Artistic lab

Andrew Tay and Stephen Thompson
Labs/Theory
Andrew Tay and Stephen Thompson
Andrew
Tay

works at the intersections of performance, choreography, Djing and dance curation. In 2005, he co-founded Wants&Needs Danse with Sasha Kleinplatz. Together, they produce the popular dance events Short&Sweet and Piss in the Pool which take place in non-traditional venues throughout Montreal. He recently relocated to Toronto to begin his new role as Artistic Director of Toronto Dance Theatre.  He has presented his work at Fierce Festival (UK), Dance made in Canada (Toronto), Diver Festival (Tel Aviv) and has danced for well-known choreographers such as Doris Uhlich.

Stephen
Thompson,

originally from Calgary, Alberta is an interdisciplinary artist working between Canada, USA and Europe. Stephen’s introduction to movement and performing was through competitive figure skating. He received a Bachelor of Kinesiology (art and science of movement) and Dance from the University of Calgary. In 2015, at the World “Figure” Championships in Lake Placid, Stephen received the bronze medal. He has worked with Trajal Harell, Jennifer Lacey, Antonija Livingstone and several times with Benoit Lachambre.

Mon25.
Fri29. 
Jan
Closed to the public/
TQW Studios

+++ Postponed +++

In relationship to their performance of Make Banana Cry, Canadian dance artists Stephen Thompson and Andrew Tay will host an artistic laboratory to collectively think about critical art making and embodied politics.  Attempting to playfully navigate the slippery territory of “how we perceive ourselves” vs “how others perceive us”, the laboratory seeks to utilise these questions as exciting material for the body. They hope to imagine performance strategies collectively that are critical of the various power structures that underpin the contemporary art system. 

The lab will give time for dancing and physical workas well as deep chats and hang outs.  Through the exchange of practices and reflection on how our political ideologies can be reflected in the ways that we work together, Thompson and Tay will create a space for dialogue around the kind of work we are hoping for in the future. 

Andrew
Tay

works at the intersections of performance, choreography, Djing and dance curation. In 2005, he co-founded Wants&Needs Danse with Sasha Kleinplatz. Together, they produce the popular dance events Short&Sweet and Piss in the Pool which take place in non-traditional venues throughout Montreal. He recently relocated to Toronto to begin his new role as Artistic Director of Toronto Dance Theatre.  He has presented his work at Fierce Festival (UK), Dance made in Canada (Toronto), Diver Festival (Tel Aviv) and has danced for well-known choreographers such as Doris Uhlich.

Stephen
Thompson,

originally from Calgary, Alberta is an interdisciplinary artist working between Canada, USA and Europe. Stephen’s introduction to movement and performing was through competitive figure skating. He received a Bachelor of Kinesiology (art and science of movement) and Dance from the University of Calgary. In 2015, at the World “Figure” Championships in Lake Placid, Stephen received the bronze medal. He has worked with Trajal Harell, Jennifer Lacey, Antonija Livingstone and several times with Benoit Lachambre.

 
Loading

Labor

Andrew Tay und Stephen Thompson
Labore/Theorie
Andrew Tay und Stephen Thompson
Andrew
Tay

arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Performance, Choreografie, DJing und dem Kuratieren von Tanz. Im Jahr 2005 gründete er mit Sasha Kleinplatz Wants & Needs Danse in Montreal. Gemeinsam produzieren sie die beliebten Tanzveranstaltungen Short & Sweet und Piss in the Pool, die an ungewöhnlichen Schauplätzen in der ganzen Stadt stattfinden. Vor Kurzem übersiedelte Tay nach Toronto, um seine neue Stelle als künstlerischer Leiter des Toronto Dance Theatre anzutreten. Er präsentierte seine Arbeit u. a. beim Fierce Festival (Großbritannien), bei Dance made in Canada (Toronto) oder beim Diver Festival (Tel Aviv) und tanzte für bekannte Choreograf*innen wie Doris Uhlich.

Stephen
Thompson,

ursprünglich aus Calgary, Alberta, ist ein interdisziplinärer Künstler, der in Kanada, den USA und Europa arbeitet. Sein Einstieg in Bewegung und Performance erfolgte durch den Eiskunstlauf Er schloss seine Studien in Kinesiologie und Tanz an der University of Calgary mit einem Bachelor ab. Im Jahr 2015 gewann er bei den Eiskunstlauf-Weltmeisterschaften in Lake Placid die Bronzemedaille. Thompson arbeitete u. a. mit Trajal Harrell, Jennifer Lacey, Antonija Livingstone und mehrfach mit Benoît Lachambre zusammen.

Mo25.
Fr29. 
Jan
Geschlossene Veranstaltung/
TQW Studios

+++ Verschoben +++

Im Rahmen der Aufführung von Make Banana Cry im TQW veranstalten die kanadischen Künstler Stephen Thompson und Andrew Tay ein Labor, um gemeinsam über kritisches Kunstmachen und embodied politics nachzudenken. Dabei versuchen sie spielerisch durch das diffuse Gebiet zwischen Selbst- und Fremdwahrnehmung zu navigieren und dieses in für den Körper relevantes Material zu verwandeln. Gemeinsam wollen sie Performancestrategien entwerfen, die kritisch gegenüber den verschiedenen Machtstrukturen sind, die dem zeitgenössischen Kunstsystem zugrunde liegen. 

Das Labor bietet Zeit für Tanz und körperliche Arbeit sowie für tiefsinnige Chats und Hangouts. Durch den Austausch von Praktiken und die Reflexion darüber, wie sich unsere politischen Ideologien in der Art und Weise unserer Zusammenarbeit widerspiegeln können, werden Thompson und Tay einen Raum für den Dialog über die Art von Arbeit schaffen, auf die wir in Zukunft hoffen. 

Andrew
Tay

arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Performance, Choreografie, DJing und dem Kuratieren von Tanz. Im Jahr 2005 gründete er mit Sasha Kleinplatz Wants & Needs Danse in Montreal. Gemeinsam produzieren sie die beliebten Tanzveranstaltungen Short & Sweet und Piss in the Pool, die an ungewöhnlichen Schauplätzen in der ganzen Stadt stattfinden. Vor Kurzem übersiedelte Tay nach Toronto, um seine neue Stelle als künstlerischer Leiter des Toronto Dance Theatre anzutreten. Er präsentierte seine Arbeit u. a. beim Fierce Festival (Großbritannien), bei Dance made in Canada (Toronto) oder beim Diver Festival (Tel Aviv) und tanzte für bekannte Choreograf*innen wie Doris Uhlich.

Stephen
Thompson,

ursprünglich aus Calgary, Alberta, ist ein interdisziplinärer Künstler, der in Kanada, den USA und Europa arbeitet. Sein Einstieg in Bewegung und Performance erfolgte durch den Eiskunstlauf Er schloss seine Studien in Kinesiologie und Tanz an der University of Calgary mit einem Bachelor ab. Im Jahr 2015 gewann er bei den Eiskunstlauf-Weltmeisterschaften in Lake Placid die Bronzemedaille. Thompson arbeitete u. a. mit Trajal Harrell, Jennifer Lacey, Antonija Livingstone und mehrfach mit Benoît Lachambre zusammen.

 
Loading