Models of Reality

Liquid Loft (AT)
Dance
© Chris Haring 
Liquid
Loft

was founded in 2005 by choreographer Chris Haring, musician Andreas Berger, dancer Stephanie Cumming and dramaturg Thomas Jelinek. Liquid Loft’s performances and installations always combine contemporary dance with other contemporary art forms and strive for a synthesis of the arts.

For its unconventional imagery and use of forms, distinctive acoustic stage settings and high performative standards, Liquid Loft has garnered international critical acclaim and was awarded the Golden Lion for Best Performance at Venice Biennale in 2007.

liquidloft.at

 
Fri22. 
Feb
20.30 /
TQW Halle G
Free admission
Educational

Chris Haring

Artist Talk

Educational

Following the performance of Models of Reality Chris Haring, artistic director of Liquid Loft, will discuss their work with the...

Liquid Loft (AT)
Thu21.
Sat23. 
Feb
19.30 /
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Thu 21. Feb
  • Fri 22. Feb
  • Sat 23. Feb
€ 20/15/10

For the latest instalment in the series Foreign Tongues, Liquid Loft has collected a wide array of sound recordings of regional dialects and languages from Europe, composing an incredible library of language. Using different techniques of phonetics and rhythm, the resulting collection has been turned into a dance performance. All material can be used tonally as part of an acoustic setting and as part of a library of language: rustling of leaves, gravel scrunching and other sounds resulting from surface friction of materials such as concrete, glass and paper. In Models of Reality, the mutation of sounds, their solidification as part of a spatial order, articulates an acoustic response to the present bodies. The assemblage of noise and sounds makes for an atmosphere and basis of imaginary space in which everything centres around the human body – as the “main character of all utopian ideas” (Foucault). Models of Reality attempts to be a localisation and topography of the body by means of an imaginary cartography.

Credits

Performance, choreography
Luke Baio, Stephanie Cumming, Dong Uk Kim, Katharina Meves, Dante Murillo, Anna Maria Nowak, Arttu Palmio, Hannah Timbrell
Artistic direction, choreography
Chris Haring
Choreographic assistance
Stephanie Cumming
Composition, sound design
Andreas Berger
Light design, scenography
Thomas Jelinek
Costumes
Stefan Röhrle
Theory, text
Stefan Grissemann
Dramaturgical accompaniment, research
Thomas Jelinek, Marlies Pucher
Song interpretation
Sweet William van Ghost
Stage management
Roman Harrer
Photo & video documentation
Michael Loizenbauer
International distribution
APROPIC – Line Rousseau, Marion Gauvent
Company management, production
Marlies Pucher
Production
Liquid Loft in cooperation with Tanzquartier Wien
Liquid Loft is supported by the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Arts and Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery of Austria.
Liquid
Loft

was founded in 2005 by choreographer Chris Haring, musician Andreas Berger, dancer Stephanie Cumming and dramaturg Thomas Jelinek. Liquid Loft’s performances and installations always combine contemporary dance with other contemporary art forms and strive for a synthesis of the arts.

For its unconventional imagery and use of forms, distinctive acoustic stage settings and high performative standards, Liquid Loft has garnered international critical acclaim and was awarded the Golden Lion for Best Performance at Venice Biennale in 2007.

liquidloft.at

 
Fri22. 
Feb
20.30 /
TQW Halle G
Free admission
Educational

Chris Haring

Artist Talk

Educational

Following the performance of Models of Reality Chris Haring, artistic director of Liquid Loft, will discuss their work with the...

 
Loading

Models of Reality

Liquid Loft (AT)
Tanz
© Chris Haring 
Liquid
Loft

wurde 2005 von dem Choreografen Chris Haring, dem Musiker Andreas Berger, der Tänzerin Stephanie Cumming und dem Dramaturgen Thomas Jelinek gegründet. Sie setzen in Performances und Installationen zeitgenössischen Tanz stets in direkte Verbindung zu anderen zeitgenössischen Kunstformen, um so ein schlüssiges Gesamtkunstwerk entstehen zu lassen.

Für ihre eigenwillige Bild- und Formensprache, die unverkennbaren akustischen Bühnensets und die professionelle tänzerische Umsetzung erhielten Liquid Loft internationale Anerkennung und Auszeichnungen wie den Goldenen Löwen für die beste Performance bei der Biennale in Venedig 2007.

liquidloft.at

 
Fr22. 
Feb
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Eintritt frei
Vermittlung

Liquid Loft

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Nach der Vorstellung von Models of Reality geben Liquid Loft im Gespräch mit Thomas Edlinger, künstlerischer Leiter donaufestival Krems, Auskunft...

Liquid Loft (AT)
Do21.
Sa23. 
Feb
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Do 21. Feb
  • Fr 22. Feb
  • Sa 23. Feb
€ 20/15/10

Für den Zyklus Foreign Tongues sammelte Liquid Loft ein breit gefächertes Spektrum von Tonaufnahmen regionaler Dialekte und Sprachen Europas. Im Laufe des Projekts entstand somit eine erstaunliche Sprachbibliothek, die von den Tänzer*innen anhand von Phonetik und Rhythmik der Sprachen performativ interpretiert wurde. Auch Materialien können klangförmig als Teil des akustischen Raums und damit als Teil dieser Bibliothek begriffen werden: das Rauschen der Blätter, das Knirschen von Kies, Töne, die bei der Reibung von Oberflächen wie Beton, Glas, Papier entstehen. In Models of Reality ist die Mutation der Geräusche, ihre Verfestigung zu räumlichen Zusammenhängen das akustische Pendant zu den Körpern. Die collagierten Geräusch- und Klangatmosphären gerinnen zur Grundlage imaginärer Räume, in deren Zentrum wiederum der menschliche Körper – laut Foucault der „Hauptakteur aller Utopien“ – steht. Models of Reality ist der Versuch einer Verortung und Topografie des Körpers anhand einer imaginären Kartografie.

Credits

Tanz, Choreografie
Luke Baio, Stephanie Cumming, Dong Uk Kim, Katharina Meves, Dante Murillo, Arttu Palmio, Hannah Timbrell
Künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie
Chris Haring
Komposition, Sound
Andreas Berger
Lichtdesign, Szenografie
Thomas Jelinek
Kostüme
Stefan Röhrle
Bühnenmanagement
Roman Harrer
Foto- & Videodokumentation
Michael Loizenbauer
Internationale Distribution
APROPIC – Line Rousseau, Marion Gauvent
Company Management, Produktion
Marlies Pucher
Produktion
Liquid Loft in Kooperation mit Tanzquartier Wien
Liquid Loft wird gefördert von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien (MA7) und vom Bundeskanzleramt für Kunst und Kultur (BKA).
Liquid
Loft

wurde 2005 von dem Choreografen Chris Haring, dem Musiker Andreas Berger, der Tänzerin Stephanie Cumming und dem Dramaturgen Thomas Jelinek gegründet. Sie setzen in Performances und Installationen zeitgenössischen Tanz stets in direkte Verbindung zu anderen zeitgenössischen Kunstformen, um so ein schlüssiges Gesamtkunstwerk entstehen zu lassen.

Für ihre eigenwillige Bild- und Formensprache, die unverkennbaren akustischen Bühnensets und die professionelle tänzerische Umsetzung erhielten Liquid Loft internationale Anerkennung und Auszeichnungen wie den Goldenen Löwen für die beste Performance bei der Biennale in Venedig 2007.

liquidloft.at

 
Fr22. 
Feb
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Eintritt frei
Vermittlung

Liquid Loft

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Nach der Vorstellung von Models of Reality geben Liquid Loft im Gespräch mit Thomas Edlinger, künstlerischer Leiter donaufestival Krems, Auskunft...

 
Loading