STAYIN ALIVE – Sneak Preview

Mark Tompkins (US/FR)
Performance
© Mark Tompkins 
Mark
Tompkins

founded the company I.D.A. – INTERNATIONAL DREEMS ASSOCIATED  in 1983. He advocates a free, nomadic way of working without artistic blinders, and a penchant for real-time composition. More than 30 solos and group pieces fusing dance, song, text and video have come into being on this journey that began in the 1970s.


ompkins has been touring the world with his pieces and workshops. Fascinated by the friction between high culture and entertainment, he has repeatedly included popular forms like variety, musical and burlesque in his performances. The indefinable performance objects oscillating between dance, theatre and music have become the American choreographer’s trademark.

idamarktompkins.com

Mark Tompkins (US/FR)
Fri26./
18.30
Jan
Sat27. 
17.30
Jan
TQW Studios

Mark Tompkins offers a first look at his work process during his residency at Tanzquartier Wien in STAYIN ALIVE. The performance is a meditation on ageing and death. How is one to deal with accepting one’s own age? Mark Tompkins faces the inevitable transformation of body, mind and soul. In doing so, the France-based choreographer challenges the way society treats elderly people, who are generally considered as being devoid of elegance and creativity.

He merges several characters of different age, sex and gender with real and fictional memories into a game of dance, poetry and music. On this trip full of surprises, Mark Tompkins is assisted by Jean-Louis Badet, his closest associate for 30 years, responsible for both stage and costume design. Frans Poelstra, Tompkins’ alter ego for 40 years, directs.

“And in the end the love you take is equal to the love you make.” The Beatles

Credits

Concept and performance
Mark Tompkins
Stage design and costumes
Jean-Louis Badet
Direction
Frans Poelstra
STAYIN ALIVE will premiere at ImPulsTanz 2018.
Mark
Tompkins

founded the company I.D.A. – INTERNATIONAL DREEMS ASSOCIATED  in 1983. He advocates a free, nomadic way of working without artistic blinders, and a penchant for real-time composition. More than 30 solos and group pieces fusing dance, song, text and video have come into being on this journey that began in the 1970s.


ompkins has been touring the world with his pieces and workshops. Fascinated by the friction between high culture and entertainment, he has repeatedly included popular forms like variety, musical and burlesque in his performances. The indefinable performance objects oscillating between dance, theatre and music have become the American choreographer’s trademark.

idamarktompkins.com

 
Loading

STAYIN ALIVE – Sneak Preview

Mark Tompkins (US/FR)
Performance
(c) Mark Tompkins
Mark
Tompkins

gründete 1983 die Company I.D.A. – INTERNATIONAL DREEMS ASSOCIATED. Er verschreibt sich einer freien, nomadischen Produktionsform ohne künstlerische Scheuklappen mit einem Faible für real time composition. Über 30 Soli und Gruppenstücke, die Tanz, Gesang, Text und Video miteinander vermengen, sind auf dieser Reise, die in den 1970er-Jahren begann, entstanden.

Tompkins tourt mit seinen Stücken und Workshops durch die ganze Welt. Fasziniert von der Reibung zwischen Hochkultur und Entertainment lässt er immer wieder populäre Formen wie Varieté, Musical und Burlesque in seine Performances einfließen. Die undefinierbaren performance objects zwischen Tanz, Theater und Musik sind zum Markenzeichen des amerikanischen Choreografen geworden.

idamarktompkins.com

Mark Tompkins (US/FR)
Fr26./
18.30 Uhr
Jan
Sa27. 
17.30 Uhr
Jan
TQW Studios
 
     
  • Fr 26. Jan
  • Sa 27. Jan
Ausverkauft
€ 10

Restkarten an der Abendkassa

im Rahmen der TQW Neueröffnung

Mark Tompkins gibt in STAYIN ALIVE einen ersten Einblick in seinen Arbeitsprozess während seiner Residency am TQW Wien. Die Performance ist eine Meditation über das Altern und den Tod. Wie geht man mit dem Altern um? Mark Tompkins stellt sich der unvermeidlichen Transformation von Körper, Geist und Seele. Dabei hinterfragt der amerikanische Choreograf den gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit älteren Menschen, denen jede Eleganz und Kreativität abgesprochen wird.

Er verbindet mehrere Charaktere verschiedenen Alters und unterschiedlichen Geschlechts mit realen und fiktiven Erinnerungen zu einem Spiel aus Tanz, Poesie und Musik. Auf diesem Trip voller Überraschungen wird Mark Tompkins unterstützt von Jean-Louis Badet, seinem engsten Mitarbeiter seit 30 Jahren, der für das Bühnenbild und das Kostümdesign verantwortlich zeichnet. Frans Poelstra, Tompkins Alter Ego seit 40 Jahren, führt Regie. 

“And in the end the love you take is equal to the love you make.” The Beatles

Credits

Konzept und Performance
Mark Tompkins
Bühnenbild und Kostüme
Jean-Louis Badet
Regie
Frans Poelstra
Die Uraufführung von STAYIN ALIVE erfolgt im Rahmen von ImPulsTanz 2018.
Mark
Tompkins

gründete 1983 die Company I.D.A. – INTERNATIONAL DREEMS ASSOCIATED. Er verschreibt sich einer freien, nomadischen Produktionsform ohne künstlerische Scheuklappen mit einem Faible für real time composition. Über 30 Soli und Gruppenstücke, die Tanz, Gesang, Text und Video miteinander vermengen, sind auf dieser Reise, die in den 1970er-Jahren begann, entstanden.

Tompkins tourt mit seinen Stücken und Workshops durch die ganze Welt. Fasziniert von der Reibung zwischen Hochkultur und Entertainment lässt er immer wieder populäre Formen wie Varieté, Musical und Burlesque in seine Performances einfließen. Die undefinierbaren performance objects zwischen Tanz, Theater und Musik sind zum Markenzeichen des amerikanischen Choreografen geworden.

idamarktompkins.com

 
Loading