hi baubo

Hannah De Meyer
Dance & Performance
Hannah De Meyer © Tiny Geeroms  
Hannah
De Meyer,

born in 1988, writes and performs, curates festivals and publishes. Her work investigates the poetic and political links between femininity, ecology and decolonisation. She blends text and movement into a hybrid, idiosyncratic style.

new skin (2018) is a visceral descent into earth, where dead body parts and forgotten critters are shaken back to life. It was received as an “overwhelming feminist ecological statement” and selected by the Belgian Theaterfestival in Gent as one of the most noteworthy performances of the year.

Hannah De Meyer
Thu07./
Fri08. 
Nov
18.30/
TQW Studios

Duration: 20 minutes

“I associate Baubo with creative, erotic darkness. With blood, earth and the moon. She is a figure that connects female sexuality with ecology, psychedelia and resounding laughter.” — Hannah De Meyer

In 2018, Hannah De Meyer wrote and performed the hypnotising new skin. In this production, which was part of this year’s Rakete festival at TQW, she fuses the growing indignation of a new generation of young people about our wrecked world with a highly personal “awakening”: new skin as a door to a new awareness, with alternative stories about what success, prosperity and a thriving society can be.

In her new production hi baubo, Hannah De Meyer follows the lead of Baubo, an obscure mythological figure associated with regeneration, magic and female sexuality. Baubo has turned up in rock drawings, bone figurines and stories since prehistoric times: female figures with accentuated vaginas and spread legs, usually in the company of fish, turtles and birds.

Credits

Text, Performance
Hannah De Meyer
Sound
Jacobin aka Jasper Segers
Sculpture
Koba De Meutter
Photo
Dries Segers
Production
Toneelhuis, Antwerpen
Hannah
De Meyer,

born in 1988, writes and performs, curates festivals and publishes. Her work investigates the poetic and political links between femininity, ecology and decolonisation. She blends text and movement into a hybrid, idiosyncratic style.

new skin (2018) is a visceral descent into earth, where dead body parts and forgotten critters are shaken back to life. It was received as an “overwhelming feminist ecological statement” and selected by the Belgian Theaterfestival in Gent as one of the most noteworthy performances of the year.

 
Loading

hi baubo

Hannah De Meyer
Tanz & Performance
Hannah De Meyer © Tiny Geeroms 
Hannah
De Meyer,

Jahrgang 1988, schreibt und publiziert regelmäßig, performt und kuratiert Festivals. In ihrer Arbeit interessiert sie sich für die poetischen und politischen Zusammenhänge zwischen den Themen Weiblichkeit, Ökologie und Dekolonisierung. Text und Bewegung verbinden sich dabei zu einem hybriden, eigenwilligen Stil.

new skin (2018) steigt hinab in die Eingeweide der Erde und erweckt Leichenteile und längst vergessene Kreaturen wieder zum Leben. Die Performance wurde als „herausragendes feministisches und ökologisches Statement“ aufgenommen und bei Het TheaterFestival in Gent zu den bemerkenswertesten Produktionen des Jahres gewählt.

Hannah De Meyer
Do07./
Fr08. 
Nov
18.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Dauer: 20 Minuten

„Ich assoziiere Baubo mit einem kreativen, erotischen Dunkel. Mit Blut, Erde und dem Mond. Eine Figur, die weibliche Sexualität mit Ökologie, dem Psychedelischen und schallendem Gelächter verbindet.“ — Hannah De Meyer

In ihrer Performance new skin, die im Mai beim Festival Rakete im TQW zu sehen war, verbindet Hannah De Meyer die wachsende Empörung einer neuen Generation junger Menschen über eine Welt in Trümmern mit einem sehr persönlichen „Erwachen“: new skin weist den Weg zu einem neuen Bewusstsein und erzählt alternative Geschichten darüber, was Erfolg, Wohlstand und eine blühende Gesellschaft ausmacht.

Das Tanzquartier Wien zeigt nun die Preview ihrer neuen Produktion hi baubo. Hannah De Meyer begibt sich darin auf die Spuren von Baubo, einer obskuren mythologischen Gestalt, die für Regeneration, Magie und weibliche Sexualität steht. Baubo taucht bereits in prähistorischen Zeiten in Felszeichnungen, Knochenschnitzereien und Geschichten auf. Dabei handelt es sich um eine weibliche Figur mit hervorgehobener Vulva, die üblicherweise von Darstellungen von Fischen, Schildkröten und Vögeln flankiert wird.

Credits

Text, Performance
Hannah De Meyer
Sound
Jacobin aka Jasper Segers
Skulptur
Koba De Meutter
Foto
Dries Segers
Produktion
Toneelhuis, Antwerpen
Hannah
De Meyer,

Jahrgang 1988, schreibt und publiziert regelmäßig, performt und kuratiert Festivals. In ihrer Arbeit interessiert sie sich für die poetischen und politischen Zusammenhänge zwischen den Themen Weiblichkeit, Ökologie und Dekolonisierung. Text und Bewegung verbinden sich dabei zu einem hybriden, eigenwilligen Stil.

new skin (2018) steigt hinab in die Eingeweide der Erde und erweckt Leichenteile und längst vergessene Kreaturen wieder zum Leben. Die Performance wurde als „herausragendes feministisches und ökologisches Statement“ aufgenommen und bei Het TheaterFestival in Gent zu den bemerkenswertesten Produktionen des Jahres gewählt.

 
Loading