
Technical advisor
Gerald Pappenberger
Communication, Social Media
Jonathan Hörnig
Production assistants
Johanna Kreft, Sebastian Lorenz
Production
Margot Wehinger, Theresa Rauter
International distribution
Something Great
A coproduction by Tanzquartier Wien and insert (Theaterverein). With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna and Bundeskanzleramt Österreich.
Doris
Uhlich

has developed her own projects since 2006. The choreographer’s work frequently focuses on examining everyday gestures but also artificial ones, such as the strict code of movement of classical ballet in SPITZE (2008) and Come Back (2012). All her performances are investigations into beauty ideals and standards of body image, as in her piece mehr als genug (2009). Since her performance more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich has also been working on the depiction of nudity free from ideology and provocation.

Music – particularly electronic dance music, from new wave to techno – plays an important part in her explorations. With Habitat, she presented a naked ensemble rave-dancing at the Order of Friars Minor Conventual church in Krems and in front of the Vienna Secession. Doris Uhlich and dancer Michael Turinsky won the Nestroy Special Award “for inclusion on an equal footing” for the performance Ravemachine (2016). The production Every Body Electric, which premiered at Tanzquartier in 2018, was invited to the Venice Dance Biennale in June 2019.

dorisuhlich.at

 
Loading

Habitat / Halle E

Doris Uhlich
Tanz
Habitat / Halle E © Katarina Šoškić 
Doris
Uhlich

entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Im Werk der Choreografin steht oft die Beschäftigung mit Alltagsgesten oder auch, wie in SPITZE (2008) oder Come Back (2012), mit künstlichen Gesten – in diesen Fällen dem strikten Bewegungscode des klassischen Balletts – im Zentrum. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen – so z. B. mehr als genug (2009). Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation.

Dabei nimmt Musik – besonders elektronische Tanzmusik von New Wave bis Techno – eine wichtige Rolle ein. Mit Habitat bespielte sie mit einem ravenden nackten Ensemble die Dominikanerkirche in Krems und die Fassade der Wiener Secession. Für die Performance Ravemachine (2016) hat Doris Uhlich gemeinsam mit dem Tänzer Michael Turinsky den Nestroy-Spezialpreis für „Inklusion auf Augenhöhe“ gewonnen. Die 2018 im Tanzquartier Wien uraufgeführte Produktion Every Body Electric war 2019 u. a. zur Tanzbiennale in Venedig und zur Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo eingeladen.

dorisuhlich.at

Doris Uhlich
Fr25./
19.30 Uhr
Okt
Sa26./
19.30 Uhr
Okt
So27. 
18 Uhr
Okt
TQW Halle E
 
     
  • Fr 25. Okt
  • Sa 26. Okt
  • So 27. Okt
Tickets
     
  • Fr 25. Okt (ausverkauft)
  • Sa 26. Okt (ausverkauft)
  • So 27. Okt
€ 30/25/20 Wahlabo

Dauer: ca. 3 Stunden, Open Doors

Bei ausverkauften Vorstellungen vergeben wir ab einer Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn Wartenummern für Restkarten an der Abendkassa.

Habitat / Halle E ist Doris Uhlichs bislang größte Choreografie: Die nackten Körper von 120 Menschen schnalzen, vibrieren und klatschen zu elektronischen Sounds und abstrakten Techno-Tracks aufeinander. Die Performer*innen zelebrieren ihre Einheit in der Vielfalt. Als Individuen und Masse zugleich erobern sie den Raum in einer hochenergetischen bis kollektiv ruhenden Choreografie. Die Halle E verwandelt sich in ein „Habitat“ voller ungeahnter Lebensformen – das Publikum bewegt sich frei im Raum. Dabei sprengt Habitat subversiv gängige Vorstellungen von Körper, Tanz und Nacktheit. Habitat ist eine Utopie. Eine schamlose, aber auch schambefreite Hymne auf einen nackten Körper jenseits von kulturellen Einschreibungen und gängigen Schönheitsidealen. Der Körper wird nicht zum Fetisch, zum Objekt degradiert und Fleischlichkeit nicht metaphorisch oder poetisch ideologisiert, sondern materiell aufgefasst und dabei mit seiner ganzen Masse und Wucht, aber auch in seiner Fragilität gezeigt.

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie
Doris Uhlich
Dramaturgische Beratung
Theresa Rauter
Choreografische Umsetzung mit
Robyn/Hugo Le Brigand, Milan Loviška, Liv Schellander, Katharina Senk
Performance
120 Performer*innen
DJ
Boris Kopeinig
Lichtdesign
Gerald Pappenberger, Jan Wagner
Headpieces
Zarah Brandl
Presse, Kommunikation
Jonathan Hörnig
Produktionsassistenz
Johanna Kreft, Sebastian Lorenz
Produktion
Margot Wehinger, Theresa Rauter
Internationale Distribution
Something Great (Berlin)
Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien und insert (Theaterverein). Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich.
Doris
Uhlich

entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Im Werk der Choreografin steht oft die Beschäftigung mit Alltagsgesten oder auch, wie in SPITZE (2008) oder Come Back (2012), mit künstlichen Gesten – in diesen Fällen dem strikten Bewegungscode des klassischen Balletts – im Zentrum. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen – so z. B. mehr als genug (2009). Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation.

Dabei nimmt Musik – besonders elektronische Tanzmusik von New Wave bis Techno – eine wichtige Rolle ein. Mit Habitat bespielte sie mit einem ravenden nackten Ensemble die Dominikanerkirche in Krems und die Fassade der Wiener Secession. Für die Performance Ravemachine (2016) hat Doris Uhlich gemeinsam mit dem Tänzer Michael Turinsky den Nestroy-Spezialpreis für „Inklusion auf Augenhöhe“ gewonnen. Die 2018 im Tanzquartier Wien uraufgeführte Produktion Every Body Electric war 2019 u. a. zur Tanzbiennale in Venedig und zur Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo eingeladen.

dorisuhlich.at

 
Loading