Opening Performance Passage

Including a speech concert by Gerhard Rühm with Monika Lichtenfeld
Andrea Maurer / Christoph Meier
TQW Special
© Christoph Meier 
Andrea Maurer / Christoph Meier
Fri24. 
Apr
17.00/
TQW Studios & Performance Passage

+++ Event postponed to autumn 2020 +++

Performance Passage – a space for the poetics of the in-between is part of an initiative comprising nine artistic micro-museums, each dedicated to a single specific art genre. Based on the artistic concept by Christoph Meier, a ceiling solely consisting of mirrors will inherently and inwardly enlarge the space of Performance Passage. Analogous to the walls of a dance studio or the ceilings inside a disco, these mirrors will reflect the image of the person standing in front of them, initiating a moment of spontaneous self-reflection. Everyone can perform in this space, everyone can behold their own transformation in the mirrors.

Artist Andrea Maurer’s curatorial setup for the Performance Passage has been devised as a trap of a poetic nature. Whether passers-by merely stroll, pause and linger attentively or head for the quickest route through: no one can pass the passage without it having an effect on them. What was once below is now reflected above, beleaguered by words, letters and other signs. A row of seven light boxes supplies a subversive antidote to the common reading direction and creates an original set of grammar and time scales. This moving visual poem, choreographed text composition, flickering sentence, or whatever else you might want to call it, will hopefully transform many of those passers-by into self-conscious witnesses or observant spectators – even at the risk of losing sense of one’s direction or causing one to stumble.

Each year, two new artistic positions will be presented at Performance Passage, each time accompanied by a small-format publication, which will be available for purchase from the on-site vending machine. The first artist to take up this space will be Gerhard Rühm.

Opening programme:

17.00 Welcome by Vitus Weh and concert Kinky Muppet
18.00 Speech concert by Gerhard Rühm with Monika Lichtenfeld

 

Credits

Artistic spatial design
Christoph Meier
Concept display, curator
Andrea Maurer
Technical realisation display
Thomas Sandri
Graphic design publication, logo
Astrid Seme, Studio
Director MQ
Christian Strasser
Concept micro-museums
Vitus Weh
In cooperation with
 
Loading

Eröffnung Performance Passage

Mit einem Sprechkonzert von Gerhard Rühm mit Monika Lichtenfeld
Andrea Maurer / Christoph Meier
TQW Spezial
© Christoph Meier 
Andrea Maurer / Christoph Meier
Fr24. 
Apr
17 Uhr/
TQW Studios & Performance Passage
Eintritt frei

„zuweilen kommt man freilich beim hingehen irgendwie von irgendwo her, was genauso gut umgekehrt gilt.“ — Gerhard Rühm

Die Performance Passage – Raum für Poetiken des Dazwischen ist eines der neun künstlerischen Mikromuseen des MQ Wien, die jeweils speziellen Kultursparten gewidmet sind. Die Durchfahrt am Eingang der TQW Studios wird nach einem künstlerischen Konzept von Christoph Meier durch eine vollständig verspiegelte Decke himmelwärts verdoppelt. Wie die Wand eines Tanzstudios oder die Decke einer Diskothek kopiert sie ihr Gegenüber und startet ohne viel Zutun eine (Selbst-)Reflexion. Jede*r kann hier performen, jede*r sich selbst betrachten.

Die von Andrea Maurer konzipierte Gestaltung der Leuchtkästen und deren Bespielung versteht sich als situative Intervention und erweitert den spiegelbildlich verdoppelten Raum um eine sprachexperimentelle poetische Dimension. Dabei hat die kuratorische Setzung es darauf abgesehen, den Passant*innen eine Art poetische Falle zu stellen. Ob schnurstracks geradewegs durchquerend, flanierend, verweilend oder aufmerksam lesend: Den Passant* innen passiert die Passage. Von oben wirft sie ihnen spiegelbildlich das Unten entgegen, von der Seite befallen sie Wörter, Buchstaben oder andere Zeichen. Eine Zeile aus sieben Leuchtkästen unterwandert die Leserichtung und erfindet eigene Grammatiken mit neuen Zeitformen. Als bewegtes visuelles Gedicht, choreografierte Textkomposition, Flicker-Satz usw. wird sie hoffentlich möglichst viele Durchgänger*innen zu anwesenden Augenzeug*innen oder beobachtenden Beobachter*innen befördern, auch wenn manche dabei womöglich ins Stolpern geraten und in umgekehrter Richtung weiterziehen.

Die Bespielungen der Passage wechseln zweimal im Jahr und werden jeweils von einer kleinen Publikation begleitet, die in einem Automaten vor Ort erworben werden kann. Den Auftakt zur Passagenbespielung macht kein Geringerer als Gerhard Rühm.

Eröffnungsprogramm:

17 Uhr Eröffnungsworte Vitus Weh und Konzert Kinky Muppet
18 Uhr Sprechkonzert Gerhard Rühm mit Monika Lichtenfeld

 

Credits

Künstlerische Raumgestaltung
Christoph Meier
Konzept Display, Kuratorin
Andrea Maurer
Technische Umsetzung Display
Thomas Sandri
Grafik Publikation, Logoschriftzug
Astrid Seme, Studio
Direktor MQ
Christian Strasser
Konzept Mikromuseen
Vitus Weh
In Kooperation mit
 
Loading