Mountains in Resistance

Climatic Dances
Alessandro Questa
Lecture
 
Alessandro
Questa

is a professor in Anthropology at the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City. He centres on the ethnographic study of Indigenous ecologies at their intersections with the multifarious effects of global climate change, geo-capitalism and extractive industries.

For the last 15 years, he has been developing a long-term research project with Masewal Indigenous communities in the Eastern Sierra Madre of Mexico, exploring how traditional dances constitute social technologies to visualize socio-environmental relations under a cosmopolitical framework. He is also one of the founders and curators of Kixpatla: cambiar de vista, cambiar de rostro. Arte y cosmopolítica, a transdisciplinary digital platform on contemporary artists belonging to Amerindian societies.

Alessandro Questa
Thu25. 
Mar
20.45 /
Zoom

In English

This lecture was invited by Amanda Piña’ as part of Climatic Dances (Endangered Human Movements Vol. 5).

Alessandro Questa’s lecture Mountains in Resistance explores two usually separated spheres of inquiry: Indigenous traditional dances and non-Western ecologies, evidenced as joint concerns by recent environmental anxieties. Masewal people living in small communities across the Eastern Sierra Madre have a fantastic array of traditional dances, with around 17 different themed compositions. Each of these dances present specific characters, choreographies, music, and themes. Disappearing practices by the end of the last century, many of these performances have reemerged with a new generation of local dancers. Why?

Alessandro Questa argues these dances are not merely folkloric manifestations but nuanced expressions of nonverbal and holographic thought, that is, embodied visualizations of otherwise unseen relations. Such relations involve mainly landscape spirits that govern life cycles and weather fluctuations in the mountains. To dance implies to embody spirits of the land, and accepting three ontological principles: a) the authority of landscape spirits, b) the sustained interdependency between different collectives and, c) the common threats they face against extractive industries.

Masewal dances show an environment made social and constantly changing according to current pressures to the mountainous landscape. These collective performances entail a political stance as ways to repossess the land in favour of local communities.

Alessandro
Questa

is a professor in Anthropology at the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City. He centres on the ethnographic study of Indigenous ecologies at their intersections with the multifarious effects of global climate change, geo-capitalism and extractive industries.

For the last 15 years, he has been developing a long-term research project with Masewal Indigenous communities in the Eastern Sierra Madre of Mexico, exploring how traditional dances constitute social technologies to visualize socio-environmental relations under a cosmopolitical framework. He is also one of the founders and curators of Kixpatla: cambiar de vista, cambiar de rostro. Arte y cosmopolítica, a transdisciplinary digital platform on contemporary artists belonging to Amerindian societies.

 
Loading

Mountains in Resistance

Climatic Dances
Alessandro Questa
Vortrag
 
Alessandro
Questa

ist Anthropologe und unterrichtet an der Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexiko-Stadt. Er hat sich auf die ethnografische Erforschung indigener Ökologien und ihrer Schnittstellen mit den vielfältigen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und des extraktivistischen Geokapitalismus spezialisiert. Seit 15 Jahren arbeitet er an einem Langzeitforschungsprojekt mit Gemeinschaften der indigenen Masewal in der Sierra Madre im Nordosten Mexikos.

Dabei untersucht Questa, inwieweit traditionelle Tänze als soziale Technologien fungieren, um sozio-ökologische Beziehungen in einem kosmopolitischen Rahmen zu visualisieren. Zudem ist er einer der Gründer*innen und Kurator*innen von Kixpatla: cambiar de vista, cambiar de rostro. Arte y cosmopolítica, einer transdisziplinären digitalen Plattform für zeitgenössische Künstler*innen aus amerindianischen Gesellschaften.

Alessandro Questa
Do25. 
Mär
20.45 Uhr/
Zoom

In englischer Sprache

Eingeladen von Amanda Piña im Rahmen von Climatic Dances (Endangered Human Movements Vol. 5)

Alessandro Questas Vortrag Mountains in Resistance untersucht zwei normalerweise getrennte Forschungsbereiche, die sich angesichts aktueller Umweltängste als miteinander verbunden erweisen: traditionelle indigene Tänze und nichtwestliche Ökologien. Die Masewal, die in kleinen Gemeinden in der Sierra Madre im Nordosten Mexikos leben, verfügen über ein breitgefächertes Spektrum an traditionellen Tänzen mit rund 17 verschiedenen thematischen Zusammensetzungen. Jeder dieser Tänze zeigt bestimmte Charaktere, Choreografien, Musik oder Themen. Bis zum Ende des letzten Jahrhunderts drohten viele dieser Tänze zu verschwinden, doch dank einer neuen Generation lokaler Tänzer*innen wurden sie wiederbelebt.

Alessandro Questa versteht diese Tänze nicht nur als folkloristische Manifestationen, sondern als nuancierte Ausdrücke nonverbalen und holografischen Denkens, d. h. verkörperte Visualisierungen von ansonsten unsichtbaren Beziehungen. Es geht hauptsächlich um Beziehungen zu Landschaftsgeistern, die Lebenszyklen und Wetterschwankungen in den Bergen bestimmen. Tanzen bedeutet, die Geister des Landes zu verkörpern und drei ontologische Prinzipien zu akzeptieren: a) die Autorität der Landschaftsgeister, b) die dauerhafte gegenseitige Abhängigkeit verschiedener Kollektive voneinander und c) die gemeinsamen Bedrohungen, denen sie aufgrund der Rohstoffindustrie ausgesetzt sind.

Die Tänze der Masewal verweisen auf ein soziales Umfeld, das sich, entsprechend dem industriellen Druck auf die Berglandschaft, ständig verändert. Die kollektiven Aufführungen bedingen eine politische Haltung; sie sind ein Mittel, um das Land zugunsten der lokalen Gemeinschaften zurückzuerobern.

Alessandro
Questa

ist Anthropologe und unterrichtet an der Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexiko-Stadt. Er hat sich auf die ethnografische Erforschung indigener Ökologien und ihrer Schnittstellen mit den vielfältigen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und des extraktivistischen Geokapitalismus spezialisiert. Seit 15 Jahren arbeitet er an einem Langzeitforschungsprojekt mit Gemeinschaften der indigenen Masewal in der Sierra Madre im Nordosten Mexikos.

Dabei untersucht Questa, inwieweit traditionelle Tänze als soziale Technologien fungieren, um sozio-ökologische Beziehungen in einem kosmopolitischen Rahmen zu visualisieren. Zudem ist er einer der Gründer*innen und Kurator*innen von Kixpatla: cambiar de vista, cambiar de rostro. Arte y cosmopolítica, einer transdisziplinären digitalen Plattform für zeitgenössische Künstler*innen aus amerindianischen Gesellschaften.

 
Loading