Precarious Moves

Michael Turinsky
Performance
© Michael Loizenbauer 
Michael
Turinsky

lives and works as a choreographer, performer and theorist in Vienna. He has previously worked with Bert Gstettner, Barbara Kraus, Legitimate Bodies/Robin Dingemans/Mick Bryson, Doris Uhlich, Claire Vivianne Sobottke and Teresa Vittucci, among others.

Michael Turinsky has been a lecturer at universities in Linz and Salzburg, at the College Art Association in New York, and has held workshops at Tanzquartier Wien as well as at Impulstanz festival. He has been published widely in dance and performance journals and magazines.

michaelturinsky.org

 
Sat09. 
Jan
20.00/
Zoom
Educational

Michael Turinsky

Artist Talk

Educational

Michael Turinsky will shine some light on the working process in conversation with choreographer and cultural activist Saša...

Michael Turinsky
Fri08.
Mon11. 
Jan
19.30 /
Online

Duration: 70 minutes

VoD available until Mon 11 Jan, 19.30.

How can a body begin to move when the relationship of this body with its surroundings constitutes a fundamentally precarious and vulnerable moment? A relationship that is easily thrown off balance and that can reveal our own limitations? In Precarious Moves, Michael Turinsky continues his research into choreographic gestures in the context of politically motivated aesthetical concepts. One key element in this solo will be the question of individual and collective needs and requirements in regard to mobility and mobilisation. With his own experience of physical disability, Turinsky will once again draw on the concept of “Crip Time”, thereby revolting against the submission of bodies to the rule of systemic regimes of hegemonic mobility and mobilisation cultures. Alternating between concepts of the organic and organisation, Precarious Moves will serve as the basis for exploration of this strange bond that connects the body with the sensual world in which it is placed.

 

Credits

Concept, choreography, performance, text, lyrics
Michael Turinsky
Music, lyrics
Tian Rotteveel
Stage & costume design
Jenny Schleif
Lights
Sveta Schwin
Dramaturgical advisor
Gabrielle Cram
Production
Groundworkers (Anna Gräsel, Angela Vadori)
Video production
Michael Loizenbauer
Camera
Michael Loizenbauer, Kurt van der Vloedt (Artvan)
A coproduction by Michael Turinsky, Tanzquartier Wien and HAU Hebbel am Ufer. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport.
Michael
Turinsky

lives and works as a choreographer, performer and theorist in Vienna. He has previously worked with Bert Gstettner, Barbara Kraus, Legitimate Bodies/Robin Dingemans/Mick Bryson, Doris Uhlich, Claire Vivianne Sobottke and Teresa Vittucci, among others.

Michael Turinsky has been a lecturer at universities in Linz and Salzburg, at the College Art Association in New York, and has held workshops at Tanzquartier Wien as well as at Impulstanz festival. He has been published widely in dance and performance journals and magazines.

michaelturinsky.org

 
Sat09. 
Jan
20.00/
Zoom
Educational

Michael Turinsky

Artist Talk

Educational

Michael Turinsky will shine some light on the working process in conversation with choreographer and cultural activist Saša...

 
Loading

Precarious Moves

Michael Turinsky
Performance
© Michael Loizenbauer 
Michael
Turinsky

lebt und arbeitet als Choreograf, Performer und Theoretiker in Wien. Zusammenarbeit u. a. mit Bert Gstettner, Barbara Kraus, Legitimate Bodies/Robin Dingemans/Mick Bryson, Doris Uhlich, Claire Vivianne Sobottke und Teresa Vittucci.

Michael Turinsky hielt Vorträge und Workshops u. a. an den Universitäten Linz und Salzburg, an der College Art Association in New York, am Tanzquartier Wien sowie beim Impulstanz-Festival und veröffentlichte in unterschiedlichen Fachzeitschriften und Journalen.

michaelturinsky.org

 
Sa09. 
Jan
20 Uhr/
Zoom
Vermittlung

Michael Turinsky

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Michael Turinsky wird im Gespräch mit dem Choreografen und Kulturaktivisten Saša Asentić Bezugspunkte seiner künstlerischen Arbeit erläutern. Der...

Michael Turinsky
Fr08.
Mo11. 
Jan
19.30 Uhr/
Online

Dauer: 70 Minuten

Verfügbar bis Mo, 11. Jan, 19.30 Uhr

 

Wie setzt sich ein Körper in Bewegung, dort, wo das Verhältnis zwischen dem Körper und dem, was ihn umgibt, als grundlegend prekäres, verletzliches aufscheint? Als eines, das nur allzu leicht aus dem Gleichgewicht gerät und in dem wir an so manche Grenze stoßen? In Precarious Moves setzt Michael Turinsky seine Untersuchungen choreografischer Gesten im Entwerfen handlungspolitischer Ästhetiken fort. Im Zentrum des Solos steht die Befragung sowohl persönlicher als auch kollektiver Bedürfnisse und Notwendigkeiten in Bezug auf Mobilität und Mobilisierung. Von der Erfahrung körperlicher Behinderung ausgehend knüpft Turinsky einmal mehr an das Konzept der „Crip Time“ an, in einem (Auf-)Begehren gegen das Diktat der Einpassung von Körpern in die systemischen Regime der hegemonialen Mobilitäts- und Mobilisierungskulturen. Changierend zwischen Organischem und Organisation entfaltet sich Precarious Moves als Erkundung jener seltsamen Schleife, die den Körper mit der sinnlichen Welt, durch die er sich bewegt, verbindet.

Stücktext-PDF zum Download

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie, Performance, Text, Lyrics
Michael Turinsky
Musik, Lyrics
Tian Rotteveel
Raum, Objekte, Kostüm
Jenny Schleif
Licht
Sveta Schwin
Dramaturgische Beratung
Gabrielle Cram
Produktion
Groundworkers (Anna Gräsel, Angela Vadori)
Videoproduktion
Michael Loizenbauer
Kamera
Michael Loizenbauer, Kurt van der Vloedt (Artvan)
Eine Koproduktion von Michael Turinsky mit Tanzquartier Wien und HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und des Bundesministeriums für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport.
Michael
Turinsky

lebt und arbeitet als Choreograf, Performer und Theoretiker in Wien. Zusammenarbeit u. a. mit Bert Gstettner, Barbara Kraus, Legitimate Bodies/Robin Dingemans/Mick Bryson, Doris Uhlich, Claire Vivianne Sobottke und Teresa Vittucci.

Michael Turinsky hielt Vorträge und Workshops u. a. an den Universitäten Linz und Salzburg, an der College Art Association in New York, am Tanzquartier Wien sowie beim Impulstanz-Festival und veröffentlichte in unterschiedlichen Fachzeitschriften und Journalen.

michaelturinsky.org

 
Sa09. 
Jan
20 Uhr/
Zoom
Vermittlung

Michael Turinsky

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Michael Turinsky wird im Gespräch mit dem Choreografen und Kulturaktivisten Saša Asentić Bezugspunkte seiner künstlerischen Arbeit erläutern. Der...

 
Loading