Origins

Oleg Soulimenko (RU/AT)
Dance & Performance
© Alfredo Barsuglia 
Oleg
Soulimenko

is a Russian performance artist and choreographer; he lives and works in Vienna. In 1990, he founded the Saira Blanche Theatre and has since been on world tour with its provocative performances. In 2010, he initiated the Austrian-Russian artistic exchange project Music Here, Music There: Vienna–Moscow in cooperation with brut Wien.

His performances have premiered at several institutions and international festivals, such as Wiener Festwochen, brut Wien, Tanzquartier Wien, ImPulsTanz, Wien, Performa, New York, Theaterfestival Impulse, Deutschland, Kaaitheater, Brüssel, Southern Theatre, Minneapolis, Baltic Circle, Helsinki, LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz, Kunsthalle Wien.

Oleg Soulimenko (RU/AT)
Thu28.+
Feb
Fri01. 
Mar
19.30 /
TQW Halle G

Limited number of seats

Ticket combo: With the ticket for Origins the performance Knuckles become clouds is only € 5. Available at the TQW box office.

“I always feel it’s nice to go to the front, move into the unknown. But then I go a little bit back, to the past. Because if you already have been somewhere, the place feels warmer than others.” — Oleg Soulimenko

A beginning. Something evolves, appears to be coming into existence. Origins challenges the perception patterns of the audience by placing special emphasis on different criteria. Origins zooms in on miniature details and examines microscopic contexts. Different objects create images of other worlds. These images are abstract, ordinary, functional and sometimes hard to decipher – analogous to the narratives which unfold, intersect and end abruptly. Origins includes unexpected twists and turns, surreal moments, aspects of the wild, the abstract and the inexplicable that mark the beginning of stories. What part do the performers alias creators play, even if they cannot be identified on stage? To what extent does the audience have control over the goings-on once they are asked to take up a position?

Double feature: Before Origins, you have the opportunity to see the performance Knuckles become clouds by Anna Prokopová / Costas Kekis / Andrea Gunnlaugsdóttir at 18.00 at TQW Studios.

Credits

Concept & artistic director
Oleg Soulimenko
Choreography & performance
Magdalena Meindl, Oleg Soulimenko, Michael Franz Woels
Sound & performance
Mimu Merz
Set
Alfredo Barsuglia
Costumes, objects & set
Till Jasper Krappmann, Santo Pablo Krappmann
Text support
Rosemarie Poiarkov
Dramaturgical support
Claudia Bosse
Light
Sveta Schwin
Production management
Guadalupe Aldrete
Artistic advice
Jasmin Hoffer
A co-production by Oleg Soulimenko / Vienna Magic and Tanzquartier Wien. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna.
Oleg
Soulimenko

is a Russian performance artist and choreographer; he lives and works in Vienna. In 1990, he founded the Saira Blanche Theatre and has since been on world tour with its provocative performances. In 2010, he initiated the Austrian-Russian artistic exchange project Music Here, Music There: Vienna–Moscow in cooperation with brut Wien.

His performances have premiered at several institutions and international festivals, such as Wiener Festwochen, brut Wien, Tanzquartier Wien, ImPulsTanz, Wien, Performa, New York, Theaterfestival Impulse, Deutschland, Kaaitheater, Brüssel, Southern Theatre, Minneapolis, Baltic Circle, Helsinki, LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz, Kunsthalle Wien.

 
Loading

Origins

Oleg Soulimenko (RU/AT)
Tanz & Performance
© Alfredo Barsuglia 
Oleg
Soulimenko

ist ein russischer Performancekünstler und Choreograf; er lebt und arbeitet in Wien. 1990 gründete er das Saira Blanche Theatre, dessen provokante Performances durch die Welt tourten. 2010 entwickelte er gemeinsam mit dem brut Wien zwischen Österreich und Russland das Austauschprojekt Music Here, Music There: Vienna–Moscow mit Aufführungen in beiden Hauptstädten.

Seine Performances wurden an unterschiedlichen Institutionen und bei internationalen Festivals wie Wiener Festwochen, brut Wien, Tanzquartier Wien, ImPulsTanz, Wien, Performa, New York, Theaterfestival Impulse, Deutschland, Kaaitheater, Brüssel, Southern Theatre, Minneapolis, Baltic Circle, Helsinki, LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz, Kunsthalle Wien gezeigt.

Oleg Soulimenko (RU/AT)
Do28.+
Feb
Fr01. 
Mär
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

Begrenzte Platzanzahl

Kombiangebot: Mit dem Ticket für Origins kostet die Performance Knuckles become clouds nur € 5. Erhältlich an der TQW Kassa und im Webshop.

„I always feel it’s nice to go to the front, move into the unknown. But then I go a little bit back, to the past. Because if you already have been somewhere, the place feels warmer than others.“ — Oleg Soulimenko

Ein Anfang. Etwas entwickelt sich, scheint zu entstehen. In Origins experimentiert Oleg Soulimenko mit den Wahrnehmungsmustern des Publikums. Die Performance zoomt auf winzige Details und wieder heraus, erfasst mikroskopische Zusammenhänge und erschafft mit verschiedensten Objekten Bilder anderer Welten. Manche der Objekte sind abstrakt, andere alltäglich oder schier rätselhaft – so wie die sich entwickelnden verzweigenden und fragmentarischen Erzählungen. Origins besteht aus unerwarteten Wendungen, surrealen Momenten, dem Wilden, Abstrakten und Unfassbaren, das am Anfang der Entstehung von Narrativen steht. Welche Rolle als Schöpfer*innen spielen dabei die Performer*innen (selbst dann, wenn sie nicht als solche in Erscheinung treten)? Welchen Einfluss nehmen die Zuseher*innen auf die Entwicklung?

Doppelabend: Vor Origins ist um 18 Uhr in den TQW Studios die Performance Knuckles become clouds von Anna Prokopová / Costas Kekis / Andrea Gunnlaugsdóttir zu sehen.

Credits

Konzept, künstlerische Leitung
Oleg Soulimenko
Choreografie, Performance
Magdalena Meindl, Oleg Soulimenko, Michael Franz Woels
Sound, Performance
Mimu Merz
Bühne
Alfredo Barsuglia
Kostüme, Objekte, Bühne
Till Jasper Krappmann, Santo Pablo Krappmann
Textunterstützung
Rosemarie Poiarkov
Dramaturgische Beratung
Claudia Bosse
Licht
Sveta Schwin
Produktionsleitung
Guadalupe Aldrete
Künstlerische Beratung
Jasmin Hoffer
Eine Koproduktion von Oleg Soulimenko / Vienna Magic und Tanzquartier Wien. Gefördert durch die Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.
Oleg
Soulimenko

ist ein russischer Performancekünstler und Choreograf; er lebt und arbeitet in Wien. 1990 gründete er das Saira Blanche Theatre, dessen provokante Performances durch die Welt tourten. 2010 entwickelte er gemeinsam mit dem brut Wien zwischen Österreich und Russland das Austauschprojekt Music Here, Music There: Vienna–Moscow mit Aufführungen in beiden Hauptstädten.

Seine Performances wurden an unterschiedlichen Institutionen und bei internationalen Festivals wie Wiener Festwochen, brut Wien, Tanzquartier Wien, ImPulsTanz, Wien, Performa, New York, Theaterfestival Impulse, Deutschland, Kaaitheater, Brüssel, Southern Theatre, Minneapolis, Baltic Circle, Helsinki, LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz, Kunsthalle Wien gezeigt.

 
Loading