Moving Matter(s)

Nonhuman Bodies in Contemporary Choreographies
Martina Ruhsam (AT/DE)
Theory
© Loic Mlekus 
Martina
Ruhsam,

born in Linz, is an artist, theoretician und lecturer. Her artistic works and collaborations have been invited to various European institutions. She was part of the editorial team at Corpus and Maska and she worked at the theory department of Tanzquartier from 2008 to 2009.

In 2011, she published her monography Kollaborative Praxis: Choreographie. Since 2016, she has been a research assistant and lecturer at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen, where she is currently also completing her dissertation project.

Martina Ruhsam (AT/DE)
Fri01. 
Feb
18.00/
TQW Studios

The lecture will be followed by an open discussion moderated by Janez Janša.

For a few years now, there has been a lively debate in the art world about (partly) autonomous objects and the entanglements between human and nonhuman actors. What issues are related to staging a specific autonomy of objects? How can the emancipation of objects be defined in an age of digitalisation, an age in which values are specified in terms of disembodiment rather than objectification? Martina Ruhsam’s lecture will try to relate natural scientist Karen Barad’s agential realism to issues of performance studies in order to propose a new political reading of materialism. Ruhsam will question the outcomes that resulted from neglecting the human body in dance in favour of a renewed focus on objects and whether choreography can be defined in terms of Karen Barad’s concept of intra-action.

Martina
Ruhsam,

born in Linz, is an artist, theoretician und lecturer. Her artistic works and collaborations have been invited to various European institutions. She was part of the editorial team at Corpus and Maska and she worked at the theory department of Tanzquartier from 2008 to 2009.

In 2011, she published her monography Kollaborative Praxis: Choreographie. Since 2016, she has been a research assistant and lecturer at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen, where she is currently also completing her dissertation project.

 
Loading

Moving Matter(s)

Nonhuman Bodies in Contemporary Choreographies
Martina Ruhsam (AT/DE)
Theorie
© Loic Mlekus 
Martina
Ruhsam,

geboren in Linz, arbeitet als Künstlerin, Theoretikerin und Dozentin. Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten und Kollaborationen wurden in verschiedenen europäischen Institutionen präsentiert. Sie war Redaktionsmitglied bei Corpus und Maska und arbeitete von 2008 bis 2009 im Theoriebereich des Tanzquartier Wien.

2011 veröffentlichte sie die Monografie Kollaborative Praxis: Choreographie. Seit 2016 ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Dozentin am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen, wo sie derzeit ihre Dissertation abschließt.

Martina Ruhsam (AT/DE)
Fr01. 
Feb
18 Uhr/
TQW Studios
Eintritt frei

Im Anschluss findet ein von Janez Janša moderiertes Publikumsgespräch statt.

In der Kunst ist in den letzten Jahren eine lebhafte Debatte über (teil-)autonome Objekte und die Verschränkungen von menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Akteuren entbrannt. Welche Anliegen sind mit der Inszenierung einer gewissen Autonomie der Dinge verknüpft? Wie kann eine Emanzipation der Objekte im Kontext einer digitalisierten Gesellschaft verstanden werden, in der Wertschöpfung eher mit Entdinglichung als mit Verdinglichung zu tun hat? Martina Ruhsam versucht in diesem Vortrag, die Theorie des agentiellen Realismus der Naturwissenschaftlerin Karen Barad für die Performance Studies fruchtbar zu machen, und schlägt eine politische Lesart des neuen Materialismus vor. Sie geht den Fragen nach, was eine Verschiebung der Aufmerksamkeit weg vom menschlichen Körper für den Tanz bedeutet und ob Choreografie in Anlehnung an Karen Barad als Intraaktion begriffen werden kann.

Martina
Ruhsam,

geboren in Linz, arbeitet als Künstlerin, Theoretikerin und Dozentin. Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten und Kollaborationen wurden in verschiedenen europäischen Institutionen präsentiert. Sie war Redaktionsmitglied bei Corpus und Maska und arbeitete von 2008 bis 2009 im Theoriebereich des Tanzquartier Wien.

2011 veröffentlichte sie die Monografie Kollaborative Praxis: Choreographie. Seit 2016 ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Dozentin am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen, wo sie derzeit ihre Dissertation abschließt.

 
Loading