If What Could Be Is How Why Not

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Performance
© Maximilian Pramatarov 
Andrea
Maurer

lives and works in Vienna. She examines, dissects and twists connections between language, reality and perception in mostly performative and/or installative formats. She realised many projects with the studio 5 collective between 2007 and 2013. Her piece Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) won the Media Art Award of the State of Salzburg.

She was awarded the H13 Performance Prize, sponsored by Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, in 2016 for SELBSTZERLEGUNG. The Austrian daily Der Standard described her as “highly adept in taking language, symbols and meanings apart. The topics addressed by her cleverly take the logic of everyday communication to the point of absurdity”.

andreamaurer.at

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Fri30.+
Nov
Sat01. 
Dec
19.30 /
TQW Halle G

Limited number of seats

Wheelchair users are requested to register their attendance at least one day prior to the performance via +43-1-581 35 91 or tanzquartier@tqw.at.

The piece revolves around a monologue that is being repeated over and over again. While the monologue is moving around in a circle word by word and sentence by sentence from beginning to end and from end to beginning, the theatre space takes on a life of its own and undergoes constant change. Each word is thrown into a new context every single time and everything that is being said takes on a different meaning in its recurring repetition. The spatial metamorphoses do not stop at the monologue: they underline, overwrite, obscure, interfere with, attack, appropriate and prevent the meaning of sentences. What do we stick to when nothing fits together anymore?

Besides elements of the stage space and sentence constructions, bodies and voices of adults and children also feature in If What Could Be Is How Why Not. In mutual deconstruction work new complicities emerge in which text parts (a, o, fl, cr), scattered in space, transfer the outside inside and vice versa.

Credits

Concept & choreography
Andrea Maurer
Performance
Andrea Gunlaugsdóttir, Krõõt Juurak, Albert Juurak, Laslo Lendais, Ísadóra Magnúsdóttir, Valentina Makazaria, Julius Maurer, Luise Nolz, Frans Poelstra
Dramaturgical advice
Quim Pujol
Object & stage
Lise Lendais, Andrea Maurer
Stage assistance
Santo Krappmann
Costume
Lise Lendais
Text
Krõõt Juurak, Andrea Maurer, Quim Pujol
Sound
Dieter Kovačič/dieb 13, Oliver Stotz
Light design
Bruno Pocheron
A co-production by studio 5 and WUK performing arts.
With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Arts and Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery of Austria.
Produced with kind support from nadaLokal.
Andrea
Maurer

lives and works in Vienna. She examines, dissects and twists connections between language, reality and perception in mostly performative and/or installative formats. She realised many projects with the studio 5 collective between 2007 and 2013. Her piece Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) won the Media Art Award of the State of Salzburg.

She was awarded the H13 Performance Prize, sponsored by Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, in 2016 for SELBSTZERLEGUNG. The Austrian daily Der Standard described her as “highly adept in taking language, symbols and meanings apart. The topics addressed by her cleverly take the logic of everyday communication to the point of absurdity”.

andreamaurer.at

 
Loading

If What Could Be Is How Why Not

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Performance
© Maximilian Pramatarov 
Andrea
Maurer

lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie behandelt, zerlegt und verdreht in zumeist performativen und/oder installativen Formaten Zusammenhänge von Sprache, Wirklichkeit und Wahrnehmung. Mit dem Kollektiv studio 5 hat sie von 2007 bis 2013 zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt. Ihre Arbeit Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) wurde mit dem Salzburger Landespreis für Medienkunst ausgezeichnet.

Für die Performance SELBSTZERLEGUNG erhielt sie 2016 den H13 Preis für Performance des Kunstraum Niederoesterreich. Der Standard bezeichnete sie als „Meisterin der Sprach-, Zeichen- und Bedeutungszerlegung“, deren „Gesprächsgegenstände die Logik der Gebrauchskommunikation mit Witz ad absurdum führen“.

andreamaurer.at

Andrea Maurer (AT)
Fr30.+
Nov
Sa01. 
Dez
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

Begrenzte Platzanzahl

Wir ersuchen Rollstuhlfahrer_innen sich bis spätestens einen Tag vor der Vorstellung unter +43-1-581 35 91 oder tanzquartier@tqw.at anzumelden.

„So wie die Erkenntniß die Sprache ahndet, so erinnert sich die Sprache der Erkenntniß.“ – Friedrich Hölderlin

In diesem Stück dreht sich alles um einen Monolog, der sich immer wieder und wieder aufs Neue wiederholt. Während sich der Monolog Wort für Wort und Satz für Satz von Anfang zum Ende und vom Ende zum Anfang im Kreis bewegt, führt der Theaterraum sein Eigenleben und ist in ständiger Veränderung begriffen. Jedes Wort ist Mal für Mal in einen neuen Kontext geworfen und alles Gesagte findet in seiner wiederkehrenden Wiederholung eine andere Bedeutung. Die räumlichen Metamorphosen machen vor dem Monolog nicht halt: Sie untermalen, überschreiben, vernebeln, stören, attackieren, vereinnahmen und verhindern die Bedeutung der Sätze. Woran halten wir fest, wenn nichts mehr zusammenpasst?

In If What Could Be Is How Why Not treten neben Elementen des Bühnenraums und Satzkonstruktionen auch Körper und Stimmen von Erwachsenen und Kindern in Erscheinung. In gegenseitiger Zerlegungsarbeit finden sich neue Komplizenschaften, in denen Teile von Texten – a, o, fl, cr – im Raum zerstreut das Außen nach innen befördern und umgekehrt.

 

Credits

Konzept & Choreographie
Andrea Maurer
Performance
Andrea Gunlaugsdóttir, Krõõt Juurak, Albert Juurak, Laslo Lendais, Ísadóra Magnúsdóttir, Valentina Makazaria, Julius Maurer, Luise Nolz, Frans Poelstra
Dramaturgische Beratung
Quim Pujol
Objekt & Bühne
Lise Lendais, Andrea Maurer
Assistenz Bühne
Santo Krappmann
Kostüm
Lise Lendais
Text
Krõõt Juurak, Andrea Maurer, Quim Pujol
Sound
Dieter Kovačič/dieb 13, Oliver Stotz
Lichtdesign
Bruno Pocheron
Eine Koproduktion von studio 5 mit WUK performing arts.
Gefördert durch die Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und das Bundeskanzleramt Österreich Kunst und Kultur.
Realisiert mit freundlicher Unterstützung von nadaLokal.
Andrea
Maurer

lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie behandelt, zerlegt und verdreht in zumeist performativen und/oder installativen Formaten Zusammenhänge von Sprache, Wirklichkeit und Wahrnehmung. Mit dem Kollektiv studio 5 hat sie von 2007 bis 2013 zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt. Ihre Arbeit Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) wurde mit dem Salzburger Landespreis für Medienkunst ausgezeichnet.

Für die Performance SELBSTZERLEGUNG erhielt sie 2016 den H13 Preis für Performance des Kunstraum Niederoesterreich. Der Standard bezeichnete sie als „Meisterin der Sprach-, Zeichen- und Bedeutungszerlegung“, deren „Gesprächsgegenstände die Logik der Gebrauchskommunikation mit Witz ad absurdum führen“.

andreamaurer.at

 
Loading