Reverberations

Michael Turinsky (AT)
Dance & Performance
Michael Turinsky Reverberations Michael Turinsky Reverberations
© Michael Loizenbauer 
Michael
Turinsky

lives and works as a choreographer, performer and theorist in Vienna. His interests lie, on the one hand, in examining the specific phenomenology of a body marked as “disabled”, its specific existence in the world, its relationship to temporality and rhythm, affect and affect production, gender and sexuality, visibility and impenetrability; and on the other, in the rigorous scrutiny of discourses concerning the productive tension between politics and

aesthetics. His most notable choreographic works include heteronomous male (2012), my body, your pleasure (2014) as well as his most recent pieces Second Skin – turn the beat around and Second Skin – Master of Ceremony (both 2016). Ravemachine, a collaboration with Doris Uhlich, won a NESTROY special award in 2017. Turinsky’s much-noted acceptance speech was a passionate plea against exclusion.

michaelturinsky.org

Michael Turinsky (AT)
Thu08.
Sat10. 
Mar
19.30/
TQW Halle G

Michael Turinsky puts up resistance with Reverberations: against increasing individualisation in our society, which celebrates the spectacle of uniqueness, he wants to set a choreographic event of uniting bodies. He joins forces with three dancers in an attempt to find an answer to growing desolidarisation. Driven by booming dub sounds, Reverberations prepares to march against oppression and segregation. A resonant space is created in which the bodies enter into a resounding, echoing and reverberating relationship – with each other, with sound, with their own, still reverberating, collective history. The idea is to create a space for a joint body and the truly physical substance of a solidary practice.

Watch teaser

Credits

Artistic direction & choreography
Michael Turinsky
Performance & choreography
Andreas Guth, Mzamo Nondlwana, Elizabeth Ward
Sound
Dubster, Hyko Dubz (powered by Danubian Dub Soundsystem)
Stage
Jenny Schleif, Ines Kirchengast
Costume
Lise Lendais, Ines Kirchengast
Lighting
Andreas Lendais
Dramaturgical advice
Iris Borovcik
Somatic contribution
Georg Blaschke
Production team
Angela Vadori, Kira Koplin
Communication/PR
Simon Hajós
A co-production by Michael Turinsky and Tanzquartier Wien.
With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and Netzwerk Tanz, TanzHotel, MAD, Dschungel Wien and Werk.
Michael
Turinsky

lives and works as a choreographer, performer and theorist in Vienna. His interests lie, on the one hand, in examining the specific phenomenology of a body marked as “disabled”, its specific existence in the world, its relationship to temporality and rhythm, affect and affect production, gender and sexuality, visibility and impenetrability; and on the other, in the rigorous scrutiny of discourses concerning the productive tension between politics and

aesthetics. His most notable choreographic works include heteronomous male (2012), my body, your pleasure (2014) as well as his most recent pieces Second Skin – turn the beat around and Second Skin – Master of Ceremony (both 2016). Ravemachine, a collaboration with Doris Uhlich, won a NESTROY special award in 2017. Turinsky’s much-noted acceptance speech was a passionate plea against exclusion.

michaelturinsky.org

 
Loading

Reverberations

Michael Turinsky (AT)
Tanz & Performance
Reverberations Michael Turinsky Michael Turinsky Reverberations Michael Turinsky Reverberations
© Michael Loizenbauer 
Michael
Turinsky

lebt und arbeitet als Choreograf, Performer und Theoretiker in Wien. Sein Interesse gilt zum einen der eingehenden Auseinandersetzung mit der spezifischen Phänomenologie des als „behindert“ markierten Körpers, dessen spezifischen In-der-Welt-Seins, dessen Verhältnis zu Zeitlichkeit und Rhythmus, Affekt und Affektproduktion, Geschlecht und Sexualität, Sichtbarkeit und Undurchsichtigkeit; und zum anderen der rigorosen Auseinandersetzung

mit Diskursen rund um die produktive Spannung zwischen Politik und Ästhetik. Zu seinen wichtigsten choreografischen Arbeiten zählen heteronomous male (2012), my body, your pleasure (2014) sowie seine letzten beiden Arbeiten Second Skin – turn the beat around und Second Skin – Master of Ceremony (beide 2016). Seine Kollaboration mit Doris Uhlich Ravemachine erhielt 2017 den NESTROY-Spezialpreis. Im Rahmen der Preisverleihung hielt Turinsky eine viel beachtete Rede gegen Ausgrenzung.

michaelturinsky.org

 
Fr09. 
Mär
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

Michael Turinsky & Jonah Garde

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Reverberations erörtert der österreichische Choreograf Michael Turinsky im Gespräch mit dem Kulturwissenschaftler*...

Michael Turinsky (AT)
Do08.
Sa10. 
Mär
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

Mit drei Tänzer_innen startet der Choreograf Michael Turinsky den Versuch, eine Antwort auf die fortschreitende Entsolidarisierung zu finden. Von wummernden Dub-Sounds angetrieben rüstet sich Reverberations zu einem Marsch gegen Unterdrückung und Abschottung. Es entsteht ein Resonanzraum, in dem die Körper in eine Beziehung des Mitschwingens, des Wider- und Nachhalls treten – zueinander, zum Sound, zu ihrer eigenen immer noch nachhallenden kollektiven Geschichte. Es geht um das Schaffen eines Raums für den gemeinsamen Körper sowie um die zutiefst körperliche Substanz einer solidarischen Praxis.

Teaser ansehen

Credits

Künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie
Michael Turinsky
Performance, Choreografie
Andreas Guth, Mzamo Nondlwana, Elizabeth Ward
Sound
Dubster, Hyko Dubz (powered by Danubian Dub Soundsystem)
Bühne
Jenny Schleif, Ines Kirchengast
Kostüm
Lise Lendais, Ines Kirchengast
Licht
Andreas Lendais
Dramaturgische Betreuung
Iris Borovcnik
Somatic contribution
Georg Blaschke
Produktionsteam
Angela Vadori, Kira Koplin
Kommunikation/PR
Simon Hajós
Eine Koproduktion von Michael Turinsky mit Tanzquartier Wien. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und Netzwerk Tanz, TanzHotel, MAD, Dschungel Wien und Werk.
Michael
Turinsky

lebt und arbeitet als Choreograf, Performer und Theoretiker in Wien. Sein Interesse gilt zum einen der eingehenden Auseinandersetzung mit der spezifischen Phänomenologie des als „behindert“ markierten Körpers, dessen spezifischen In-der-Welt-Seins, dessen Verhältnis zu Zeitlichkeit und Rhythmus, Affekt und Affektproduktion, Geschlecht und Sexualität, Sichtbarkeit und Undurchsichtigkeit; und zum anderen der rigorosen Auseinandersetzung

mit Diskursen rund um die produktive Spannung zwischen Politik und Ästhetik. Zu seinen wichtigsten choreografischen Arbeiten zählen heteronomous male (2012), my body, your pleasure (2014) sowie seine letzten beiden Arbeiten Second Skin – turn the beat around und Second Skin – Master of Ceremony (beide 2016). Seine Kollaboration mit Doris Uhlich Ravemachine erhielt 2017 den NESTROY-Spezialpreis. Im Rahmen der Preisverleihung hielt Turinsky eine viel beachtete Rede gegen Ausgrenzung.

michaelturinsky.org

 
Fr09. 
Mär
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

Michael Turinsky & Jonah Garde

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Reverberations erörtert der österreichische Choreograf Michael Turinsky im Gespräch mit dem Kulturwissenschaftler*...

 
Loading