Performance 
Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere / CAMPO

Pleasant Island

Silke Huysmans’ and Hannes Dereere’s

work is based on the analysis of concrete situations, events or places that are representative of broader issues. What characterises the work of the duo is the way in which they carry out research by means of scientific examination, interviews and fieldwork. Huysmans completed the drama programme at KASK School of Arts in Gent in 2013. Dereere obtained his degree in theatre studies from Gent University in 2012.

Ever since that time, they have developed a strong interest in elements of documentary theatre. Pleasant Island marks their first collaboration with CAMPO arts centre in Gent, known for its work with artists such as Florentina Holzinger or Milo Rau. Their first joint piece Mining Stories has been successfully touring all over Europe since 2016 and was featured at ImPulsTanz in 2018.

silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

Credits

By & with
Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere
Dramaturgy
Dries Douibi
Technical team
Anne Meeussen, Piet Depoortere, Benjamin Verbrugge
Sound mixing
Lieven Dousselaere
Production
CAMPO arts centre
Coproduction
Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spring Festival Utrecht, Beursschouwburg, Brussels, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Veem House for Performance, Amsterdam, Theaterfestival SPIELART Munich and De Brakke Grond. Residencies: Beursschouwburg, De Grote Post, KAAP, Kunstencentrum BUDA, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, LOD, STUK and Veem House for Performance.


With the support of Vlaamse gemeenschapscommissie and KAAP. Many thanks to all conversation partners in Nauru.


Pleasant Island

Nauru is a small island-state in the Pacific. Once it was called ‘Pleasant Island’ by British whalers. The history of this island can be read as a parable of our modern age. After the discovery of a vast reserve of phosphate in its soil, the island became one of the world’s richest countries. Each plot of land, each garden, each corner of the island was dug up and mined – until nothing remained and all its natural resources had been depleted. In their second show, Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere travel to this place, which, groaning under a longing for growth, has been completely stripped of its resources and dug up until literally nothing remained. The island is now one of the world’s poorest countries, and so, in order to be able to survive, it now receives refugees from Australia in exchange for a substantial compensation. What future remains after such ecological and economic ruin?

Pleasant Island is the sequel to Mining Stories and forms part of Huysmans and Dereere’s continuing research into the ramifications of the mining industry. In Pleasant Island, they combine excerpts from interviews, analytical data and field research to create an impressive polyphonic piece of documentary theatre.

Trailer

Silke Huysmans’ and Hannes Dereere’s

work is based on the analysis of concrete situations, events or places that are representative of broader issues. What characterises the work of the duo is the way in which they carry out research by means of scientific examination, interviews and fieldwork. Huysmans completed the drama programme at KASK School of Arts in Gent in 2013. Dereere obtained his degree in theatre studies from Gent University in 2012.

Ever since that time, they have developed a strong interest in elements of documentary theatre. Pleasant Island marks their first collaboration with CAMPO arts centre in Gent, known for its work with artists such as Florentina Holzinger or Milo Rau. Their first joint piece Mining Stories has been successfully touring all over Europe since 2016 and was featured at ImPulsTanz in 2018.

silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

Credits

By & with
Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere
Dramaturgy
Dries Douibi
Technical team
Anne Meeussen, Piet Depoortere, Benjamin Verbrugge
Sound mixing
Lieven Dousselaere
Production
CAMPO arts centre
Coproduction
Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spring Festival Utrecht, Beursschouwburg, Brussels, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Veem House for Performance, Amsterdam, Theaterfestival SPIELART Munich and De Brakke Grond. Residencies: Beursschouwburg, De Grote Post, KAAP, Kunstencentrum BUDA, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, LOD, STUK and Veem House for Performance.


With the support of Vlaamse gemeenschapscommissie and KAAP. Many thanks to all conversation partners in Nauru.


10.01./
11.01.
Fri/​Sat
19.30
10.01./
11.01.
Fri/​Sat
19.30
TQW Studios
€ 15/10

65 minutes, no intermission

In English

In case of sold-out performances waiting numbers for remaining tickets are handed out at the evening box office opening one hour before showtime.

 
Loading

Pleasant Island

Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere / CAMPO
Performance
© Vlad Sokhin 
Silke Huysmans’ & Hannes Dereeres

künstlerische Arbeit dreht sich um konkrete Situationen, Ereignisse oder Orte, die für ein breiteres Thema stehen. Sie basieren auf wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen, Interviews und Feldforschungen. Silke Huysmans absolvierte 2013 das Theaterprogramm an der KASK School of Arts in Gent. Hannes Dereere erwarb dort 2012 sein Diplom in Theaterwissenschaft. Seitdem haben sie ein starkes Interesse an dokumentarischen Elementen im Theater entwickelt.

Ihre ersten gemeinsamen Schritte machten sie im Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brüssel) und beim Bâtard Festival. Mit Pleasant Island beginnt ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Artcenter CAMPO in Gent, in dem bereits Florentina Holzinger und Milo Rau Stücke produzierten. Ihr erstes gemeinsames Stück Mining Stories tourt seit 2016 erfolgreich in ganz Europa und war 2018 bei ImPulsTanz zu sehen.

silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere / CAMPO
Fr10./
Sa11. 
Jan
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios
 
     
  • Fr 10. Jan
  • Sa 11. Jan
Tickets
€ 15/10

65 Minuten, keine Pause

In englischer Sprache

Bei ausverkauften Vorstellungen vergeben wir ab einer Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn Wartenummern für Restkarten an der Abendkassa.

Nauru ist ein kleiner Inselstaat im Pazifik, der von britischen Walfängern „Pleasant Island“ getauft wurde. Die Geschichte dieser Insel liest sich wie eine Parabel der Moderne: Nach der Entdeckung eines riesigen Phosphatreservats wurde Nauru zu einem der reichsten Länder der Welt. Jedes Fleckchen Land, jeder Garten der Insel wurde bis in die letzte Ecke umgegraben – bis hin zur völligen Erschöpfung der Ressourcen. Silke Huysmans und Hannes Dereere reisen in dieses Land, das heute zu den ärmsten der Welt zählt. Die aktuellen Haupteinnahmequellen der Insel sind australische Kompensationszahlungen für die Aufnahme von in Australien abgeschobenen geflüchteten Menschen. Die beiden Performer*innen sprachen vor Ort mit Einwohner*innen und Geflüchteten – wegen drohender Repressalien zeichneten sie ihre Interviews allerdings nicht mit Kameraequipment, sondern mit dem Smartphone auf, was dem Stück eine eigenwillige Handschrift verleiht. Wie sieht die Zukunft nach solch einem ökologischen und ökonomischen Ruin aus?

Mit Pleasant Island setzen Huysmans und Dereere ihre Auseinandersetzung mit den Folgen des extremen Bergbaus fort, die sie mit dem Stück Mining Stories begannen, und verweben Gespräche, Analysen und Feldforschung zu einem eindrucksvollen polyphonen Dokumentartheaterstück.

Trailer

Credits

Von und mit
Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere
Dramaturgie
Dries Douibi
Technik
Anne Meeussen, Piet Depoortere, Benjamin Verbrugge
Soundmixing
Lieven Dousselaere
Produktion
CAMPO arts centre
Eine Koproduktion von Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spring Festival Utrecht, Beursschouwburg, Brüssel, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Veem House for Performance, Amsterdam, Theaterfestival SPIELART München und De Brakke Grond.
Residencies: Beursschouwburg, De Grote Post, KAAP, Kunstencentrum BUDA, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, LOD, STUK, Veem House for Performance.
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie und KAAP. Vielen Dank an alle Gesprächspartner*innen in Nauru.
Silke Huysmans’ & Hannes Dereeres

künstlerische Arbeit dreht sich um konkrete Situationen, Ereignisse oder Orte, die für ein breiteres Thema stehen. Sie basieren auf wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen, Interviews und Feldforschungen. Silke Huysmans absolvierte 2013 das Theaterprogramm an der KASK School of Arts in Gent. Hannes Dereere erwarb dort 2012 sein Diplom in Theaterwissenschaft. Seitdem haben sie ein starkes Interesse an dokumentarischen Elementen im Theater entwickelt.

Ihre ersten gemeinsamen Schritte machten sie im Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brüssel) und beim Bâtard Festival. Mit Pleasant Island beginnt ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Artcenter CAMPO in Gent, in dem bereits Florentina Holzinger und Milo Rau Stücke produzierten. Ihr erstes gemeinsames Stück Mining Stories tourt seit 2016 erfolgreich in ganz Europa und war 2018 bei ImPulsTanz zu sehen.

silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

 
Loading