Lost at Sea with Puddles and Sunny

Jeremy Wade
Performance
Jeremy
Wade

is a performer with an extensive practice of curating and teaching. He graduated from the School for New Dance Development, Amsterdam, in 2000 and received a Bessie Award for his performance Glory, at Dance Theater Workshop, New York City, in 2006. Since then he works in close collaboration with HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin as well as Gessnerallee, Zurich.

In his recent work, Wade explores death, zombie subjectivity, strange modes of being and feminist strategies of world making to undermine the social codes that define and oppress bodies. He is the initiator of “The Future Clinic for Critical Care”, an intersectional platform exploring the messy politics of care through performance, social practice and sociocultural animation.

Jeremy Wade
Fri11./
Sat12. 
Jun
19.30 /
TQW Studios

90 min, no intermission

Covid-Info: What you should know before attending a performance at TQW.

Few parts of this show consist of material situating intense emotional moments that could affect some spectators.

Jeremy Wade uses a politically charged form of queer science fiction to see through the complicated now. In his show, Lost at Sea with Puddles and Sunny he, together with the music of Quentin Tolimieri, portrays a broken scrappy one-eyed bird of a cabaret singer named Puddles the Pelican who lives on a Cruise Ship at the end of time. A survivor of the Deep Horizon Oil Spill, Puddles the Pelican sings, squawks, moans and tells stories of love and loss to keep the cruise ship passengers awake as they sail towards a howl, blind, eternal and empty on a sea that is no longer blue but a rusted dark orange. Choking on bits of tar, flailing all fantastic Puddles quacks: “Once a glorious bird, now covered in oil, which one of you Bitches has a match?”

Credits

Created and performed by
Jeremy Wade
Production witch, video animation, artistic support
Darcey Bennett
Piano
Quentin Tolimieri
Texts
Allison Wiltshire & Jeremy Wade
Dramaturgy
Maika Knoblich
Artistic mentor
Katerina Kokkinos-Kennedy
Costume
Claudia Hill & Josa Marx
Wig
Benjamin Kiss
Light
Matthias Rieker
Special thanks to Michael Rollnick and Yoav Admoni, to the incredible Ezra Green for the contribution of his poetry, to Hari Stojan for his feedback.
Puddles first appeared as part of “The Clearing”, a co-production by HAU Hebbel am Ufer, supported by Hauptstadtkulturfonds.
A production by Jeremy Wade, in co-production with Künstlerhaus Mousonturm. Supported by Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart.
Jeremy
Wade

is a performer with an extensive practice of curating and teaching. He graduated from the School for New Dance Development, Amsterdam, in 2000 and received a Bessie Award for his performance Glory, at Dance Theater Workshop, New York City, in 2006. Since then he works in close collaboration with HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin as well as Gessnerallee, Zurich.

In his recent work, Wade explores death, zombie subjectivity, strange modes of being and feminist strategies of world making to undermine the social codes that define and oppress bodies. He is the initiator of “The Future Clinic for Critical Care”, an intersectional platform exploring the messy politics of care through performance, social practice and sociocultural animation.

 
Loading

Lost at Sea with Puddles and Sunny

Jeremy Wade
Performance
Jeremy
Wade

ist Performer und Choreograf mit einer weitreichenden Praxis im Kuratieren und Unterrichten. Im Jahr 2000 schloss er die School for New Dance Development Amsterdam ab. Für sein Stück Glory, das er im Dance Theater Workshop in New York City präsentierte, erhielt er 2006 einen Bessie Award. Er arbeitet seit vielen Jahren regelmäßig mit dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin und mit der Gessnerallee in Zürich zusammen.

In seinen letzten Arbeiten erforscht Wade den Tod, Zombie-Subjektivität, merkwürdige Seinszustände und feministische Strategien der Welterzeugung, um soziale Konventionen zu unterwandern, die Körper definieren und unterdrücken. Er ist der Initiator von „The Future Clinic for Critical Care“, einer intersektionellen Plattform, die mit Mitteln der Performance, sozialer Praktiken und soziokultureller Teilhabe chaotische Politiken der Sorge erforscht.

Jeremy Wade
Fr11./
Sa12. 
Jun
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

90 Minuten, keine Pause

Covid-Info: Was man für einen Besuch des TQW wissen und mitbringen sollte.

Einige wenige Teile des Stücks enthalten intensive emotionale Momente, die auf einige Zuschauer*innen verstörend wirken könnten.

Jeremy Wade wendet eine politisch aufgeladene Form der queeren Science-Fiction an, um die komplexe Gegenwart zu beleuchten. In seiner Show Lost at Sea with Puddles and Sunny porträtiert er, begleitet von der Musik von Quentin Tolimieri, einen zerbrochenen einäugigen Vogel von Kabarettsänger namens Puddles the Pelican, der am Ende der Zeit auf einem Kreuzfahrtschiff lebt. Als Überlebender der Ölpest von Deep Horizon singt, kreischt, stöhnt und erzählt Puddles the Pelican Geschichten über Liebe und Verlust, um die Passagier*innen des Kreuzfahrtschiffes wach zu halten, während sie auf einem Meer, das nicht mehr blau ist, sondern in einem verrosteten dunklen Orange strahlt, in die Katastrophe segeln. An Teerbrocken erstickend, schlägt der einst fantastische Vogel um sich: „Once a glorious bird, now covered in oil, which one of you Bitches has a match?”

Credits

Entwickelt und performt von
Jeremy Wade
Produktionshexe, Videoanimation, künstlerische Mitarbeit
Darcey Bennett
Klavier
Quentin Tolimieri
Texte
Allison Wiltshire & Jeremy Wade
Dramaturgie
Maika Knoblich
Künstlerisches Mentoring
Katerina Kokkinos-Kennedy
Kostüme
Claudia Hill & Josa Marx
Perücke
Benjamin Kiss
Licht
Matthias Rieker
Besonderer Dank an Michael Rollnick und Yoav Admoni, an Ezra Green für seine Poesie und an Hari Stojan für sein Feedback.
Puddles erschien erstmals als Teil von „The Clearing“, eine Koproduktion von HAU Hebbel am Ufer, gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds.
Eine Produktion von Jeremy Wade, in Koproduktion mit Künstlerhaus Mousonturm. Mit Unterstützung von Württembergischer
Kunstverein Stuttgart.
Jeremy
Wade

ist Performer und Choreograf mit einer weitreichenden Praxis im Kuratieren und Unterrichten. Im Jahr 2000 schloss er die School for New Dance Development Amsterdam ab. Für sein Stück Glory, das er im Dance Theater Workshop in New York City präsentierte, erhielt er 2006 einen Bessie Award. Er arbeitet seit vielen Jahren regelmäßig mit dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin und mit der Gessnerallee in Zürich zusammen.

In seinen letzten Arbeiten erforscht Wade den Tod, Zombie-Subjektivität, merkwürdige Seinszustände und feministische Strategien der Welterzeugung, um soziale Konventionen zu unterwandern, die Körper definieren und unterdrücken. Er ist der Initiator von „The Future Clinic for Critical Care“, einer intersektionellen Plattform, die mit Mitteln der Performance, sozialer Praktiken und soziokultureller Teilhabe chaotische Politiken der Sorge erforscht.

 
Loading