Parallax Views

The Cultural Logic of Private Art Foundations in Late Capitalism
Theory
Vlado Martek, Artists in Zoo, 1976–1998. Performance with the Group of Six Artists (Boris Demur, Željko Jerman, Vlado Martek, Mladen Stilinović, Sven Stilinović, Fedor Vučemilović). Photo: Boris Cvjetanović, Courtesy Boris Cvjetanović 
Tue25. 
Jun
14.00–19.00/
TQW Studios

In English

This event takes place in the framework of the exhibition and performance project Collective Exhibition for a Single Body – The Private Score – Vienna 2019 and is a collaboration between Kontakt Collection  and Tanzquartier Wien.

By looking at the private Viennese collections Kontakt, Generali and TBA 21 the series of publicly held conversations will try to question the conversion process from private or privacy to the common and the collective and the polysemy of theses notions in echo with Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, a performance exhibition that will be presented in the former exhibition space of the Generali Foundation that became a branch of the Lidl food market. The recent reversibility of use from art space to commercial area of this location situated in the centre of the city in contrast with what the liberal era of the 1990s was celebrating with the reconverted suburban factories into cultural spaces will maybe allow us to better understand the new Neoliberal Plan in which we are.


Programme

Welcome
Bettina Kogler and Kathrin Rhomberg

Introduction
Pierre Bal-Blanc and Manuel Pelmuş

Conversation I
Transformation and Privatization of the City Centers
Christian Höller (statement)
Jochen Becker in conversation with Georg Schöllhammer

Conversation II
Anatomy of a Transformation
Sabine Breitwieser (statement)
András Pálffy in conversation with Otto Kapfinger

Break

Conversation III
Portrait of a Woman with Institution
Silvia Eiblmayr (statement)
Anna Daučíková in conversation with Adam Szymczyk

Conversation IV
From Private or Privacy to the Common and the Collective
Pierre Bal-Blanc (statement)
Daniela Zyman in conversation with Guillaume Maraud

Detailed information (pdf)

 

 
Loading

Parallax Views

Die kulturelle Logik von privaten Kunststiftungen im Spätkapitalismus
Diskussionsreihe
Vlado Martek, Artists in Zoo, 1976–1998. Performance der Group of Six Artists (Boris Demur, Željko Jerman, Vlado Martek, Mladen Stilinović, Sven Stilinović, Fedor Vučemilović). Foto: Boris Cvjetanović, Courtesy Boris Cvjetanović  
Di25. 
Jun
14–19 Uhr/
TQW Studios

In englischer Sprache

Die Veranstaltung findet im Rahmen des Ausstellungs- und Performanceprojekts Collective Exhibition for a Single Body – The Private Score – Vienna 2019 statt und ist eine Kooperation von Kontakt Sammlung und Tanzquartier Wien.

Bezugnehmend auf die privaten Wiener Sammlungen Kontakt, Generali und TBA21 wirft die Gesprächsreihe die Frage auf, wie der Transformationsprozess von privat und Privatsphäre zu einer Öffentlichkeit bzw. Kollektivität in einer Polysemie dieser Begriffe in der performativ angelegten Ausstellung Collective Exhibition for a Single Body ein Echo findet. Die Schau reaktiviert den ehemaligen Ausstellungsraum der Generali Foundation, in dem sich heute ein Lidl Lebensmittelmarkt befindet. Die kürzlich erfolgte Nutzungsänderung von Kunstraum zu kommerziellem Ort im Stadtzentrum kontrastiert, was die liberale Ära der 1990er-Jahre mit ihren zu kulturellen Zentren umfunktionierten Fabriken in Vororten zelebrierte, und erlaubt es uns vielleicht besser zu verstehen, wie der neoliberale Plan von heute aussieht.


Programm

Begrüßung
Bettina Kogler und Kathrin Rhomberg

Einführung
Pierre Bal-Blanc und Manuel Pelmuş

Diskussion I
Transformation and Privatization of the City Centers
Christian Höller (statement)
Jochen Becker im Gespräch mit Georg Schöllhammer

Diskussion II
Anatomy of a Transformation
Sabine Breitwieser (statement)
András Pálffy im Gespräch mit Otto Kapfinger

Pause

Diskussion III
Portrait of a Woman with Institution
Silvia Eiblmayr (statement)
Anna Daučíková im Gespräch mit Adam Szymczyk

Diskussion IV
From Private or Privacy to the Common and the Collective
Pierre Bal-Blanc (statement)
Daniela Zyman im Gespräch mit Guillaume Maraud

Detaillierte Information (pdf)

 
Loading