Johnny geht spazieren

Barbara Kraus
Share the Practice
© Zahra Mani; Johnny in Plagwitz, Demokratie ist Krieg, Westend #5 Festival, Leipzig, 2005. 
Barbara
Kraus

is a performance artist with many aliases (her accomplices) who lives and works in Vienna. She studied at the Academy of Arts / SNDO in Amsterdam. Since obtaining her diploma in 1994, she has continuously created performances, tests and improvisations inspired by questions of a social, political, philosophical, feminist and ecological nature. Her 2012 life art performance dream and walk about saw her crossing the Alps, on foot from Vienna to Nice, a journey she later shared in her journal.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

better known as Johnny – accomplice and agent of performance artist Barbara Kraus, was created almost twenty years ago. The starting point for Johnny’s remarkable career was a small part in the legendary performance Wer will kann kommen. Originally created to serve as an antidote to deterministic identity politics, Johnny evolved into a socio-political provocateur over the course of many diverse performances. Due to his unmistakably unique characteristics and talent, his career path took a fortunate turn from mere amateur to proven agent who can master even the most precarious life and death situations. Whether he impersonates a crafty art dealer, glib talk show host, battered doorman, rough dance student, blind lobster-philosopher, Johnny, the landing strip for the unforeseeable, ignites a firework of ideas.

Barbara Kraus
Sat15. 
Feb
11.00/
Schönbrunn

90 minutes

Meeting point: Meidlinger Tor/Grünbergstraße (U4 Station Schönbrunn)

Registration required: tanzquartier@tqw.at

Prior to his comeback Wer will kann gehen, Johnny invites all his followers and fans to join him on a walk to Schönbrunn (off the beaten track). Being the newly appointed research expert for “critical walking theory” (whatever that means), he thinks he could do with some experience. And because he prefers the company of others, he would be glad to see many new and old faces joining him on his tour of Vienna. Quite relaxed, step by step, and only for an agreeable distance. Johnny tracing the steps of his employer, and her mysterious passion for walking.

Barbara
Kraus

is a performance artist with many aliases (her accomplices) who lives and works in Vienna. She studied at the Academy of Arts / SNDO in Amsterdam. Since obtaining her diploma in 1994, she has continuously created performances, tests and improvisations inspired by questions of a social, political, philosophical, feminist and ecological nature. Her 2012 life art performance dream and walk about saw her crossing the Alps, on foot from Vienna to Nice, a journey she later shared in her journal.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

better known as Johnny – accomplice and agent of performance artist Barbara Kraus, was created almost twenty years ago. The starting point for Johnny’s remarkable career was a small part in the legendary performance Wer will kann kommen. Originally created to serve as an antidote to deterministic identity politics, Johnny evolved into a socio-political provocateur over the course of many diverse performances. Due to his unmistakably unique characteristics and talent, his career path took a fortunate turn from mere amateur to proven agent who can master even the most precarious life and death situations. Whether he impersonates a crafty art dealer, glib talk show host, battered doorman, rough dance student, blind lobster-philosopher, Johnny, the landing strip for the unforeseeable, ignites a firework of ideas.

 
Loading

Johnny geht spazieren

Barbara Kraus
Share the Practice
© Zahra Mani; Johnny in Plagwitz, Demokratie ist Krieg, Westend #5 Festival, Leipzig, 2005. 
Barbara
Kraus

lebt und arbeitet als Performancekünstlerin mit zahlreichen performativen Heteronymen – die sie als ihre Verbündeten begreift – in Wien. Sie studierte an der Hochschule der Künste / SNDO in Amsterdam. Seit ihrem Diplomabschluss (1994) kreiert sie Performances, Texte und Improvisationen, die von ihrer künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit sozialen, politischen, philosophischen, feministischen und ökologischen Fragestellungen inspiriert sind. In ihrer Life-Art-Performance dream and walk about überquerte sie 2012 zu Fuß den gesamten Alpenbogen von Wien bis Nizza und teilte die Erfahrungen dieser Reise in ihrem Reiselogbuch.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

besser bekannt als Johnny – Komplize und Agent der Performancekünstlerin Barbara Kraus –, existiert mittlerweile seit zwanzig Jahren. Die erstaunliche Karriere von Johnny nahm ihren Anfang in der legendären Kultperformance Wer will kann kommen, in der er als Laiendarsteller in einer kleinen Nebenrolle auftreten durfte. Ursprünglich gegen fixierende Identitätszuschreibungen angelegt, entwickelte sich Johnny aufgrund diverser Einsätze immer mehr zum sozialpolitischen Provokateur. Aufgrund seiner ungewöhnlichen Fähigkeiten führte ihn sein beruflicher Werdegang vom ahnungslosen Laiendarsteller zum bewährten Agenten prekärer Lebenssituationen. Ob als gewitzter Kunstvermittler, schlagfertiger Moderator, geschlagener Türsteher, rabiater Tanzschüler, blinder Seekrebs-Philosoph, Johnny, die Landebahn für das Unvorhergesehene, bringt die Gedanken zum Tanzen.

Barbara Kraus
Sa15. 
Feb
11 Uhr/
Schönbrunn

90 Minuten

Treffpunkt: Meidlinger Tor/Grünbergstraße (U4-Station Schönbrunn)

Anmeldung unter tanzquartier@tqw.at

Eine Woche vor seinem Comeback in Wer will kann gehen lädt Johnny alle seine Fans zu einem gemeinsamen Spaziergang nach Schönbrunn ein (abseits touristischer Trampelpfade). Als zukünftiger Forschungsbeauftragter für „critical walking theory“ (was auch immer das sein soll) braucht er ein bisschen Praxis, findet Johnny, und weil er lieber gemeinsam mit anderen als allein geht, würde er sich freuen, wenn viele mit ihm gehen. Schön gemütlich, Schritt für Schritt und nicht zu lange. Johnny auf den Spuren seiner Auftraggeberin mit ihrer unerklärlichen Leidenschaft für das Gehen.

Barbara
Kraus

lebt und arbeitet als Performancekünstlerin mit zahlreichen performativen Heteronymen – die sie als ihre Verbündeten begreift – in Wien. Sie studierte an der Hochschule der Künste / SNDO in Amsterdam. Seit ihrem Diplomabschluss (1994) kreiert sie Performances, Texte und Improvisationen, die von ihrer künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit sozialen, politischen, philosophischen, feministischen und ökologischen Fragestellungen inspiriert sind. In ihrer Life-Art-Performance dream and walk about überquerte sie 2012 zu Fuß den gesamten Alpenbogen von Wien bis Nizza und teilte die Erfahrungen dieser Reise in ihrem Reiselogbuch.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

besser bekannt als Johnny – Komplize und Agent der Performancekünstlerin Barbara Kraus –, existiert mittlerweile seit zwanzig Jahren. Die erstaunliche Karriere von Johnny nahm ihren Anfang in der legendären Kultperformance Wer will kann kommen, in der er als Laiendarsteller in einer kleinen Nebenrolle auftreten durfte. Ursprünglich gegen fixierende Identitätszuschreibungen angelegt, entwickelte sich Johnny aufgrund diverser Einsätze immer mehr zum sozialpolitischen Provokateur. Aufgrund seiner ungewöhnlichen Fähigkeiten führte ihn sein beruflicher Werdegang vom ahnungslosen Laiendarsteller zum bewährten Agenten prekärer Lebenssituationen. Ob als gewitzter Kunstvermittler, schlagfertiger Moderator, geschlagener Türsteher, rabiater Tanzschüler, blinder Seekrebs-Philosoph, Johnny, die Landebahn für das Unvorhergesehene, bringt die Gedanken zum Tanzen.

 
Loading