Negotiations Finale

Alexander Gottfarb (SE/AT)
Dance & Performance
Alexander Gottfarb © Kati Göttfried 
Alexander
Gottfarb

graduated from the Stockholm Ballet Academy in 2003. The Swedish artist lives in Vienna, working as a dancer for choreographers Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring/Liquid Loft, among others. He is a founding member of The Loose Collective. Alexander Gottfarb’s interest in examining politically (Political Movements, 2010) or religiously (Moved by Faith, 2011) motivated forms of movement was already evident in his early pieces.

The dancer and choreographer uses repetition and transformation, discipline and exhaustion in his work. In his 72-hour solo performance A Matter of Belief (2016) he started to explore the effects of faith and motivation on the execution of movements. In the process, he has gained a new understanding of his physical memory as a dancer. In Together (2017), he introduced another two dancers to the performance, thus turning it into a trio. Now, Negotiations adds a new order of magnitude to the two pieces.

Alexander Gottfarb (SE/AT)
Fri25./
Sat26. 
Jan
12.00–20.00/
Neustiftgasse 31

For one entire year, 13 dancers took turns performing eight hours a day at Neustiftgasse 31. And on 25 January, they will meet once again for a final two-day performance. Each dancer will have one last entrance and will perform one last dance. During these two days, the performers will recall all last year’s experiences and express them in one final ritual. Each performer’s personal physical archive will be opened, shared and negotiated for one last time – this is the finale.

And on 26 January, Alexander Gottfarb and his crew will invite you to join them for drinks, because such a mammoth project needs a proper farewell party.

With Esther Balfe, Stephanie Cumming, Alex Deutinger, Pawel Dudus, Soraya Emery, Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Martyna Lorenc, Raul Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Patric Redl and Charlotta Ruth.

Credits

Concept & choreography
Alexander Gottfarb
Performers
Esther Balfe, Stephanie Cumming, Alex Deutinger, Pawel Dudus, Soraya Emery, Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Martyna Lorenc, Raul Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Patric Redl, Charlotta Ruth
Dramaturgy
Guy Cools
Light
Peter Thalhamer
Music
Guenther Berger, Sophie Augot, Alexander Gottfarb, Raul Maia
Composition
Guenther Berger
A co-production of Tanzquartier Wien and Kunstverein Archipelago. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Arts and Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery of Austria.
Alexander
Gottfarb

graduated from the Stockholm Ballet Academy in 2003. The Swedish artist lives in Vienna, working as a dancer for choreographers Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač, Chris Haring/Liquid Loft, among others. He is a founding member of The Loose Collective. Alexander Gottfarb’s interest in examining politically (Political Movements, 2010) or religiously (Moved by Faith, 2011) motivated forms of movement was already evident in his early pieces.

The dancer and choreographer uses repetition and transformation, discipline and exhaustion in his work. In his 72-hour solo performance A Matter of Belief (2016) he started to explore the effects of faith and motivation on the execution of movements. In the process, he has gained a new understanding of his physical memory as a dancer. In Together (2017), he introduced another two dancers to the performance, thus turning it into a trio. Now, Negotiations adds a new order of magnitude to the two pieces.

 
Loading

Negotiations Finale

Alexander Gottfarb (SE/AT)
Tanz & Performance
Alexander Gottfarb © Kati Göttfried 
Alexander
Gottfarb

schloss 2003 sein Studium an der Stockholmer Ballettakademie ab. Der in Wien lebende Schwede arbeitet als Tänzer für Choreografen wie Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač und Chris Haring / Liquid Loft. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Formation The Loose Collective. Alexander Gottfarb interessiert sich seit seinen frühen Arbeiten besonders für Bewegungen, die politisch (Political Movements, 2010) oder religiös (Moved by Faith, 2011) motiviert sind.

Dafür arbeitet der Tänzer und Choreograf mit Repetition und Transformation, mit Disziplin und Erschöpfung. In seiner 72-stündigen Soloperformance A Matter of Belief (2016) begann er zu erforschen, wie Glaube und Motivation die Art und Weise verändern können, wie Bewegungen ausgeführt werden, und damit sein Körpergedächtnis als Tänzer neu zu betrachten. In Together (2017) wurde das Solo zu einem Trio erweitert. Negotiations bringt diese beiden Arbeiten letztlich in eine neue Größenordnung.

Alexander Gottfarb (SE/AT)
Fr25./
Sa26. 
Jan
12–20 Uhr/
Neustiftgasse 31
Eintritt frei

Ein Jahr lang haben 13 Tänzer*innen täglich acht Stunden performt. Nun treffen sie bei einem Finale wieder aufeinander. Jede/r Tänzer*in wird einen letzten Auftritt haben und sich zu einem finalen Tanz einfinden. Während dieser letzten zwei Tage werden sie die Begegnungen des vergangenen Jahres zu einem Ritual verdichten. Die persönlichen physischen Archive der Performer*innen werden ein letztes Mal geteilt, getauscht und verhandelt – das ist das Finale.

Am 26. Januar lädt die Crew von Alexander Gottfarb zum Abschiedsumtrunk. Denn der Abschluss dieses gigantischen Projekts muss gebührend gefeiert werden.

Mit Esther Balfe, Stephanie Cumming, Alex Deutinger, Pawel Dudus, Soraya Emery, Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Martyna Lorenc, Raul Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Patric Redl und Charlotta Ruth.

Credits

Konzept & Choreografie
Alexander Gottfarb
Tänzer*innen
Esther Balfe, Stephanie Cumming, Alex Deutinger, Pawel Dudus, Soraya Emery, Alexander Gottfarb, Katharina Illnar, Nanina Kotlowsky, Martyna Lorenc, Raul Maia, Anna Maria Nowak, Patric Redl, Charlotta Ruth
Dramaturgie
Guy Cools
Licht
Peter Thalhamer
Musik
Guenther Berger, Sophie Augot, Alexander Gottfarb, Raul Maia
Komposition
Guenther Berger
Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien und Kunstverein Archipelago. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und der Kunst- und Kultursektion des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich.
Alexander
Gottfarb

schloss 2003 sein Studium an der Stockholmer Ballettakademie ab. Der in Wien lebende Schwede arbeitet als Tänzer für Choreografen wie Elio Gervasi, Iztok Kovač und Chris Haring / Liquid Loft. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Formation The Loose Collective. Alexander Gottfarb interessiert sich seit seinen frühen Arbeiten besonders für Bewegungen, die politisch (Political Movements, 2010) oder religiös (Moved by Faith, 2011) motiviert sind.

Dafür arbeitet der Tänzer und Choreograf mit Repetition und Transformation, mit Disziplin und Erschöpfung. In seiner 72-stündigen Soloperformance A Matter of Belief (2016) begann er zu erforschen, wie Glaube und Motivation die Art und Weise verändern können, wie Bewegungen ausgeführt werden, und damit sein Körpergedächtnis als Tänzer neu zu betrachten. In Together (2017) wurde das Solo zu einem Trio erweitert. Negotiations bringt diese beiden Arbeiten letztlich in eine neue Größenordnung.

 
Loading